Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Empress by Michelle Moran
The Second Empress by Michelle Moran is the story of Napoleon the courtier rather than Napoleon the General and statesman. The book covers the period of his second marriage to Marie-Louise of Austria until his downfall after Waterloo. There are three narrators - the homesick Austrian princess Marie-Louise, the Emperor's ghastly, nymphomaniac sister Pauline, and her...
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by Carroty Nell

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More froth than history
I love the period of the French Revolution and Napoleon and expected this book to be really interesting. I enjoyed Madame Tussaud quite a lot and would have liked more of the same. Alas, Michelle Moran seems to be trying to morph into Philippa Gregory and consequently I didn't really get on with the book.

It really annoys me when facts and history are explained...
Published on 21 Nov. 2012 by Naomi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
As always from Michelle, an excellent read - very difficult to put down. I would highly recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Great read. Could not put it down.
Strong well crafted characters set against a fascinating period of history. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Second Empress, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Not knowing much about Napoleon I found this book quite interesting, realising the whole family seemed quite mad and unstable. 3 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and informative book., 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Morgan-davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on a whim not really knowing what to expect. I was surprised to find myself anxious to get back to the book and difficult to put it down.. For me symptomatic of a really good read. Great historical detail and characters you had always heard about but didn't have much knowledge of their. actual lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
i'm fascinated with history and having never learnt much about napoleon I had to buy it! in an instance you really hate this guy and feel for the woman who is being forced to marry him! The chapters are set around three points of view. The wife of the man himself, Marie-Louise, the sister of napoleon Pauline and the slave of Pauline, Paul. It doesn't take long to figure out who you feel sorry for and throughout the book you start to hope for the characters that suffer. with love letters, war and lovers in another country, it is a good read and my hopes for my favorite characters were good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Michelle Moran draws you into the story from the first page. This is a fantastic book, a real insight into the court of Napoleon, the man himself, his sisters, his wives.........If you love history then I can recommend this, and any other books by Michelle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Read, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read and my third Michelle Moran novel. I can highly recommend this author for those who like a novel based on historical presented in a readable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great historical read, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Really good read, could not put it down! I am a big historical Noval fan and this was a great change to the English history I normally read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After history lesson and enjoyable read, 23 July 2014
By 
Lisa Zettler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed every page and couldn't wait to turn over to read more ...
I would highly recommend this and all other books written by the amazing writer Michelle Moran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Empress (Kindle Edition)
very interesting full of information and a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Second Empress
The Second Empress by Michelle Moran
£4.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews