Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you like Terry Pratchett, Robert Rankin, etc, you'll love this book. Not finished the first one yet, and I have just bought the next 2.

Very good fun, and laugh out loud moments.

I do hope this author writes some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard read, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
You really need to have read the previous books in the series to fully appreciate this story but even if you haven't it is still a very funny tale with good character depiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun read, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. It's has subtle humour throughout and kept me interested to the last page. Looking forward to reading number 2 in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard's Brew, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a fun story! Really kept me entertained and I love the references littered throughout the book to various other stories/fairtales/myths/etc. Whether you pick up on them all or not, doesn't matter at all, but it does make you go 'aha! I get it'.
The writing is good as is the editing, so no problems there.
Overall I recommend it as a good read filled with adventure/fun/wizards/slugs/humour!

(Currently reading the next book 'Wizards Behaving Badly' and it's just as good, if not better!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard's Brew, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
Miss King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, it was very funny. Can Gwydden (wizard) and Hergrim (dwarf) save Camelot from a giant shape shifting, people eating, evil slug creature? This was great, funny with a good story and I highly recommend it, I have already read book 2 which I enjoyed just as much. I am hoping for many more Camelot Wizards books.
*also wanted to mention how much I liked the footnotes following the end of the paragraph they were in. I think this is a much better solution than clicking to follow the link then going back to where you were to continue reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars likeable but trying too hard, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Let me first state that I got all three of this series and read them fairly quickly which implies that they are very readable. The author is obviously British as some references wouldn't make as much sense to an American audience. The plots are well constructed and without any obvious holes.

The books are humourous but whereas Terry Pratchett has a lot of subtle humour these are closer to Robert Asprin or Piers Anthony in that most of the humour is either puns or unsubtle. The jokes did on occasion make me laugh but I often felt that the author was trying too hard. The next two books are a bit better in this regard.

If you want a book that is easy reading and relaxing rather than challenging and you like fantasy then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizards! Dragons! Oozy things!, 3 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Combine Sir Terry Pratchett with a bit of Tolkein, the occasional nod towards J K Rowling and some British Mythology and you get this book. Laugh out loud funny in places. Will make you think about slugs in a different light!.. With the occasional prophecy from Nostradimwit thrown in. With wizards who are not very good a wizzing, a fun read, and by the looks of it a start of a much anticipated series .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorcery, slugs, and rabbits, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A rollicking, rambunctious read about wizards, demonic creatures, and their spells, curses and enchantments.

There are powerful, shape-changing slug-thingies, hopeless magicians with their exploding dragons, as well as an irascible dwarf - and, of course, the fiendish, Marxist rabbits.

See Merlin himself swallowed.
See big houses eaten whole.
See lots of beer glugged down.

There are jokes, puns, and unlikely modern allusions, along with the most ancient prophecies of the infamously inaccurate Nostradimwit.

A first-class first volume in what seems to be a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wizard's Brew (Camelot Wizards Book 1)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews