Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Worth Reading
Armistead Maupin hit on something truly wonderful when he first started his 'Tales of the City'. First appearing in serialised form in the press it soon went on to become a book, and then a series of books.

This episode is the first novella in the series. It is 1976 and Mary Ann has gone on holiday to San Francisco. After a week there she phones her parents...
Published on 30 Mar. 2012 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the city Ep 1
makes you wanting more and happily for me there is a lot more for me to read I am hooked
Published 10 months ago by carl riordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Worth Reading, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Armistead Maupin hit on something truly wonderful when he first started his 'Tales of the City'. First appearing in serialised form in the press it soon went on to become a book, and then a series of books.

This episode is the first novella in the series. It is 1976 and Mary Ann has gone on holiday to San Francisco. After a week there she phones her parents and tells them she won't be coming home, and she is packing in her job. Taking such a big decision she stays with a friend, until she finds her own place, at 28 Barbary Lane, owned by Anna Madrigal.

In this episode you get to start meeting the other residents where Mary Ann now lives, as well as the people she works with. Why 'Tales of the City' works is because it is about people, more normal to dysfunctional, as well as showing the quirks and flaws in their characters. The characters feel like they live and breathe and the stories are interesting. If you have never read any of the 'Tales of the City' before, this is an ideal time whilst this is on promotional; you will also see why the tales have become addictive and loved by people throughout the world. With drug taking and trying to pick up a partner this is as real and as readable as it was when first published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the City, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Have been intending to read the Tales of The City series of books for some time, but finally got round to it this year.
An excellent and entertaining short read - will progress through the rest of the seies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the City, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
I truly enjoyed this. It is full of the atmosphere of the times and I'll certainly go on to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy People, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
I first watched this on T.V. I think in the 80s and loved it. A house full of eccentric but really likeable people. The books didn't disappoint, made me laugh a lot and each time I finished one couldn't wait to start the next, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I did this the wrong way round, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
hairyZA (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Watched the television adaptation some years back and always meant to get round to reading the books - how foolish was I - I rally should have started with the written word - so light, so easy to read, yet in a few pages I already want to know more and more about each character as they are introduced.
Will definitely be making my way through all these episodes and exploring more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy read., 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Recommended by friends, I found this hilarious and well written, all the characters are believable yet eccentric. There were no loose ends and I shall certainly read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 23 April 2014
By 
Mel R "MAR" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Lovely writing when I read these stories in the 80's..still true today..wonderful characters and Maupin sets the scenes so well..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
Great book,many memories of the TV series,I will most certainly be buying the rest of the series of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How have I missed this gem?, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderful story - looking forward to reading the rest.
I feel I have a new circle of really interesting friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Period piece, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the City Episode 1: Taking the Plunge (Kindle Edition)
I first read
Tales of the city before AIDS had taken hold of the gay community. I loved it for its witty take on the bohemian way of life. Reading it today is tinged with sadness because one is aware of the devestating plague which is about to overtake this community. Nevertheless it is still an amusing and good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews