Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tourist Trap (1979)
This film is everything you'd expect from a late '70s Horror Flick. It has your usual dark picture, Plot with odd twists, and some very strange scenes. I first saw this film about 15 years ago by waking up in the living room in the early hours and seeing the scene with the Plaster! It made me crack up! I thought it was hilarious. I only recently found out what the...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by Mr. Kiley Derek Spencer

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five star film - One star blu-ray
OK, where to start.

This film is struck from the same master as the one in the US from Full Moon Features.

Whilst daytime scenes do look inherently better than the DVD counterpart (skin tones etc). This is where the good points end and the bad begin;

The film is cut from its usual 90-minute runtime to 85 minutes.

There are frame...
Published 7 months ago by Paul_s


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five star film - One star blu-ray, 19 April 2014
By 
Paul_s (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
OK, where to start.

This film is struck from the same master as the one in the US from Full Moon Features.

Whilst daytime scenes do look inherently better than the DVD counterpart (skin tones etc). This is where the good points end and the bad begin;

The film is cut from its usual 90-minute runtime to 85 minutes.

There are frame rate issues (picture jumps, slows and speeds up) throughout the whole film.

Dark/nighttime scenes are very hard to make out to near impossible (far darker than the 20th Anniversary edition on DVD).

To conclude, stick with the 20th Anniversary edition until a better HD version is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This BluRay is cut!!!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
88films released this cut BluRay and did not inform the buyers about it being cut although they knew about the missing 4 minutes before. This is what is missing:

At 25:22 - 30sec missing.
At 41:32 - 46sec missing (these now appear at 47:08).
At 47:08 - the scene originally here (31sec, has been removed).
At 62:25 - 2min 23sec missing (in it's place is a 47sec scene from 73:24 on the dvd).
At 78:13 - 32sec missing.

The US BluRay by Full Moon is the same edited version . Both have framing issues,too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good film, but avoid this version., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'll keep this brief as anyone looking to purchase this film will already know that it's a good old shocker that deserves a watch.

However, besides the terrible cover art for this bluray edition, the film is cut by 5 minutes.
Give this version a miss as all other versions are uncut and have a similar print. And a way better cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this! The film is cut and some scenes have even been rearranged., 19 April 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a disgrace. Someone at Full Moon decided this film needed some trimming (it doesn't) so they cut a few snippets here and there at their leisure, and even moved some scenes around to different spots! There is NO excuse for this. This needs to be recalled immediately and fixed. Do not buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A blu Ray to avoid, 22 April 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
5 minutes missing from this 88 films release and scenes in an incorrect order. Not worth the money wait for a better US release, probably scream factory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Film is edited, disc has frame errors, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As others have been pointing out, there are five minutes mysteriously deleted from this edition of Tourist Trap, and the numerous frame errors of the US release are also unfortunately present. 88 Films have announced that they will not be recalling/replacing the defective disc, so you have been warned! This release should be avoided!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tourist Trap (1979), 10 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Kiley Derek Spencer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is everything you'd expect from a late '70s Horror Flick. It has your usual dark picture, Plot with odd twists, and some very strange scenes. I first saw this film about 15 years ago by waking up in the living room in the early hours and seeing the scene with the Plaster! It made me crack up! I thought it was hilarious. I only recently found out what the film was called so looked straight to Amazon.co.uk to find a copy. I would recommend this film to any Horror Fan. I'm not going to spoil it and give away the plot in this review. But as '70s Horror Films go the acting is mostly excellent, the plot believable, the effects good and the picture quality very good. I do not have a single negative thing to say about this one. Seriously get yourself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chainsaw Atmosphere, 13 Aug 2007
By 
For anyone looking for a light in the mid 70s aftermath of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this just might be it.
A lack of gore is made up by scenery and atmosphere. It's standard drive by movie hokum, with teenagers (with various acting skills), derilict gas stations, spooky houses, and dolls coming to life. However, Chuck Conners chews the scenery and spits it out, as does the scriptwriter, who delivers many original moments - the final ten minutes are simply splendid. And, apart from the killer's costume, there are no predictable cliches either.
Though, the first eight minutes of the film throws too many of its cards on the table by revealing the killers telekenetic powers too early, this is recommended to fans of the Chainsaw/Hills Have Eyes cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPLATION FOR THE CUT VERSION, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Scott (CENTRAL COAST,, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is what 88 FILMS have to say.

NOTE: 88 Films has commented on the running time: "We're aware through the comments on its page that the running time on Tourist Trap has become an issue. We did notice this when we received the master from the US and did raise the issue with Full Moon but ultimately this is the only HD master available and we felt we had to run with it to give the UK fans at least the equivalent of the US Blu-ray.

We considered adding in the missing excerpts from the DVD master but that would have created noticeable shifts in image quality and ruined the 5.1 mix. Also this release does include a brand new commentary by David Schmoeller and we're not aware that he had any issues with the master when he was recording that.
This is what 88 FIMS have to say about the 5minutes cut from the film.

We're very sorry if anyone feels their Blu-ray is not as good as it should be but hopefully you will feel that the new special features, lossless sound, booklet notes and reversible art will make up for the slightly shorter running time than our previous DVD release."

This is a solid horror - even praised by the author in Stephen King's book Danse Macabre, noting the scary opening scene. I enjoyed it - although a bit of a come-down for Chuck Connors and an 'interesting' early performance from Tanya Roberts. It has some appreciated 'polish' tucked into the grassroots milieu. Genre fans will applaud the new a/v. In a sea of weak efforts - this stands-out as more professional. Recommended to those keen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this Blu-ray disc from for it's an incomplete edition!, 19 April 2014
By 
Franco (Lima, Peru) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tourist Trap [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you are a true horror cinema lover, please AVOID buying this Blu-ray release. The company that produced this release is known for having good editions but sadly this is not the case, it's the exception to that rule, and likely not their fault but the company which holds the rights in the US. Tourist trap has been cut for this edition and is missing many minutes (at all and some in the right place) which are found in the original DVD release as it was released originally in cinemas back in '79. You've been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tourist Trap [DVD]
Tourist Trap [DVD] by David Schmoeller (DVD - 2012)
£6.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews