Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complex and Engaging Story
The Earth has been secretly invaded by aliens - the Scotar: biofabs. Ex-CIA officer John Harrison and his Israeli partner Zahava investigate a Scotar nest and an ancient subterranean temple. Besides the biofabs there are plenty of other sci-fi characters: mind slavers, an insectoid-blonde, and intelligent robotic beings.

But, it's not just a sci-fi novel. There...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by Literary Critic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One to avoid.
This book is utterly awful, on so many levels that it's actually quite difficult to know where to begin. There is an complete lack of any kind of characterization, with all the main characters, both human and alien, being so essentially identical that it is easy to lose track of who is speaking at any one time. Fortunately, the plot is so shallow that this really doesn't...
Published 22 months ago by Jon Bowden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One to avoid., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
This book is utterly awful, on so many levels that it's actually quite difficult to know where to begin. There is an complete lack of any kind of characterization, with all the main characters, both human and alien, being so essentially identical that it is easy to lose track of who is speaking at any one time. Fortunately, the plot is so shallow that this really doesn't matter. The technology doesn't add up, for example a self aware planetary super computer so sophisticated that it can not only ignore the rules of physics but also keep itself repaired and fully operational for millenia is totally flummoxed by someone taking a blow torch to a single boxful of wiring. Humanity is treated as being homogenous in a way which is not only unrealistic but actually, in parts, borderline racist.

And so it goes on. In a way, it is almost impressive, a kind of fractal awfulness that just keeps growing the more closely you look at it. Ultimately, however, even this wasn't enough to wring any really strong emotional response from me and, in the end, the book just left me felling a little bit sad, as if the last 50 years of progress in the field of science fiction had never happened.

If you want to read pulp, go and read some Burroughs or Howard or even, God help us, E. E. Smith. They did it much more engagingly and at least had the defense of not knowing any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
For a quick read this is okay. But don't expect the best story in the world because you defiantly won't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complex and Engaging Story, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
The Earth has been secretly invaded by aliens - the Scotar: biofabs. Ex-CIA officer John Harrison and his Israeli partner Zahava investigate a Scotar nest and an ancient subterranean temple. Besides the biofabs there are plenty of other sci-fi characters: mind slavers, an insectoid-blonde, and intelligent robotic beings.

But, it's not just a sci-fi novel. There are political and treacherous sub plots, intrigue and thriller sequences. The action is relentless and escalates as the crew of the creaking old Kronarin Fleet battleship Implacable and their Terran allies battle against the aliens. It is nothing like Star Trek, but there are the same underlying ethics and interactions.

All in all it is a great page turner and an absorbing story.

However, the book could do with proof reading and editing to bring it to its full potential. But, you can't downgrade a self-published book for that. In my opinion it is well worth a full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic story which is a bit confusing in places, 16 July 2012
By 
P. Hannam (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
I picked this up for free on my Kindle so I'm not sure how much I can gripe about it...

I found the story was only _ok_: it was quite shallow and a bit predictable. I didn't really get a feel for the characters and just didn't care/relate to them. Plus I did find at times I just wasn't sure who was who but that might just be me.

The story flows reasonably well but it was just all a bit simplistic. I felt that at times people acted out of (the small amount of) character, or things were dropped in that added no value at the time, just so that the story could continue on. I won't spoil things too much but in the climax the aliens disable the button that could've Saved The World. Seriously? A single button controlled that? An actual hardware button is the only way to enable Saving The World?? What about redundant backups? And why put the button in a place where the aliens could easily get to without people noticing...

Oh and one final gripe: I presume the author is Christian as a player in the book 'confirms' the story Sodom and Gomorrah despite it being just that, a story, with not a shred of evidence to suggest it actually happened. It kinda turned me off the author and I started looking out for other bits of Christian propaganda. Especially once the book tried to get into the morals of things.

All in all it was _ok_. Not _bad_ for £0 and it's quite short but I'm not sure I can be bothered to buy the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
Just OK for me was not really into the whole thing with this one. Apologies to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
N. Payne "NAP" (Swindon GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
Pretty gripping plot...but...goes does off at a tangent occasionally and into a pretty complex conversations and sometimes it is not really apparent who is quoted as saying what as the diatribe can be extensive.
Editing is good but there are some gaffs in there that should have been picked up.
Still, it is a good read and made me get the second one in the series...will see if I still like it after reading that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bio 1, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting concepts with a nice twist towards the end all in all a good read

Hopefully the rest of the series will be as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good romp, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
Military SF, mystery and suspense, unexpected plot twists. I'm not unhappy that I picked up this book, and if I'd picked it for a long flight, I'd have been happy enough. There's some plot weaknesses - which would be spoilers, so I won't reveal them. Characters are two dimensional - it was hard to disentangle who was doing what for which reasons, and I found it hard to generate any real empathy for anyone. But it was a good romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Jolly romp, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars) (Kindle Edition)
This is not complex SF, a jolly romp though a war between humans and nasty aliens, an old empire, a rouge AI, a series of battles each one, more vital than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Biofab War (Biofab 1) (The Biofab Wars)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews