Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mists of time are clearing
Lovely dream-pop tinted with an 80's sensibility and surprisingly tough beats. Apparently down to one singer but you'd never know from listening to the fantastic multi-part vocals. Like going to a rave for elves and unicorns but, you know, having a really good time.
Published on 13 April 2012 by S. R. Basso

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing More Than OK
I stumbled across this album by accident on Amazon - having listened to the samples I liked it enough to take a chance & download.
The vocals are beautiful and the overall sound has a very atmospheric feel to it which I like. However, I personally think the songs are not quite good enough. I have enjoyed listening & getting to know the album but already it has become...
Published 21 months ago by RWhites


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mists of time are clearing, 13 April 2012
By 
S. R. Basso - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
Lovely dream-pop tinted with an 80's sensibility and surprisingly tough beats. Apparently down to one singer but you'd never know from listening to the fantastic multi-part vocals. Like going to a rave for elves and unicorns but, you know, having a really good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 May 2012
By 
M EVE "quietman" (Brecon, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
I have been playing this album for a couple of weeks now and there no letting up! Great mixture of electronics, guitars, atmospherics and those angelic vocals to die for. 'Lafaye' is a stand out track but as someone else said get this if only just for the epic 8:34 final track 'When You Sing'... fans of Cocteau Twins will love this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. D. Oliver "The Bishop" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
What a top album. I think this is worth buying just for the last track ('When You Sing') alone. This will definitely be in my top albums of 2012 come December. I should have expected this, though, having really liked their previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 29 Feb 2012
By 
. Hjartnes (Bergen, NO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostory [VINYL] (Audio CD)
Has a lot of inspired melodies and brilliant songcraft. The vocals are just as stunning as on their other albums.
Easily my favorite album of 2012 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of this, 8 July 2012
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
School of Seven Bells have really upped their game with this album. It is a satisfyingly cohesive album, well produced, with instant yet lasting appeal. The sound is a mix of shoegaze and My Bloody Valentine influences put into modern pop for a sound that they have made their own. Highlights are the opening pace setter "The Night", the dancier "Low Times" with its great build up, and the slow burner "Show Me Love" with the warped guitars and lovely vocals. One of the albums of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new level of excellence, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostory (MP3 Download)
What a great album! I liked School of Seven Bells first two albums a lot, but for me this third one represents a breakthrough to a new level of excellence. I just can't stop playing it.

School of Seven Bells are part of a new generation of American indie groups who draw their inspiration from the British shoegazing scene of the 80s/90s. Influences that come to mind are Cocteau Twins and My Bloody Valentine.

The strong influence of pumping 80s electronica is also noticeable on a lot of these tracks (Ben Curtis looks a lot like that guy in the Thompson Twins, which is perhaps no coincidence?)

If you like this genre I can also recommend The Hundred in the Hands, another boy-girl twosome from Brooklyn with a somewhat similar sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to the spookiness, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
School of Seven Bells are an American indie duo, Benjamin Curtis and Alejandra Deheza. This is their third album and the first since Claudia Deheza's departure. I liked their spooky, otherworldly harmony vocals and the spectacle of identical twins with amazing voices. But now that has changed. Their last album Disconnect From Desire was patchy and more conventional than their outstanding debut Alpinisms, and I was slightly concerned they would go in a more commercial direction.

I shouldn't have worried. Ghostory is dark and introspective, full of eerie melodies, shining guitars and grainy electronica. Alejandra's voice is warm and honeyed, dreamy and breathy. This is a confident return to form, to the spookiness that they do so well.

Stand out tracks for me are "White Wind" with menacing, chant-style vocals, "Low times" and the super floaty and hypnotic "Reappear"

I should say this has only nine tracks and clocks in at a decidedly mean 45m.21s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Show Them Love, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
This is just a wonderful album. Although not quite as musically adventurous as Alpinism, I nevertheless find it a more overall consistent work. Alejandra's vocals are just exquisite, and, such is the studio expertise of Ben Curtis, the absence of her twin sister, Claudia, is barely felt. Almost everything I've heard in this genre lately is reduced to pretender status by the edgy beauty of the compositions on this album - it's that special.
It's an increasingly rare thrill these days to be moved by new music - you know the kind that insists on immediate replay. A certain chord progression or atmospheric texture that hits the emotional centre. Take the track "Show Me Love" half way through this disc. Preceded by the gorgeous catharsis that is "Reappear" (a track that could have come straight out of the movie Gravity - did Steven Price hear this before he composed that soundtrack?) we have a stunning composition that literally takes your breath away. The fuzz guitar intro, the sampled rhythmic touches, the heart-stirring vocals of Alejandra, the space synth and bass, and, most certainly, the irresistible chorus (little touches like the barely perceptible delay on "Hey") - a sublime melody I seriously can't get enough of. Magnificent - a desert island track. Play this as I pass beyond the horizon. The greatest pleasure on an album full of 'em.
Each work Mr Curtis produces sees him growing in stature as a unique crafter of electronic soundscapes taken to another level by an assured sensibility for solid melody and rhythm (from his Secret Machine days). Some of the sounds he manages to create are pure bliss. So let's not confuse this album with anything that remotely compares to the uninspired and predictable electronic meanderings that are so prevalent nowadays, churned out by anyone with a controller keyboard and Cubase. No, this is the real deal, this is the new trance-rock/dream-hop, created by a rare talent, and I look forward eagerly to what Mr Curtis and co. present in the future.

Hey,
You'll never find love within,
When you only seek love in him,
And he only takes from you what he can break.
I'd never take from you, babe.

Alpinisms
Ten Silver Drops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The American Electro/Dream Pop group's first album as a duo is every bit as captivating as its two predecessors, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
When singer Claudia Deheza left American Dream Pop/Shoegaze trio School Of Seven Bells, reducing the group to the duo of twin sister Alejandra Deheza (vocals, guitar) and Ben Curtis (guitars, synthesizers, vocals), fans were concerned that the absence of the twin sisters' harmonies would leave a void in the lushly layered sound they'd come to love and expect. But we needn't have worried. Alejandra Deheza's vocals are multi-tracked so effectively that it's difficult to detect any marked differences in the ethereal vocal arrangements, and the overall soundscape of their third album, Ghostory, stays true to the group's first two releases. Standout tracks: "Low Times", "The Night" and "Scavenger".

volt-and-volume.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Electropop, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostory (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite music purchases of 2012.

Like a danceable Cocteau Twins, I'm sure that this will appeal to fans of the indie end of electropop, such as New Order, Depeche Mode or the Pet Shop Boys. Fans of those might also find that Grimes' Visions is right up their street.

My only criticism would be the sound quality - it is rather compressed, so listening to the whole album at a reasonable volume level can induce listening fatigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa77fa7ec)

This product

Ghostory
Ghostory by School of Seven Bells
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews