Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fun game with a lot more depth than first appears
When Terraria was first released it was commonly referred to as a 2D version of Minecraft as a selling point with Minecraft obviously being a very successful game. At a first glance the game does seem very much like Minecraft as you have to build your own house and you have a trusty pickaxe to go digging into the ground while fending off enemies. In practice though the...
Published on 18 Mar 2012 by Johnmcl7

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Terraria - Meh !
I was urged to buy this game by my son who adores it. And... ? Not over awed.

I'm used to games where you need to access internet help when the game gets tricky. The problem with Terraria is that you need internet help to get started. There's no tutorial, and in a relatively short time the lights go out and your character gets ripped apart by Zombies...
Published 1 month ago by Sorceror


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fun game with a lot more depth than first appears, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Johnmcl7 "John" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
When Terraria was first released it was commonly referred to as a 2D version of Minecraft as a selling point with Minecraft obviously being a very successful game. At a first glance the game does seem very much like Minecraft as you have to build your own house and you have a trusty pickaxe to go digging into the ground while fending off enemies. In practice though the two games are quite different, while they've been trying to shoehorn objectives and enemies to take down the real goal of Minecraft is the construction element of it. In Terraria the goal is more RPG-like, you go digging to find better items to make better weapons and take on better enemies allowing you to go further get better weapons etc.

Unfortunately Terraria is just as bad as Minecraft to get started with and knowledge of Minecraft isn't any help in Terraria as it does everything differently. To craft items you don't arrange them on a grid, you simply need them in your inventory, you don't make a torch out of coal you have mined and wood it's made from gel (looted by killing 'blobs') and wood, to make a working building you have to build the basic structure with a 'backing' fill as well. My first few attempts at the game without any external help didn't end very well as I fell down holes and couldn't get back out again as it was too dark, it was only when I sat down and had a proper read at a guide I was able to get properly started. As you would expect there is a great Terraria wiki which has a beginner's guide that doesn't spoil the game instead just giving you the basics and helping you get going so my number one recommendation would be to read up first before playing the game. Although there's no official levelling up you do effectively rank yourself up with more powerful items allowing you to take on better enemies although again, the lack of any help with this can make it difficult as I basically missed a step and was struggling through against enemies that were too tough for my equipment but again the wiki is useful.

Whereas with the likes of Borderlands there is a virtually unlimited amount of weapons as the stats can be randomly generated, in Terraria the weapons are much more straightforward as is the armour. Some weapons you can find in chests but in most cases you forge your own armour from items dropped by enemies. There's the usual close combat weapons and also mana weapons which works well in co-op as it means you can mix your player styles. There's considerable depth to the game as you start to appreciate what you can actually forge as there's also a large potion element which goes from basic health recovery to being able to breath under water, weightless etc. I went for close combat starting off with a stabbing lance which was handy until I could start forging more powerful swords and my co-op friend went with mana weaponry he could use at range. The controls are simple as you use the keyboard to move left, right and jump then the mouse to aim your weapon. Attacking enemies is simply a case of clicking your weapon to hit them and trying to move around to avoid them hitting you. If possible I would also strongly recommend the co-op as I found the game much more enjoyable, the game is reasonably forgiving on the default softcore option as when you die you only drop half money you carry and none of your items so if you're careful there's no real penalty for death which is handy as exploring can sometimes be very dangerous.

As I mentioned at the start, Terraria is quite a different game to Minecraft which will appeal more to others but less for some. Having played Minecraft extensively and played around with mods I've become a bit bored of it plus I'm not a huge construction person so Terraria worked really well for me, I enjoyed the exploration and mining combined with constantly trying to work up to the next best set of equipment. The price for the collector's edition is a bit much unless you're a diehard fan but the standard game can be had for much cheaper and is definitely worth a look if the idea appeals at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 13 April 2012
By 
M. doherty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game is a truly amazing experience.It is a game that keeps on going. ( Unfortunately, it IS frequently compared to minecraft, but those people probably haven't done any research into the game.)In Minecraft, you make a new world, make tools,fight a few monsters, hunt for minerals & build a house.
But what then? Why, You start a new world.

But, for me, Terraria is a whole new experience. There is no game to compare it too. There is no WORD to describe the game.It's really a whole new genre all to it's own. As said before by other players, it's a combination of an RPG and Building / Adventure Game. But... There are just so many things to do! You can build a tunnel to hell(HELLAVATOR),Find all the NPC's, Adventure into the scary depths of the corruption, and infinately more. (Sorry for that bad little end, I've only played the game briefly)

The game doesn't END! (Well you can end it if you want,Which is very exciting) There are so many exciting things in this game : there are the Giant worms, eye of Chtulu, Undead miners, Demon eyes, (And thats not all!) Best of all : ZOMBIES WITH TOP HATS!

My description isnt a very good one, Im more or less just splurging on how much I love it. All by one man, Y'Know? Andrew Spinks.
I'd Reccomend this to well, Anyone.It's that widely platformed and fun, Truly Amazing.
Did I mention Goblin armys, And snowman armys with Shotguns?

As I said this is a very Vauge review, And I'm more or less just splurging on how much I love it, But for a better review, read Johnmcl7's Review, or Wtch the YouTube Series "TotalBiscuit and Jesse Cox Play Terraria" -- Very funny and enjoyable.

Happy Terraria-Ing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Not for me but, needless to say, I haven't seen my lad since this arrived!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Wow my son loves this almost as much as minecraft. Not too expensive and works well, does what it's supposed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terraria - Meh !, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I was urged to buy this game by my son who adores it. And... ? Not over awed.

I'm used to games where you need to access internet help when the game gets tricky. The problem with Terraria is that you need internet help to get started. There's no tutorial, and in a relatively short time the lights go out and your character gets ripped apart by Zombies. Repeatedly. Anti intuitively (at least for non Minecraft players) buildings are built by blocks and "walls" are basically background blockers to stop beasts spawning inside your buildings.

Your character comes equipped with a copper sword (basically nearly useless), a copper axe (best used for chopping down trees AND killing monsters), and a copper pickaxe (for digging). The sword slashes out horizontally whilst the axe swings in an arc making it far more effective against the leaping attacking blobs.

There are no wolves that I've seen in the game so your first stage is to quickly chop down some trees, lay a wooden base, wooden sides, and wooden roof and build a crafting table. Then use this to make some wooden walls, and two wooden doors, and some torches for the interior. That's you safe for the night.

Which drags on FOREVER. Terraria divides into the day (do stuff) and the night (cower helplessly in your hut) until you discover mining.

Your pickaxe will dig through the earth. Which goes down a LONG, LONG way. This will mine dirt blocks (dirt), stone blocks (useful for building) and clay (useful for some small items). And that is virtually it. Although there are many more materials that you need to find they appear to be extremely rare. So the game devolves into you digging holes, leaving an odd door behind you every so often to stop you being killed by monsters creeping up behind you (monsters can't open doors for the most part - in extremis you can also just but up a dirt wall that is also effective) and keeping your plucky character equipped with torches (it's dark underground). The game then devolves into hours of fruitless digging looking for extremely rare minerals.

It may be that things would have been better if I'd chosen a small world rather than a large one. It may have been better if I'd dug straight down rather than across. To target caverns with their jars of (usually disappointing) goodies. But why ? There is no documentation to say small is easier than large, down is better than across, or even what most of the items do. For example with the anvil you can carve out letters and numbers. But with metal being a scarce resource why would you ?.

And Terraria does have an undeniable charm - the cartoonish graphics and tinkly theme are seductive. Also its avid legions of fans can't all be misguided. But I am still trying to find the deep attraction in a game where you can spend literally hours digging in the hope of eventually finding enough ore to build an object whose purpose is completely unclear.

Even worse its multiplayer is so complex to activate that that needs a trip to the internet to work out how to make it work - as opposed to Battlefield 1942, and James Bond Nightfire - far older games with an easily accessible multiplayer.

I'm convinced that from the rave reviews that there must be something great here. Like the experience of playing Terraria itself it just seems rather difficult to find.

S.x.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant game and CE contents, 22 Mar 2012
By 
James Gibson (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Terraria is a brilliant game that has taken up over 100 hours of my life. All I can be bothered to say about the game itself is that it can keep you entertained for many hours as there is no real end to what you can build or do. The collectors edition includes two cards that are random with every game but it seems there aren't that many of different ones out there. the cards aren't very important in my view as they are basically prints of an item or character in the game with some info that any person who has played is likely to know. The keyring however is a nice addition to the package. it is made from a rubbery plastic material that is quite bendy meaning it wont break easily, the picture in the product images does not do it justice as it looks very much different. the poster is of a nice quality and is double sided, one side of the various NPCs and the other of a random landscape which I use. I don't even know how to get my pet bunny that is included so that's a very bad point but I don't play Terraria so much any more so I wasn't that bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terraria, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
really fun very good uploaded super quick brilliant idea for game makes a change from minecraft. strongly recommend ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I've ordered this game for my 11 years old son and he loves it. Item arrived within 3 working days and brand new. I highly recommend. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever, 2 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
THIS is the Best game i've ever played. Me and my friends are hacking such fun at the time. THIS game never ends and there is a bunch of ways to play. Not many bugs are found and you begin to feel like a bad ass during your own progress in slaying zombies all night long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good alternitive zu Minecraft, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I like this game because its just Crazy. You can do a lot of stuff. But sometimes it is just too crazy. I just h8 the Inventory and sometimes it is too difficult for me. But I give it 4 Stars because it would be awesome if you played it with friends and new Items are added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD)
Terraria - Collector's Edition (PC CD) by Merge Games (Windows Vista / XP)
10.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews