Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent, illustrated history of philosophy.
This is an inspiring, intellectually stimulating and accessible introduction to the history of western philosophy.
The book is divided into six sections: 'The Beginning of Philosophy'; 'Greeks & Romans'; 'Religion'; 'Knowledge'; 'Modern Matters' & 'Current Concerns'. Some of the topics covered include 'The First Philosophers'; 'Cynics, Stoics and Sceptics'; 'Faith...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by Jazzrook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The story of philosophy
Interesting but rather too much of very long words. I would have liiked the cocepts to be described in simple everyday la\nguage
Published 4 months ago by ERIC HASSALL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent, illustrated history of philosophy., 23 Jun 2012
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an inspiring, intellectually stimulating and accessible introduction to the history of western philosophy.
The book is divided into six sections: 'The Beginning of Philosophy'; 'Greeks & Romans'; 'Religion'; 'Knowledge'; 'Modern Matters' & 'Current Concerns'. Some of the topics covered include 'The First Philosophers'; 'Cynics, Stoics and Sceptics'; 'Faith and Reason'; 'Renaissance and Enlightenment'; 'Idealism'; 'Nihilism and Existentialism' & 'Continental Philosophy'. The book concludes with predictions on the possible future of philosophy and suggestions for further reading.
'The Story of Philosophy' is an exciting, beautifully illustrated and clearly written guide to a fascinating subject which should appeal to the general reader as well as students of philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Philosophy: A History of Western Thought (Kindle Edition)
Very conprehensive and in Kindle format very good value. If you want to get an overview of Western Philosopny I can recommend this book most highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and enjoyable, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Philosophy: A History of Western Thought (Kindle Edition)
An excellent and very accessible introduction to philosophy, whether like me you're refreshing your memory, or are new to the subject. A solid starting point for pursuing further studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars philosophy made easy, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Philosophy: A History of Western Thought (Kindle Edition)
Well written, so that this complex subject can be absorbed quickly. Sheds light on the vagaries of social v natural science philosophical positions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The story of philosophy, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting but rather too much of very long words. I would have liiked the cocepts to be described in simple everyday la\nguage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Philosophy: A History of Western Thought (Kindle Edition)
This is the best book for someone who is interested in philosophy but finds most books on the subject frankly boring. I think most people remember stories more easily than dry text. I love this book and the illustrations are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book, but disappointed that it didn't have the fabulous pictures I'd seen in my nephew's copy. If you have such a book I would be interested to view it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews