Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful to have on the shelf
An eclectic group of individuals - and an interesting "sound bite" on each of them. The book is clearly not intended as a major biography on the subjects - and should not be purchased as such. It's a reference work cum Hors d'oeuvre to tempt the reader, should s/he so wish, to learn more.
Published on 6 July 2012 by charlie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOO CONCISE!
These short (very short) biographies are a little too short. However, where the lesser know figures are concerned, something's better than nothing.
Published 14 months ago by TonyBinEye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful to have on the shelf, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Titans of History (Paperback)
An eclectic group of individuals - and an interesting "sound bite" on each of them. The book is clearly not intended as a major biography on the subjects - and should not be purchased as such. It's a reference work cum Hors d'oeuvre to tempt the reader, should s/he so wish, to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but informative, 30 May 2013
By 
Daniel D. Whitehead "dannyjudi" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
A lot of people and a lot of facts and anecdotes - don't treat as proper biography, but as a taster to see if you want to know more about this wide range of important people from the history of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read..., 22 Jan 2013
By 
K. Manta - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
I must say, I used to hate history back when I was at school, so I haven't kept much from all that information we were studying. However, I realised how important and interesting history can be so I decided to get back to it starting from basic stuff. This book was very good for that purpose. It has a bit of everything. For someone who doesn't know much about history (like me) it is quiet informative. It is also an easy read, without many complecated words. However, for someone who knows and and has been reading historical books for years, I think it lacks detail. It is a little bit too general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trail of history., 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Titans of History (Paperback)
A One thousand and one night in its own right with the uniqueness of displaying history events as being painted by the great and legendary humans who have paved the path to our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 Aug 2012
By 
B. M. Haworth (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic way to learn about a vast array of historical characters and events. A great taster that wheta the appetite and guides you to eras of interest and further reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Titans of History (Paperback)
This book is well worth having on your shelf for those moments where you realise you don't really know anything about a certain Mughal emperor, African dictator or English king of yesteryear. This is not an in-depth historical study, nor is it intended to be; it is a whistle-stop tour that is incredibly wide-ranging and, at times, subjective in the verdicts it delivers on historical characters. I do think that, at times, the author falls into cliche a little, ending chapters with sentences like "His life was short, but his works will live forever." But perhaps that is an almost inevitable result of trying to write about so many subjects in the one volume.

As a literature enthusiast I particularly enjoyed entries on Austen, Byron, Dickens and the Russian writers, though I felt the entry on Shakespeare was limited and predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOO CONCISE!, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
These short (very short) biographies are a little too short. However, where the lesser know figures are concerned, something's better than nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Titans of History (Paperback)
I am not an avid reader nor am I particularly fond of reading. This book is great, the information is presented in an easy to digest way. Thankfully, absent are the sentences and words that twist the tongue and perplex the mind. The best thing about this book for me is the fact that I can pick up the book and read for 30 minutes or even 10, read a bit and leave it to resume where I left at a later time without confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Jerusalem, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
I loved Jerusalem and bought this book because I thought it might match it in story-telling. I should have been warned off by the title. Does anyone really believe in Titans of history? I got a little tired of the great men idea and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titans of History (Kindle Edition)
Great introduction to history for those wanting a quick and concise entries of infamous people. Very well written and very accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titans of History
Titans of History by Simon Sebag Montefiore
£5.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews