Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Adoption
Very good, well written. A book you can't put down with heart moving moments.Will appeal to a lot of people.
Published 20 months ago by Shirley MORRIS

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mediocre
I have read many books on adoption and this one scores pretty low, I cannot believe that someone can review a book without actually reading it and appointing a 5* rating. It is very predictable, the chapters incredibly short. The main character Erin comes across as selfish and not very likeable, she is pushy to the extreme. Her birth mother requested that she didn't want...
Published on 22 April 2012 by bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mediocre, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Three Women (Paperback)
I have read many books on adoption and this one scores pretty low, I cannot believe that someone can review a book without actually reading it and appointing a 5* rating. It is very predictable, the chapters incredibly short. The main character Erin comes across as selfish and not very likeable, she is pushy to the extreme. Her birth mother requested that she didn't want to be contacted but Erin ploughs on regardless, I can understand from a medical point of view, wanting to know certain aspects of why she was put up for adoption but her relentless persecution comes across as stalkerish, which in fact could destroy her birth mothers family. Her birth father, who lets face it, probably had 10 seconds in her creation, emphatically does not want anything to do with her but does that stop her, no, she tracks him down and is quite surprised that he still doesn't want to know this wonderful 26 year old person that she has become. Her adoptive parents are put in a position where of course there is some jealousy and then due to financial pressure they have to sell the family home, Erin whines that she doesn't want it sold because of her memories even though she no longer lives there. So all in all not the best read, would I recommend it, perhaps if you hadn't read better books on adoption
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adoption, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Women (Paperback)
Very good, well written. A book you can't put down with heart moving moments.Will appeal to a lot of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All the revelations of a soap opera, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Louise Ward (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Women (Paperback)
I first became aware of Marita Conlon-McKenna via her junior fiction writing for O'Brien; Under the Hawthorn Tree, The Blue Horse and Wildflower Girl amongst others. Since 2000 Marita Conlon- McKenna has written six adult novels and Three Women is her seventh.
Set in Dublin, with familiar street names, pubs and locations, Three Women tells us the stories of Erin, adopted at twelve weeks and brought up in a loving middle-class family with an adopted brother, of her mother Nina, who has dedicated herself to bringing up her children and creating a warm and comforting home, and Kate, Erin's birth mother who has never really got over the sacrifice she made when she gave up her daughter for adoption but has gone on to have a loving marriage and family of her own.

Going the way of all the best soaps, there are revelations and confrontations, let downs and then comforting support. Erin shares a flat with two best friends and their lives are interwoven as is the progression of Erin's boyfriends career and how it impacts on their relationship. Erin's mother has to deal with her feelings of jealousy as her daughter pursues the path to find her birth mother and also that her husband Tom has started buying new clothes and is taking a renewed interest in his appearance. Kate has to face up to the fear of meeting her daughter twenty-six years after giving her up.

Like some of the best movies, it's a little forced in the opening pages, such as when Erin says '"I can't believe I'm twenty-six!" ... It sounded so old. Yikes - thirty was only around the corner!'. Really, who says or even thinks 'yikes' these days? - it sounds like something out of The Famous Five. But the characters very quickly settle down and the reader charges forward to find out what will be the outcome of each stage in the story and I happily found myself reading late to get to the end and hopefully find it had all come to a happy conclusion.

Marita Conlon-McKenna has written a most satisfying story that addresses a subject that is very present in society today. It brings up the fears and doubts that all parties in the triangle must experience and at the same time has managed to write a most engrossing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Women (Paperback)
I really expected to like this book, but I found the vocabulary, sentence structure and story line very simplistic. It was as if the book had been written by and for a twelve year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Women (Kindle Edition)
This was a good book, giving a believable insight into the dynamics of adoption from the 3 key players: adopted young adult, adoptive mother and birth mother. Living in Dublin myself I thought a lot of the references to places in and around Dublin really made me feel a part of the story. I thought the ending was a bit "tidy" but I guess we all like a happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to books, 25 April 2012
By 
Y. J. Freeman (west midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Women (Paperback)
on treating myself to a kindle the idea of reading actual books was shelved as i was so intent on downloading and using my kindle. [ Not very good when i work in a Library!!!] Anyway i picked this book up at work and just started reading the first couple of pages....I couldnt put it down it is such an engaging read.I dont like to comment to much on the story as i think it spoils it for others.It has given me the interest to read "proper" books again.I also enjoyed Mother of the bride by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic & So Loving!, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Three Women (Kindle Edition)
I saw this Novel in Easons in Foyleside, Londonderry, Northern Ireland this morning. "twas highlighted on the bookshelf as the Number 1 Bestseller. Having read the Blurb, I couldn't wait to get home and read the Review on Amazon's Site. This truly is going to be an amazing story. I just have that feelgood factor in my heart.

I am going to download the Kindle Version .... .... I am definitely going to treat myself to a Kindle first!

Valerie xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Women
Three Women by Marita Conlon-McKenna
£2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews