Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The love lives of Napoleon's women
(3.5 stars)

Set in the final years of Napoleon's reign (1810-1815), this is a very female-centric, domestic novel which eschews politics for the love lives of Napoleon and his women.

Napoleon himself, now 40, divorces Josephine and takes the 19 year old Marie-Louise of Austria as his wife to provide him with a male heir. His sister, Pauline, who has...
Published on 9 July 2012 by Roman Clodia

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More froth than history
I love the period of the French Revolution and Napoleon and expected this book to be really interesting. I enjoyed Madame Tussaud quite a lot and would have liked more of the same. Alas, Michelle Moran seems to be trying to morph into Philippa Gregory and consequently I didn't really get on with the book.

It really annoys me when facts and history are explained...
Published 21 months ago by Naomi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life at Napoleon's Court, 12 Aug 2012
Set in Napoleon's court, this historical fiction novel centres around the women in his life. It starts with him deciding to divorce his first wife, Josephine, as he is keen to have heirs and continue the Bonaparte name. It is told through three narrators. The first his new wife, the 'Second Empress' and Austrian Princess, Marie-Louise. A strong and likable character, although it is clear she marries him only out of duty and to save her father from War. The second narrator is Pauline, Napoleon's sister. A very intriguing (if a bit disturbed) character! She hopes to rule Egypt one day in a marriage with her brother, much like the Egyptian Pharoahs once did. Finally, the last narrator is Pauline's Chamberlain, Paul. I found him the least interesting of the three narrators, although he did offer a 'behind-the-scenes' look at the court and showed events through a servant's perspective.

This was my first read by Michelle Moran but am keen to read others now as this was an enjoyable book and in a similar vein to Philippa Gregory. It was based on letters and documents from the time so it did feel well-researched and authentic. I also liked the fact it focused on the women, rather than long-drawn out war scenes, although it did capture Napoleon and his ambitions well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
very interesting full of information and a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
excellent as good as all her other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't book this book down after I started reading it.
Having spent lots of time actually researching the Bonaparte' s , it's nice to read something about them which isn't directly about Napoleon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical story, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
This book gave such a good insight into what was happening in Europe around the beginig of the 19th century when Napoleon was at the height of his reign and his greed for power which led to his fall, his escape from Elba to his great loss at the battle of Waterloo and his final exile on St Helena. To read the acounts and views of those who loved and admire the man to those who disliked and even hated him made it a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
An excellent way to learn about history on a very superficial level....very well written and always manages to evoke empathy for the leading protagonists...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good Michelle Moran Book, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
i muist admit i do love Michelle Morans stories and i was alittle dubious to read this as usually she writes about Eyptians but i was happily suprised.

story is very girly based and writes in the minds of Hortense, Marie-Louise and Paulina. i was entertained throughout, although not gripped and the plot was very uncomplicated and didnt hold too many twists that i wasnt already aware of with mu knowledge if history such as the battle of waterloo.

but overall i really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it if you like Alison Weit, Anne Obrien and Phillipa Greggory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
As usual Michelle Moran writes with fluid and captivating style - her characters are realistic and multi faceted, and the story gripping yet also historically accurate, in as much as fits the story. Worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patricia, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
I picked this book up in the supermarket. It appeared a light read however I was soon engrosed in the life of Napolion and his family and the young lady he was to marry,the second empress which is the bases of this book,and who the book is dedicated to.I found it an easy read but it also opened up my understanding of the characters which made up the French court in this epoch.It means I can now read more advanced books on the subject without being confused to who everone is.Apart from this it is just a good and interesting book which I really enjoyed.I gave four stars as I felt it may be a bit flimsay on evidence at times, but it did not detract in any way to my enjoyment.If you are interested in this time in history it is a great introduction as well as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The second empress, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
This was quite a good read, but would not recommend for bedtime reading as it kept me awake well into the eary hours. The context well thought out and well applicated. I look forward to many more pleasant hours of reading from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Second Empress
The Second Empress by Michelle Moran
2.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews