Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxette Rox On
The 9th Roxette album, the follow up to 2011's Charm School is a sequel to their 1992 album, Tourism - Songs From Studios, Stages, Hotelrooms and Other Strange Places, that album sold 7 million worldwide. Can Travelling live up to that?

In short, it probably hasn't got a chance of selling even half as many 20 years on, but it deserves to.

1. Me & You...
Published on 2 April 2012 by D.A.C

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I rate this album -5*****
Now don't get me wrong as i have every album of Roxette and the majority of their albums are great so great infact i am off to see them in July. But this album is pants definately not for me. This is not the Roxette i know. Every song is just not listenable ok once was enough.I think i will stop at that and be happy with what i have regarding Roxette well with the...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Mr. R. J. Cotton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxette Rox On, 2 April 2012
By 
D.A.C "1984" (widnes,cheshire,u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
The 9th Roxette album, the follow up to 2011's Charm School is a sequel to their 1992 album, Tourism - Songs From Studios, Stages, Hotelrooms and Other Strange Places, that album sold 7 million worldwide. Can Travelling live up to that?

In short, it probably hasn't got a chance of selling even half as many 20 years on, but it deserves to.

1. Me & You & Terry & Julie - Starts of gently and then Marie bursts into the Chorus, one of the strangest Roxette album openers, but it works well (10/10)

2. Lover Lover Lover - Already a fan favourite, this is a classic Roxette pop song (9/10)

3. Turn of The Tide - Held back from the Have A Nice Day album this is one of the albums standout tracks and one of their best ballads in years (10/10)

4. Touched By The Hands of God - Chirpy pop song mainly sung by Per with Marie chipping in here and there, another standout track (10/10)

5. Easy Way Out - This song is so typically Per Gessle it had to be sung by him on lead. A good chilled out track that is probably my favourite on the album (10/10)

6. It's Possible (Version One) - The albums lead single shows Roxette doing what they do best - an out and out pure pop song - think The Big L, Fireworks and Dangerous mixed together. (9/10)

7. Perfect Excuse - The first Roxette track on which Per Gessle does not feature as vocalist in any way sees Marie take centre stage with backing vocals from Helena Josefsson who sang joint lead on Per Gessle's original version on his Party Crasher album. This should have always been a Roxette song. (10/10)

8.Excuse Me, Sir, Do You Want Me To Check On Your Wife - An odd title but a great song, quirky in every sense of the word (10/10)

9. Angel Passing - A ballad, it doesn't add much to the album, it won't change lives, but it's okay. (8/10)

10. Stars (Live Soundcheck) - Great guitared up version of this once children's choir led funk fest, sounds even better now (10/10)

11. The Weight of The World - Freshened up version of this fits in perfectly with this album's overall feel, finally does it some justice (8/10)

12. She's Got Nothing On (But The Radio) (Live) - Raw live version of Charm Schools lead single is scratchy but captures the energy within the band and this point in their career (8/10)

13. See Me - Keeping the original vocals this ballad has been refreshed and sits nicely on this album, finally establishing itself as an album track after years in the b-side/ extra track wilderness (8/10)

14. It's Possible (Version Two) - An alternative version of the lead single in a more acoustic style. It works, but I prefer the poppier version. (9/10)

15. It Must Have Been Love (Night of The Proms version) - An orchestral take on a song that has been released by Roxette in no less than 6 versions including this one. However it is totally different to any of them and brings it back to life once more. A good album closer (10/10)

Overall, Travelling is an album that captures Roxette during their 18 month world tour and shows how much energy and drive they still have so far into their career and shows that they are now finally recovered from Marie's illness in 2002 and once again open for business.

Travelling is well worth a listen.

Don't Get Left Behind, Come For The Joyride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling - The New Tourism, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (MP3 Download)
Back in 1992 Roxette released an album called Tourism which was recorded partly on tour during the, "Join the Joyride Tour" the album was a huge success and to this day it is still one of my favourite albums that Roxette released.

Now we welcome, "Travelling" initially dubbed Tourism2, T2 and finally Trism2 instead it was finally named, "Travelling" so what have we got in this album which makes it a recommended purchase!

Initially when I heard the snippets some weeks before the release I was undecided about the songs and the quality of the albums, but now having listened to the album I love it, it is to me even better than Charm School the new album released in 2011 by Roxette.

Let's be honest here it's not the 90's and Roxette are not in their 30's anymore, so fans cannot expect albums to continually sound like the good old days, we have to enjoy what is offered, but more importantly as many will know it is perhaps a miracle that Roxette as a duo are even making music!

The album kicks off with a track called, "Me & You & Terry & Julie" with Terry & Julie being a reference to The Kinks song "Waterloo Sunset." It is a catchy opening tune and is followed by, "Lover, Lover, Lover" which for me is perhaps the second best song on the whole album. The first song that is an ultimate favourite of mine is, "Touched by the Hand of God" which was originally named, "Charm School" but did not make the final cut on the album of the same title. Mr Gessle what were you thinking hiding this gem of a song from us fans because it is simply amazing and Marie's voice suits the vocals immensely.

Like the original Tourism, there are a couple of live tracks on this album; including, "She's Got Nothing On (But The Radio)" and (wait for it...) yes another version of, "It Must Have Been Love" which some fans find annoying. Not I this version was recorded during Night of the Proms in Holland in 2009 which is when Marie gradually made a return back to Roxette after her brain tumour. A fabulous orchestra backs the track, if you where in the audience for the NOTP shows you will understand just how magical hearing this song is again on a CD!

"Excuse Me, Sir, Do You Want Me to Check on Your Wife?" is in fact a beautiful song, I wonder if Per got the inspiration for this title because he owns a hotel in Sweden!

Overall, you have 15 tracks on this album, 2 live songs, 1 soundcheck and a cover of "Perfect Excuse" which originally appeared on Per's solo album in 2009, Party Crasher and was song by Helena Josefsson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The joy of travelling, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
Initially dubbed Tourism 2, 2rism and T2, "Travelling" is the sequel to the 1992, 7+ million-selling album of "Tourism". Followed on from the massively successful world tour of Roxette's "Charm school" album, it features a mix of studio and live material, newly-arranged old songs, stripped down or acoustic versions, big ballads and power pop numbers. Although it could easily have been scattered and unfocused, instead, it is a cohesive and fun collection, finding the band reunited, rejuvenated, and sounding as good as they ever have. Filled with the hook-laden pop brilliance one has come to expect, there is a strident Beatles-esque feel, making the album sound refreshingly different to their previous ones. Per Gessle's talent for writing irresistible, catchy pop songs, assisted by Marie Fredriksson's fragile and powerful vocals, are the reasons to their songs sounding nostalgic and fresh at the same time, and improving with repeated listenings. Proof of their never-ending inspiration, is the new version of their classic hit "It must have been love"; with 5 other already recorded versions, it could seem rather unnecessary to add another one. Listening to Marie's mesmerising delivery, with an orchestra backing the track, surprises and excites. Roxette have always been a breath of fresh air in a world full of the stench of pop mass, just like their fellow Swedes, the all-conquering ABBA, were some decades earlier. If you like to travel in style, "Travelling" is a perfect accessory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 7 April 2013
By 
scarecrow (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
I sat down to listen to Travelling with a degree of apprehension because I'd considered Charm School somewhat disappointing and lacklustre compared to their previous albums.
I needn't have worried; they are definitely right back on form with this one.
Whether up tempo foot tapper or emotive ballad, Travelling is filled with the type of hook laden classics that we have come to expect from this band.
And that's just after one listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any roxette fan!, 24 April 2013
By 
Elaine Wood "pingu33dd" (Swindon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
I have been a roxette fan for any years (back to Look Sharp) and this album doesn't disappoint me. Strong tunes, ballads and their voices never falter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 24 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
Roxette are back on form - I was disappointed by Charm School but this is a great album. Back with a mixture of their traditional power ballads, rock numbers and lighter touches, the album makes for absorbing listening. My daughter liked it so much, I bought her a copy too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roxette traveling, 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
very good album, roxette are on top form, great pop and soft gentle tracks mix very well, its a long time since ive liked a record as much as this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
Great album full of a mix of up-beat feel good songs and smooth ballads. I've listened to it twice now in the car and I absolutely love it. There are pretty much great songs all the way through finishing with a new version of Must Have Been Love which was great listening to it whilst driving with the windows down and the sun streaming in. For me all of the songs could be hit singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album and a more mature Roxette!, 15 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
I have to totally disagree with anyone who gives this album a 1 star review! if blur, coldplay or any other British artist wrote an album like this it would be huge here but Roxette get little if any promotion from EMI UK. The album is different but so fresh sounding very beatles inspired i think and you can really hear Roxette's music influences in this album. Best tracks are 'lover lover lover' , 'turn of the tide' , 'touched by the hand of god', ' perfect excuse' and my favourite' Do you want me to check on your wife'. Roxette are never gonna sound like lady gaga, madonna, snow patrol or jessie j and thank god thats what i say. the lead single for this album is 'its Possible'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 12 April 2012
By 
Brandon J. Smith (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling (Audio CD)
Roxette's Travelling is a great album. I would normally say it's a solid 4-star album, but I feel it deserves the extra star for the way it proves to the new generation that Roxette is still a force to be reckoned with.

Some notable songs:

I love that Me & You & Terry & Julie features the line, "How about you," reminding us of "How Do You Do," the opening song on Tourism, the album to which Travelling serves as a sequel of sorts.

As a fan of Per Gessle's solo work, it's great to see that one of his songs, Perfect Excuse, from his brilliant Party Crasher album, is brought into the Roxette fold. It's extremely cool to hear Marie singing the lead on this.

It's Possible appears in two forms, the first of which is a perfect little pop gem, Roxette's specialty. Though Version One of this song is the single, Version Two has a wonderful, warm tone that makes the inclusion of both a great choice.

The version of It Must Have Been Love is really gorgeous as well. Even though we've all heard that song many, many times, it's still amazing, and it's a strong album closer.

Rather than give my take on each song, I'll say this: The new songs are fantastic, and the new versions of old songs all work very well, especially Stars. Roxette isn't just one of the great singles bands; Travelling proves once again that they make excellent albums. This could have been a scattered, unfocused collection (something that could perhaps be said of Tourism, as good as that album is), but instead it is cohesive, fun, and filled with the pure joy of great friends creating beautiful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Travelling
Travelling by Roxette (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews