Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - would highly recommend!
If you love books that sweep you away to a place faraway then this book is for you, a fabulous short story to keep you entertained and keep your mind off the norm.

Would definately recommend!
Published 20 months ago by Michael Buchan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even holiday reading
If I had purchased the paperback edition of this book I would at least have been able to use it for fuel. It really is not well written, being littered with grammatical errors and spurious details about the Greek Islands. No, Kos is not the third largest Greek Island, as a previous reviewer points out, and even though Greek menu English is creative, I have never seen the...
Published 22 months ago by Penn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - would highly recommend!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
If you love books that sweep you away to a place faraway then this book is for you, a fabulous short story to keep you entertained and keep your mind off the norm.

Would definately recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even holiday reading, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Penn (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I had purchased the paperback edition of this book I would at least have been able to use it for fuel. It really is not well written, being littered with grammatical errors and spurious details about the Greek Islands. No, Kos is not the third largest Greek Island, as a previous reviewer points out, and even though Greek menu English is creative, I have never seen the spellings used by the author. The dialogue runs the gamut of trite to downright silly, and the plot, despite attempts at philosophical musings, is distinctly weak. "the boat had sank" is hardly a phrase I would expect a graduate in English to use, and that is just one example of slipshod writing. Even at Kindle prices, this book is not to be recommended.one Greek certainly is enough in this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thin in plot & character, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
Unconvincing in every area - plot, character - except possibly description of Kos nightlife. Far too simplistic for me. Glad I only paid 99p.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not an appropriate title, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
It was a bit boring, nothing much happened. All an anti climax. Not overall very well written - negative I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light hearted observation on life at home and abroad, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
I read the authors first book and liked the style so downloaded this. It is a book that ended too soon for me. I got to the last page and wished there had been another couple of chapters. Perhaps this is hinting at a sequel?

A very enjoyable book with enough humour to lift the spirits but not so much as to make it a comedy. The story comments so well on life that you cant help wondering if more than a bit of the story reflects the authors life. Looking forward to a sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Painted image of Kos and its inhabitants, 11 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
The story starts in Wales where the pace of life is slow and Mandy seems a little out of place. It soon switches to Kos with a cast of wonderfully drawn characters and a series of delightful episodes. So closely observed you can almost feel the heat, I loved this story and found it hard to put down. Once she returns to Wales I felt much the same as if I was returning from a holiday myself.
Very different type of story from her previous book but I enjoyed it just as much and would recommend this as a good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DULL, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
Apart from the fact that the download was simply a draft, complete with corrections - a complete rip off, the plot was silly and more akin to a book written for six year olds. No real story to it. Don't give up the day job Ms Bertrand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old story rewritten, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
Chose book as I loved Greek life in the 80's. Didn't feel book was particularly well written with fairly obvious storyline. Also very similar to another book published in the 80's. Ending could have been more imaginative.
Having been to both islands, they were described well.
It was an easy read but I would t recommend to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely enough, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
This book is not what one would call a demanding read, being superficial in the extreme. However, if you're desperate, it would pass a couple of hours. I would like to know, though, why what appears to be a corrected proof is being sold on Kindle - most disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of it's time, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Greek Is Not Enough (Kindle Edition)
The author gets the feeling and flavour of the young people's Greek holiday in the mid-eighties very accurately, and you can feel that you are there. However, some of the other details I found unlikely, and that puts me off a story. This young woman had a gift of a £3000 Mini from her father when she went to university and did not get an MOT for two years. That was a great deal of money in the early 80's. Did she also not tax and insure it then? Why was it such a wreck three years later that she accepted £300 for it? How did she get herself in such a situation that Bailiffs came to get things from her flat? They would have needed a court order. University was still free in those days and there were also student grants, as well as extra for hardship cases. If she was so badly off why did she not get a Saturday job like many other students? These kind of small details really can spoil a story for me. Also, there did not seem to be an ending, the story just stopped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Greek Is Not Enough
One Greek Is Not Enough by Martha Bertrand
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews