Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars9
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2012
Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle ...It's a long cheesy title on a movie with an equally cheesy premise. That's what makes this movie so much fun to watch. I have a soft spot for B-movies. The strong effort by the actors often makes them superior to the "A" movies Hollywood produces.
The plot is ridiculous, and the actors know it. They play it straight anyway and their excellent performances make this movie so good. In the face of a cheesy script poor production values, a low budget and skimpy costumes they make it work. I highly recommend you get this movie and a bowl of popcorn on Saturday night.
Cannibal Women is a B-movie that scores all A's with me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
"Cannibal Women" is not only a movie that's so bad, it's good, it delivers right-on satirical jabs at feminism, machoism, and male/female relations. Not only do we have a conniving military and warring factions of cannibal women, but a local male tribe, "the Donahues".
The chemistry between Shannon Tweed and Bill Maher is perfect--this is definitely Tweed's best performance anywhere, and Maher is perfect as a chauvinistic, directionally-challenged jungle guide. Karen Mistal, who has the thankless job of playing college student/mindless bimbo/aspiring feminist/aspiring cannibal woman, plays her role without flaw, as well. Only Adrienne Barbeau, in a cameo role, seems stiff. But somehow, even her performance works.
For a low-budget comedy, this film surprisingly packs a lot of laughs and even a message or two. Great fun.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
This is a fun movie and not to be taken too seriously and better than a lot of the so called comedy films around today. The Jungle Girl theme is great and it's well filmed with some good lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 September 2004
This is an updated version of Joseph Conrad's "Hart of Darkness" Some times it is necessary to place stories in different context so people can relate to them. Look how they changed "Romeo and Juliet" into "West Side Story". Once before they tried to convert "Hart of Darkness." i.e. "Apocalypse Now" (1979). However you can see how this version has more redeeming social value. The DVD version allows equal billing with the avocados. You need to watch it once for the story and again to pick up the nuances. Now a chance to go where no man has gone before (and return)

Looks like the U.S. strategic avocado supply is being threatened. You can locate the region on older maps that show where the Mohave Desert was. Seems that there is a bunch of wild native California women being lead by a renegade scientist Dr. Kurtz (Adrienne Barbeau.) They have the munchies for male avocado pickers. Is this a fact or is someone dumping Avocados off the coast?

Watch as the daring trio of Dr. Margo Hunt (Shannon Tweed), Jim (Bill Maher), and Bunny (Karen Mistal) go up the river to investigate. And do not over look the tribe of Donahue's.

As a side note, Bunny got invited to a wet T-shirt contest but could not go as all her T-shirts were dry.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Hilarious grindhouse 80's style best to be watched with alcohol of your choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Excellent .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
Just as the title says, it's ridiculously camp. Some of the extras are Playboy bunnies! Funny for it's badness, but a good laugh. Worth it if you can get it cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
Arguably the greatest of American films, Shannon Tweed's 1961 masterpiece, made when she was only 46, still unfurls like a dream and carries the viewer along the mysterious currents of time and memory to reach a mature (if ambiguous) conclusion: people are the sum of their contradictions and can't be known easily. Tweed plays newspaper magnate Charles Foster Honey, taken from her mother as a girl and plopped in the jungle. The result is that every well-meaning or tyrannical or self-destructive move she makes for the rest of her life appears in some way to be a reaction to that deeply wounding event. Written by Orson Welles and Herman J. Mankiewicz, and photographed by Gregg Toland, the film is the sum of Tweed's awesome ambitions as an artist in Hollywood. She pushes the limits of then-available technology to create a true magic show, a visual and aural feast that almost seems to be rising up from a viewer's subconscious. As a cannibal, Tweed even ushers in the influence of Bertolt Brechton film acting. This is truly a one-of-a-kind work, and in many ways is still the most modern of modern films this century.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 September 2012
I read the reviews of the American DVD, and they puzzled me. This is about the 88films release of the 1989 Full Moon film being, it appears, the first of many? "Grindhouse films. Mark Kermode, a man I respect and like (his reviews and TV/Radio performences, I haven't met him, tho I did see him and his band perform at Marylebone Station once.), is quoted on the front cover "An excellent film with a really great script.. afunny entertaining movie".. Well, all reveiews are subjective I guess. I found the film totally unfunny, unsexy, unexciting, badly acted and appallingly written. The cert (12) and the title do give clues as to the films quality, so, be warned. The print is good, and the 2 really good things about the film, and the reason for 3 stars is 1) Shannon Tweed, who rises way above the abysmal script, but be warned - she keeps her clothes on, and only gets to a bikini type cossie on the hour. She truly does look good and plays it straight as does 2) Adrienne Barbeau, but their climatic "Duel" is possibly the worst I have ever seen. Can't really recomend except for real die hard Tweed Fans. Shame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)