Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 March 2012
I couldn't put it down, so I didn't, and read the whole book in one sitting. If you read HIWTYJ, and liked the way Ned puts words on the page that exactly match the way you yourself see and describe things in your head, but couldn't possibly find the words yourself; or you never knew what goes on behind the scenes in the greatest cycle race on earth; or you just like a good chuckle at brilliantly burst bubbles; then this second bite of the cherry is for you. It is just so absorbing and easy to read, but that is not to say it is trivial or banal. Ned just seems to effortlessly and superbly sum up situations with a sentence that hints at a smirk, but somehow also a nod of appreciation or respect. There I said I couldn't possibly match Ned's gift for words, and this proves it - if you hated this review, you'll probably love this book, because its infinitely better written than many others.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Very enjoyable little ebook from Ned Boulting, author of the equally enjoyable "How I Won The Yellow Jumper". If you read that book, you will know what to expect although this time the author is focusing on his experiences covering the 2011 Tour de France. Despite the title, it doesn't really feature much of Mark Cavendish choosing instead to concentrate on the Tour's more unsung heroes (I think Ned might have a bit of a man-crush on Johnny Hoogerland). A fun read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
Ned Boultings "Yellow Jumper" book was a great read, funny and informative, seemingly written by someone who has been entranced by the vibrancy, colour, speed and sheer toughness of professional cycling and who can acknowledge, but also see beyond the spectre of doping that taints our wonderful sport. This short tome is equally good, funny and amusing and brings home the many facets of both "Le Tour" and cycling in general, I didn't put it down, read in one sitting it really is that enjoyable, it isn't all about Mark Cavendish who arguably is currently the countries most successful sportsman and who is clearly at the top of his game, but appear he does - Read it and laugh and be informed, like others I hope this is just the first of many annual reviews.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I bought this after really enjoying Ned's "How I Won the Yellow Jumper" and this was an excellent addition or extra set of chapters. Some really funny and poignant stories told from inside the television crew following the tour. A must for any fan of cycling or the tour de france and it offers somethng a little different from the usual cycling literature. Look forward to another edition this year coverng a Wiggins victory and another green jersey for Cav.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
You would have thought it was fun, travelling around France for 3 weeks as the front-of-camera "talent". All the food, wine, rubbing shoulders with sporting legends - sounds like heaven, doesn't it?
Here, Ned lays bare the reality of working with a bunch of sweaty blokes slaving to produce an hour of highlights during a live sporting event. He is in good company with Matt Rendell and Gary Imlac, not to mention the deadpan hero that is Chris Boardman. They quite clearly adore and detest doing this every year. Full of hilarious anecdotes and stories, rambling and engaging, if you ever watched ITV4's coverage of the Tour, then read this book. You will never view the presenters in the same way again . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
This little book is a sheer delight, a joy for all fans of pro-cycling. Perfect for reading on the train, or waiting at the airport.
Hopefully, this is a start of a series for Ned, and he'll write another next year.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
Loved HIWTYJ and this is a brilliant update from the best TdF for years. Full of witty anecdotes and written in Ned's inimitable style a must for any die-hard cycling fan. I didn't put this down from start to finish.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Reviews must be at least 20 words long so.... If you enjoyed Neds book "How I won the Yellow Jumper" then you will certainly enjoy this,just buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The only reason I did not give this book five stars was because it was too short !! I absolutely loved "How I won the Yellow Jumper", Ned Boulting's previous book about the Tour de France, and was really looking forward to getting my teeth into this new book, but it was over almost before it began. Come on Ned, get back to that computer and let us have some more of your hilarious, insightful and touching reminiscences. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 April 2012
A great short collection of stories from the 2011 tour, which is not just solely focussed on Cav, but the tour as a whole. I do love Ned's writing- I also recommend his main book, How I won the Yellow Jumper- as it is light, informed, and well written.

This really is a must for all cycling fans. Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)