Customer Reviews


32 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Rather good album, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
If you've heard James Vincent McMorrow's haunting version of 'Higher Love' by Steve Winwood and loved it as much as I, then you're in for a treat as this album is full of similar soft and somewhat chilling folk music that provides you with a comforting feeling, despite the sombre nature of some of the tracks. It's like looking out at a raging sea, whilst sheltering from the rain in a warm coastal cottage, in my opinion.

The entire album has a unique feel to it, a mix of folk music, mythical stories and McMorrow's soft and quiet tones breed different emotions throughout the course of the album. Before gently venturing into similar genre's, I'd contented in being averse to folk music for a long time up until I'd discovered Seth Lakeman, Ben Howard and such. It has undoubtedly left me ignorant to great artists like James Vincent McMorrow, so thank you Mr McMorrow for opening my eyes to the wonders of this kind of music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an Album, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
JVM is a great artist. He also sounds excellent if you get the chance to see him in concert. He has a very unusual quality to his voice which some people may find difficult to listen to but once you get used to his voice this album is fantastic. He has an ethereal quality which I find mesmerising. This deluxe special edition album has a couple of extra tracks and a live track which are great additions to the original studio album. It's a firm favourite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you won't regret buying this!, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
I absolutely love this album, haven't found anything like it for a long while, loved it from the first listen and still loving it, its been taking up a lot of my listening time! Tried Bon Iver after reading reviews comparing JVM to him and it was good, but 'early in the morning' is far better, much more distinct and absorbing, not just background music.....in my opinion.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars relax and unwind, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
Bought this on a whim so glad I did .Got into it on the first place. An emotional album with a awesome voice sometimes I think he sounds a bit like Jeff Buckley which is the biggest compliment I could give. If you like Ray Lamontagne or Scott Matthews you will probably love this. Give it ago you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
I'd been wanting to buy this CD for ages after listening to the song "We don't eat" (i think that's what it's called. None of the songs are as good as that song on it but they're all pretty good, it's the sort of music you listen to if you're reading a book or something because otherwise it's a little depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant Album, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
I found this album from listening to Ben Howard on Spotify. If you like Ben Howard, Alt-J & Benjamin Francis Leftwich you will love this album too. I can't stop listening to it and for £2.50 for the MP3 download it is the bargain of the year. An absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
This is a great album from a great singer, i first come across his song "if i had a boat" while playing silent hill downpour, and after a couple of hours researching the web came across this album, and what a album, its fantastic buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a whim but what a find!, 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early in the Morning (Amazon Special Edition) (MP3 Download)
Hadn't heard of him but it was Amazons MP3 album of the week. Listened to the samples then downloaded it and it's been played more regularly than any of my other albums ever since. It's a real grower and a real sticker (in your mind that is!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is a masterpiece and one of the best albums of 2011.
May seem like the songs sound the same if you listen to the samples but
each song is carefully written and pieced together.
Great voice and excellent songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 15 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant! Beautiful songs, lyrically and musically. JVM has a wonderful voice that isn't overpowered by the music. This album has a very intimate quality; it makes me feel as if he's at my shoulder, singing just for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews