Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chainsaw Atmosphere
For anyone looking for a light in the mid 70s aftermath of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this just might be it.
A lack of gore is made up by scenery and atmosphere. It's standard drive by movie hokum, with teenagers (with various acting skills), derilict gas stations, spooky houses, and dolls coming to life. However, Chuck Conners chews the scenery and spits it out,...
Published on 13 Aug 2007 by Mr. M. J. Dunn

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five star film - One star blu-ray
OK, where to start.

This film is struck from the same master as the one in the US from Full Moon Features.

Whilst daytime scenes do look inherently better than the DVD counterpart (skin tones etc). This is where the good points end and the bad begin;

The film is cut from its usual 90-minute runtime to 85 minutes.

There are frame...
Published 3 months ago by P. SEEL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Butchered "re-edited" version. Avoid this release!, 27 April 2014
By 
J. Sundkvist - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
88 Films has a lame excuse for for their release of this movie. They were aware that the film has been cut, but did not mention anything about this issues before the release. What a shame.

There is no point of having a butchered film in HD on Blu-ray. I guess I just stick with the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chuck Conners and his crazy mannequins., 14 Mar 2014
Tourist Trap is a fine horror movie, though after such a promising start the film does go all pedestrian on us which is a shame. The glue here is obviously Chuck Conners who will be rememberd by a certain generation for the countless disaster movies he starred in. He turns in a decent performance.

As for the others it's all rather borderline. The movie works though because of the creepy mannequins and the setting is just perfect.
The 20th anniversary includes a bunch of features and director commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an old classic in a 70's kind of way, 2 July 2012
By 
misterkraig (The West Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tourist Trap [DVD] (DVD)
88 Films have again dug deep into the archives for this one, an old creepy classic from the late 70's directed by the guy who would go on to make the very first Puppet Master and the people behind (well the people who put the money up for) the original Halloween.

A group of friends stumble onto a so called 'museum' ran by the great character actor Chuck Connors. Now Chucky boy does rather enjoy turning people into living mannequins, so the friends are in for a bit of a rough ride ahead.

I remember seeing this one at my local video shop in the early 80's in the old cardboard sleeve from Media. The scary dummy face has been used as the film's main selling point down through the years and even today the film does strike a very eerie vibe with the mannequins. There are some pretty good moments throughout the picture which today are still darn right creepy especially anything involving the dummies moving and making noises.

Connors does a fine job as the film's villain and the supporting cast including a pre Charlie's Angels' Tanya Roberts do pretty well in thinly written roles. The effects are still fairly impressive today and seeing they are all 'in camera' they work very well.

Today's audience might find it all a bit dated and perhaps even quaint, but for the generation that prowled the aisles of the video shop in a time of VHS and Betamax it's time to relive part of our youth. Saying that, I can't honestly remember if I saw it back then. I've seen it now and it does confirm my fears that mannequins are bloody horrible and I'm sure they always look at me whenever I'm in M&S. If are a 'kid' give it a go, it's miles better than a lot of so called 'horror' out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tourist Trap (1979), 10 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Kiley Derek Spencer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is everything you'd expect from a late '70s Horror Flick. It has your usual dark picture, Plot with odd twists, and some very strange scenes. I first saw this film about 15 years ago by waking up in the living room in the early hours and seeing the scene with the Plaster! It made me crack up! I thought it was hilarious. I only recently found out what the film was called so looked straight to Amazon.co.uk to find a copy. I would recommend this film to any Horror Fan. I'm not going to spoil it and give away the plot in this review. But as '70s Horror Films go the acting is mostly excellent, the plot believable, the effects good and the picture quality very good. I do not have a single negative thing to say about this one. Seriously get yourself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy!, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This release is stripped, destroyed and useless because its not Tourist Trap. Its a release that has been cut to pieces. Its sad because I was waiting for Tourist Trap for over a year and its not what I got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best horror films ever, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap (Blu-ray)
I watched this film in black and white on tv with poor reception in the early 80s. I finally managed to buy a copy and watch it properly. It's a great film. The real star is Tanya Roberts who isn't even mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...I can see why its Stephen King's favorite horror film..., 17 May 2012
This review is from: Tourist Trap [DVD] (DVD)
I can see why its Stephen King's favorite horror film.. as he states in his biography.
There are more cultural references in this film than Tarantino, yet it has never gotten its just acknowledgment as one of the best horror films ever made.
Its film references alone are staggering, yet just on a straight ahead basis its unbelievable.

The idea of putting Chuck Conner's in a Tourist trap venue, and a horror venue, is genius in itself. The scenes are so original..when one victim is psycho-kinetically killed by a pipe, and after the loud rush of violence is over, and the soundtrack carries the drip drip drip of the victims essence dripping away resounding on a tin pie plate..it works at so many levels.

Scary, yes, but there is so much more here. This film has not gotten nearly the attention and acclaim it deserves. The soundtrack is phenomenal in itself. For a first time director on this film, David Schmoeller mines an incredible wealth of material in this work, including a level of tongue in cheek humor for viewers who are paying attention.
It's fantastic that it is now available on DVD..it's what true horror classic fans like me have been waiting for..to complete their classic libraries..

A sleeper that has withstood the test of time, fun to watch.. they don't make them like this anymore!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low budget gem!, 16 April 2012
This review is from: Tourist Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Good to see this low budget classic getting a UK release at last. Though light on gore there is something about this film that just creeps under your skin. The acting isn't particularly strong and neither is the direction but for some undefinable reason the crude effects and off kilter dialogue retain the power to disturb. If you enjoyed 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' odds are you'll enjoy this! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay but dated spook show, 23 July 2007
Basic plot. Teens car breaks down at the lost oasis. The owner takes them in but his mad brother who is obsessed with mannequin dolls and masks decides to stalk them one by one. Pretty average movie, parts of the plot have not aged well at all (you can see who the killer is a mile away), no blood at all so avoid if thats what you are looking for. Does have some freaky scences especially with the mannequins with the big mouths and freaky dolls. Some of the bits with the killer using his powers (which are never explained) are pretty good thou. Not an essential purchase by any means but okay if your bored. Kinda like a no blood and slighty predictable mix of dolls and the texas chainsaw massacre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very creepy 70's horror. A must own!, 3 May 2012
This review is from: Tourist Trap [DVD] (DVD)
What an odd but strangely compelling film. Tourist Trap was made on a shoe string budget with an inexperienced director and only Chuck Connors as a known actor but somehow it turned out as one of the seminal horror films of the 70's. Even Stephen King thinks so apparently!!! The DVD has a decent widescreen transfer and a commentary from and interview with beardy director David Schmoeller. It also has a double sided jacket with the original poster on the inside like Arrow do. Really cool little release of an absolutely essential horror film. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tourist Trap [DVD]
Tourist Trap [DVD] by David Schmoeller (DVD - 2012)
7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews