Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sasha returns, in excellent form
This is the second Sasha McCandless novel, and while I'd strongly recommend starting with Irreparable Harm (because it's excellent), this could equally well hold its own as a stand-alone story. I really love the mix of legal drama, thriller, and sleuthing aspects to this series, and in this book Sasha returns as independent and irrepressible as ever, with a new set of...
Published on 14 Feb 2012 by R Cotterill

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice, easy read
Sasha is a young commercial lawyer doing a routine case before being drawn into wider activities. She first accepts a brief to defend a man, Jed, who others are trying to place into care; she is then also appointed to act as a special prosecutor after a judge is found murdered. The setting is a small town where mining interests, environmentalists and corruption all play...
Published 21 months ago by johnverp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sasha returns, in excellent form, 14 Feb 2012
By 
R Cotterill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Sasha McCandless novel, and while I'd strongly recommend starting with Irreparable Harm (because it's excellent), this could equally well hold its own as a stand-alone story. I really love the mix of legal drama, thriller, and sleuthing aspects to this series, and in this book Sasha returns as independent and irrepressible as ever, with a new set of legal challenges to face. It's also fun to watch her developing relationship with Connelly, as they manage to snatch odd moments together despite the enveloping chaos. A fast and gripping read, that was over all too soon. I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice, easy read, 4 July 2012
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
Sasha is a young commercial lawyer doing a routine case before being drawn into wider activities. She first accepts a brief to defend a man, Jed, who others are trying to place into care; she is then also appointed to act as a special prosecutor after a judge is found murdered. The setting is a small town where mining interests, environmentalists and corruption all play their parts. Her partner, Leo, is an agent who plays a background role in assisting in her investigations.

I did not read the prequel but did not feel disadvantaged in any way. I did worry, initially though, that too many characters would kill the ride for me, but I coped quite easily as it turned out. Sasha takes on the sleuthing to identify who carried out the murder and why some want Jed put into care. It doesn't get much more complex than that despite the potential for a lot more intrigue. It is not a full legal thriller either in that there is limited courtroom drama. What is there though is very well-handled. The book is pretty well-written but the characters, other than Sasha, don't really come to life. I felt the finish appeared a bit rushed too, leaving the reader with a couple of questions.

A few typos, but not enough to penalize the rating.

I hope I haven't been unduly negative with this review because I see it is well-rated on both the Amazon US and UK sites - for me, however, it was a light, rather than compelling, read. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
Well I enjoyed Irreparable Harm and so decided to buy 'episode 2'

And I was not disappointed in reading the further exploits of Sasha.

A good holiday read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another good read from Mellisa. Good story line and developing characters. I'm looking forward to reading the 3rd in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inadvertent Disclosure, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable legal thriller with plenty of twists and turns. What begins as what seems to be a pretty straightforward case turns dark and dangerous in a hurry. When the town judge is murdered, there is no shortage of suspects that arise. From the local environmentalist to the big, bad oil companies, Sasha gets in much deeper than originally anticipated. Loved the characters and the pacing was enough to keep me wanting more. Not sure how I wound up with book 2 without reading 1, but looks like I'll have to head back and catch the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Sasha McCandless novel which I have enjoyed. Still with Leo Connelly, and now running her own law firm, she gets sucked into the affairs of a town in upstate PA. She manages to injure another federal agent in the process. More legal fast thinking, plus dodging of danger, make the search for a judge's killer another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars legal thriller with superwoman ?, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
The actual story and plot is good and very believable characters feature in them, yes its a very good read, as was the first book in this series.

In both books our hero Sasha McCandless is a young attorney who is often attacked by various strong arm men, who are dispensed with by the martial arts skills of our hero.

The love interest is an FBI agent who is the marshall on air flights a from thend I fear that this relationship will be up and down and will be more prominent in future stories. I hope not as this will spoil the legal thriller plots. It should be there but not distracting from the main plot. stick with what you have, or write a seperate love story miss Millar. ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A second instalment that does not disappoint, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Asphodelia (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love a book with a good title, and `Inadvertent Disclosure', the new instalment in the Sasha McCandless series, like its predecessor Irreparable Harm (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 1), has a distinctly `legal' flavour right from the outset. Picking up from where `IH' had left off, we find Sascha working for herself after leaving Prescott & Talbott ; she is still dating FBI agent Leo Connelly and practising Krav Maga, a skill which, of course, will come in handy in the course of the story. During an out-of-town court appearance, a judge suddenly hands Sasha a new case, which involves acting for an elderly man whom the county is trying to have declared incapacitated. Of course, the case will turn out to have deeper implications than anticipated, and our diminutive attorney will soon find herself knee-deep in the murky waters of local politics, corruption and the environmental damage brought by the county's new gold fever: hydrofracking. I won't spoil the rest, but don't worry: Sasha is in top form.

The second in its series, ID could easily have suffered from the syndrome of `that difficult second novel' - a phenomenon that also afflicts music and cinema. I must admit that the opening chapters had failed to grip me the way IH had done. ID opens with a flashback - one of my least favourite literary and cinematic devices - involving characters who appear later on in the story. It's a brave attempt to take it up a notch in terms of experimenting with the narrative structure, but it's only partly successful, because those particular characters, and their motivations, are extensively described in the rest of the novel anyway. It seems unnecessary. However, Sasha comes into the scene soon enough, and after that, we get a straight, linear narrative and plenty of action: legal stuff, medical stuff, environmental stuff and a couple of dead bodies. Perfect.

I was sceptical, at first, about how Sasha McCandless would sustain our interest outside of the shark-infested waters of corporate law. A large part of what makes IH so interesting is seeing what coping strategies Sasha, as young, ambitious attorney, developed over the years to function is what is essentially a de-humanised, ruthless working environment, only just surpassed, one imagines, by corporate finance. But, despite Sasha's newly acquired freedom from Prescott & Talbott, the pace in this second novel does not slacken and there are plenty of legal intricacies to keep the reader busy. By the fourth or fifth Sasha book I am sure that most readers will be absolutely convinced that they have a pretty good grasp of the US legal system. It takes some serious skills to achieve that: to make a dry, often abstruse subject matter so fascinating and to give the reader the illusion of understanding what's going on. It's a bit like watching an episode of House MD: for an hour a week, we believe we understand medicine. It's narrative magic at its very best.

Melissa F. Miller is, unsurprisingly, a lawyer herself. I am sure that there are many attorneys out there dabbling with writing, churning out mediocre novels that either confuse the uninitiated reader or patronise them with mind-numbingly boring law-by-numbers exposition. But Miller, who studied medieval literature and creative writing, is not one of them. Therefore, what she produces is intelligent, gripping legal thrillers which you will want to keep reading until the early hours of the morning, until you see `THE END', safe in the knowledge that you can look forward to another Sasha McCandless book soon (at the time of writing, the third instalment is due April 2012).

If you are new to this author, do yourself a favour and download IH first, and get to know Sasha McCandless. I guarantee that you will not want to leave the fascinating world that Melissa F. Miller has managed to create; the hard work, the pressure, the endless cups of coffee. Above all, you will not want to leave the company of this feisty, formidable lawyer. All I can say is, I can't wait to read the next one. See you all in Pittsburgh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

Only search this product's reviews