Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
I only discovered Hardy's poetry recently and I am glad I did! I have read many of his novels and diving into his poetry was wonderful as the themes, concepts and language that Hardy uses is truly magical. He has written poetry about a wide range of themes and topics which is apparent in this book. Although some poems are a little difficult to understand, a little...
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by Asma

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad
It was covered in writing and the cover was all tatty and not nice. It was not supposed to be this used.
Published 14 months ago by Dhanistha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only discovered Hardy's poetry recently and I am glad I did! I have read many of his novels and diving into his poetry was wonderful as the themes, concepts and language that Hardy uses is truly magical. He has written poetry about a wide range of themes and topics which is apparent in this book. Although some poems are a little difficult to understand, a little research soon clears up any confusion and really helps to analyse his poetry. Although a small selection it is a very good representation of Hardy's poems and to understand the autobiographical elements in his poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected reminder, 5 April 2009
Forget the costume drama image, Thomas Hardy is more than a set text novelist. His poetry is wonderful sensual language that washes through your soul. The poet gets to the heart of the mans convergence with the forces of nature so much better than a dozen hours of Kate Winslett and Leondardo di Caprio. The book costs next to nothing, the words seep through to the soul pretty much instantly. Found these poems whilst babysitting for a niece. Now I have the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Way to Start, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. David J. Gould (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Page takes us on our journey into Wessex in a very readable introduction. Although Drummer Hodge (first published as "The Dead Drummer) is well known and loved it is the observation of nature in Hardy's daily walks that are so striking...especially as Walter de la Mere says Hardy didn't notice the sky larks. His bird poems are possibly some of his best although his Snow in the town observation is sharp. In some peoples' view his poems are better than his Wessex novels which has stopped writing after the poor reception of Jude the Obscure. The last thirty years of his life he dedicated to writing poetry leaving a body of work of nearly 950 poems (947 for the pedants). He achieved this by writing each morning of his life. A wonderful selection in this little book which whetted the appetite for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardy is underrated, 7 July 2014
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
These little volumes are superb for getting your feet wet with different poets, especially the Romantics. Good size and good selection, only they're not very robust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was covered in writing and the cover was all tatty and not nice. It was not supposed to be this used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Hardy's poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews