Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heroine with style and panache
Urn Burial is the 8th in the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. Phryne and her Chinese lover, Lin Chung, along with their essential attendants, ladies maid, Dot and bodyguard, Li Pen, attend a house party at Cave House in the Gippsland mountain country. But even their arrival is dramatic, with a gunshot and the rescue of a hysterical parlourmaid who has been...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Urn Burial
I am usually a huge fan of Phryne Fisher, but this tale I found just a little bit too unbelievable. Having said that I still found it an entertaining read, but just not up to Kerry Greenwoods usual very high standard.
Published 3 months ago by Christine Donnelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heroine with style and panache, 21 July 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Urn Burial is the 8th in the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. Phryne and her Chinese lover, Lin Chung, along with their essential attendants, ladies maid, Dot and bodyguard, Li Pen, attend a house party at Cave House in the Gippsland mountain country. But even their arrival is dramatic, with a gunshot and the rescue of a hysterical parlourmaid who has been assaulted in the fog. Their host, Phryne's good friend Tom Reynolds, is receiving death threats by note, and before Phryne has a change to investigate anything, she falls foul of a trap meant to kill Tom. There is a variety of interesting house guests including a military bully with a frightened wife, a mother intent on marrying off her daughter to a rich young man, the rich young man's friend, who feels cheated out of his inheritance by Tom, a doctor with a nervous disposition, a novelist, a couple of spinsters, one of whom is raising funds to help the heathen masses, and a Polish poet. There is also a cast of staff not to be discounted when it comes to suspects. And of course, the erudite swagman who leads the cave tour. By the time Phryne discovers the parlourmaid has been strangled to death, the roads are cut by the rising river, giving this mystery a locked-room aspect. Just to keep things interesting, there is a secret door, a flooded cellar, a cave tour, cryptic notes left in the library, funerary urns appearing in bedrooms, secret assignations between lovers, a long lost amnesiac boyfriend and an estranged son. In an ending that reveals the secrets that each of the cast is hiding, our charming, sexy, independent, liberated and candid heroine manages to solve the puzzle with panache and style. Readers will look forward to the next instalment, Raisins and Almonds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting mystery, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne Fisher is staying with an old friend at his country house with her Chinese lover, Lin Chung. Her host has been receiving anonymous letters and strange accidents start happening as soon as Phryne arrives. There are plenty of strange and interesting characters in this fascinating story and it certainly kept me reading to find out exactly what was going on behind the scenes.

By the end of the book secrets have been revealed and most of the house party guests are making major changes to their lives. The climax of the book is gripping and terrifying and probably not what most readers will have predicted. I am really enjoying this series having been slightly reluctant to read it because it was set in Australia.

The books are well written and the characters are interesting. I love Phryne - she is a marvellous character. She loves adventure, has many skills not expected of a woman in the 1920s and she is not afraid to go after what she wants. If you enjoy Carola Dunn's Daisy Dalrymple series then you may well enjoy Phryne Fisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Urn Burial, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am usually a huge fan of Phryne Fisher, but this tale I found just a little bit too unbelievable. Having said that I still found it an entertaining read, but just not up to Kerry Greenwoods usual very high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Phryne Fisher, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this Phryner Fisher adventure. Interesting characters, an exotic and historical background and a mystery solved, complete with final chapter roundup and a (relatively) happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FICTION AGAIN, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended for those enjoying a good old-fashioned read. Very interesting tale and very hard to put down. Good Value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying Kerry Greenwood's series of Miss Fisher Mysteries. Phryne is addictive reading and I'm looking forward to the next one. If you've never tried this series of books I highly recommend them. Hard to put down and great narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews