Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Intriguing, insightful and beautifully shot
If you liked the previous Francesco da Mosto series, you won't be able to resist this one... And you certainly shouldn't!
This is a fresh and intriguing new take of the bard, as the Venetian historian explores Shakespeare's fascination with Italy and his connection to this country.
The local stories and legends which inspired his most famous plays (a third of...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by Manu

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare in Italy
Having seen a number of other discs produced by Francesco Da Mosto ( 'Italy top to toe' and 'Venice'), and finding his charm and depth of understanding most engaging, I looked forward to this one. Having a fair grasp of the history of Shakespeare I found his suggestions of an extended stay in Italy by the playwright a little far fetched! As a lover of Shakespeare's work,...
Published 12 months ago by Roger Goodwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Intriguing, insightful and beautifully shot, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the previous Francesco da Mosto series, you won't be able to resist this one... And you certainly shouldn't!
This is a fresh and intriguing new take of the bard, as the Venetian historian explores Shakespeare's fascination with Italy and his connection to this country.
The local stories and legends which inspired his most famous plays (a third of them are set in Italy and many others drew from Italian sources and used Italian characters).
Da Mosto highlights some of those Italian links which might even suggest that Shakespeare could have travelled to Italy, and the insane theory that Shakespeare could have been Italian himself (though, that is so far-fetched that it's obviously treated as a joke).

Italy once again comes across as possibly the most beautiful country in the world and the cinematography in the series make it look even more gorgeous and more romantic than it already is. Venice, Padua, Verona, Florence, Rome, Naples, Messina are just some of the places he visited (all of which are now on my check list of places to go to!).

Accompanied by an evocative score, this is a charming, insightful and yet light-hearted new look at Shakespeare's work.

Da Mosto, with his soothing voice and kind manners, is engaging as ever and has enough twinkle in his eyes to leave a smile on your face throughout the entire series.

Emma Thompson, Mark Rylance, Ciaran Hinds, Samuel Barnet and Susannah Fielding all make an appearance, contributing with readings from the most famous Italian plays.

The DVD comes with an incredible array of deleted scenes (around 45 minutes or so), including some real gems, like a replica of the Globe Theatre in Rome presented by Italian stage actor Gigi Proietti, extended chats with Emma Thompson and a visit to the University Library of Padua which holds one of the oldest copy of the First Folio (what on earth is it doing there?!).

Finally a charming and cheerful 15 minutes "making of" gives us a the chance to get even closer to Da Mosto himself and his crew as we are treated to some candid footage behind the scenes of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHAKESPEARE IN ITALY by Francesco da Mosto, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Sophie S. Bastas "sophie's choice" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
I was absolutely enthralled with Francesco da Mosto's production and his information on this DVD. I have purchased all of this gentleman's DVD's and each one of them is an absolute masterpiece as he knows his history and he works hard towards bringing the viewer into full understanding of each of his travelogues. This man is so charismatic and so pleasant to watch, that I recommend anyone who is interested in Italy, Venice or the Mediterranean regions, please definitely do not hesitate to purchase his DVD's as they are worth the price as you too will be thrilled by the magnificent scenery and the travelogues that go with them.

If you are a Shakespeare enthusiast you will learn so much more from this particular DVD and you will be surprised at the contents and even Mr.Shakespeare's heritage---yes--- 'heritage' as he spent possibly 7 years in Italy and possibly was born in Italy, or so they say---but don't take my word for it, buy the DVD and watch it, as it all makes sense.

I will buy as many DVD productions by this man is willing to make......
Thank you Amazon for giving me the chance of discovering Francesco da Mosto and his travels.
Sophia Bastas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italy Shakespere, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely fascinating inside into The Italian's love of Shakespeare. Buetifully presented fabulous location scenery.

Good value. Well produced. Good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare in Italy, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen a number of other discs produced by Francesco Da Mosto ( 'Italy top to toe' and 'Venice'), and finding his charm and depth of understanding most engaging, I looked forward to this one. Having a fair grasp of the history of Shakespeare I found his suggestions of an extended stay in Italy by the playwright a little far fetched! As a lover of Shakespeare's work, I thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful physical backdrop provided by Da Mosto, as well as his broad scholarship and historical understanding of the Elizabethan Age. Certainly this is worth watching, but perhaps not in the same league as the other two discs that I have seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a great way to walk in Shakespeare's footsteps and to discover or re-discover Italy's most famous sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worth to buy it, 6 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
I only can agree with Manu. It's really worth to buy it and there is some bonus on the DVD even if not mentioned in the description of the DVD. I really enjoyned watching it.

But it looks that I was a lucky one and got it cheaper as I already ordered it weeks ago. This is a point I can't understand that it's more expensive now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars francesco strikes again, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
A great value balanced reference book with beautiful photographs, taken from the excellent BBC series, well worth buying and a conversation piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Francesco does it again!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
Another captivating series from Francesco da Mosta who combines culture with genuine warmth and knowledge.

This time he adds the immortal bard to the mix.

Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and beautiful, 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
If you love Italy and Shakespeare will love this. A romp through fab towns and so much controversial history. Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 3 Mar 2013
By 
phmm69 (Inverness. Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] (DVD)
Love anything by Francesco. Part of my Christmas present (well spent amazon gift card), bought Venice and Top to Toe Italy as well. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespeare in Italy [DVD]
Shakespeare in Italy [DVD] by Francesco Da Mosto (DVD - 2012)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews