Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tv with a touch of class
the human jungle,this series simply oozes class,from the very word go,the theme music to the human jungle is by the late great john barry,it is at this point we know we are in for something special.we are in a dark room lit only by a door being opened by the entrance of our star herbert lom,the light from the hallway guides his path towards his desk where he sits down...
Published on 6 April 2012 by Wayne Allen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet
Good series but quite expensive and had forgotten that each programme was only 40 minutes long. Still good viewing though.
Published 10 months ago by Karen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tv with a touch of class, 6 April 2012
By 
Wayne Allen (wa uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
the human jungle,this series simply oozes class,from the very word go,the theme music to the human jungle is by the late great john barry,it is at this point we know we are in for something special.we are in a dark room lit only by a door being opened by the entrance of our star herbert lom,the light from the hallway guides his path towards his desk where he sits down opens a desk drawer to reveal a tape recorder that he switches on to relax and listen to one of his latest cases,we then go back in time to the begining of the story,herbert lom as usual gives a very good performance as dr roger corder,a psychiatrist that pulls apart case histories and puts all the bits together again.dont be put off by the fact that it is about a psychiatrist and his patients,it much more than that,dr corder is more like a detective, searching,probing,analizing,and also being a father with the concerns of bringing up his daughter now that he has lost his wife,this brilliant series was made in the days when writers could come up with good ideas,and the only police you ever saw was "dixon of dock green".if you want a touch of class,a little something diffrent,you wont be disapointed,oh!and that theme tune...its to die for!.this series boasts some fine acting from the likes of joan collins,rita tushingham,alfred burke and many more.enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique 60s drama - excellent, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Dubuary "kjdp" (St. Peters, Jersey, C.I. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I have been waiting for the DVD to be released ever since it was announced months ago. The visual quality of the black and white series and the sound quality are excellent. According to the credits the music was composed by Bernard Ebbinghouse and played by the John Barry orchestra with unmistakeable John Barry arrangement - theme is perfect for the subject. I, too remember being fascinated by this series at the age of 11 although I could not remember any particular story lines but the Dr Corder character and his analytical insight left a great impression on me all my life. Then, as a child I thought that was how a psychiatrist worked. Now, I see that Dr. Corder is as much detective as psychiatrist; foot slogging and making enquiries with those associated with patients.

Each episode focuses on the emotional behaviour and psychology of the patient and often other main characters. Corder gets to the bottom of the cause, explains it all and everyone lives happily ever after. I haven't watched them all yet but haven't seen him prescribe a single pill so far. There is inevitably some dramatic licence and, perhaps, simplification of psychiatric concepts, but this drama series is unique in its probing into human behaviour in this way. I was going to say "way ahead of its time" but actually it is of its time - they just couldn't make programs like this any more; way too sophisticated.

In addition to the architecture, decor and external shots showing cars etc. it's also interesting to note the "class" differences portrayed. The deference, "Mr." this, "Mrs" that, frequently, almost excessively, addressing people as "sir" to concede seniority. Also how accents have changed and that in British Culture accents then, as they do to a lesser extent now, mark "rank" and "credibility." Did people then really speak to each other like that? I was too young to notice at the time.

I am not sure how a modern viewer will respond but to me this is a classic series and I am so glad it has been preserved. Pure gold. Herbert Lom is perfect in the role which to me was his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent TV nostalgia, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I recall liking this series in the 60's, but couldn't remember any details. Now I know why I liked it. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to recall those black and white days with these stories about a psychiatrist (played superbly by Herbert Lom) who has to help patients who exhibit strange behavioural symptoms. Each episode is about one specific case, fictional but based loosely on real-life cases. The stories are interesting in themselves, but also reveal the social conditions of the time - very middle class settings, constant smoking, the parties, and oh the dancing!

The video quality is very good, and that haunting theme tune is just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE FINEST SERIES EVER MADE., 30 Jun 2012
By 
W. Lomas "wombat" (Farnworth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I have waited for this BRILLIANT series to arrive on DVD. Finally its here. HERBERT LOM WAS SIMPLY SUPERB. and a great John Barry score. GREAT....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Good series but quite expensive and had forgotten that each programme was only 40 minutes long. Still good viewing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY BRITISH DRAMA SERIES, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Very entertaining, quality British drama series starring Herbert Lom as a Harley Street Psychiatrist. It stands the test of time very well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic TV at it's best, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I remember watching this back in the 80's when it was repeated. I loved it then. I have just watched an episode featuring Joan Collins on youtube and it's still great viewing. Can't wait for this to be released. This is great TV at it's best, much better than the endless american tripe we seem to be subjected to these days which doesn't protray life as it really is!

I have already placed my pre-order for this and look forward to watching the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HUMAN JUNGLE, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
At last,it's arrived.I remember watching this as a 10 year old with my dear Mum in 1963.It made a lasting impression on me.They showed 1 episode on the TV around 15 years ago(Joan Collins was in it)and it was still outstanding.Years ahead of it's time,I shall be buying it upon release in October.Fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Dated But Very Watchable Series From the 1960s, 5 Dec 2012
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I recall watching this remarkable series when it was first transmitted on Saturday nights during 1963 and 1964. Only 26 episodes were made and every episode is included in this box set which contains 7 discs and a booklet outlining the plot of every episode, guest stars, and general info on where scenes were filmed etc.

Watching them again after so many years, it did bring back memories, especially of a few episodes which have stayed in the memory because they were so good. I must admit, there were some I could not recall, perhaps they were forgettable, hardly anything happening in the story, a little dull maybe. This does happen in long running series, you get some very good episodes and a few duff ones.

The best episodes for me, and the most memorable are:

Struggle for a Mind (this is a classic, perhaps the best of the entire series, starring Joan Collins); The Flip Side Man (Jess Conrad); The Lost Hours (Leonard Sachs); 14 Ghosts (Andre Morell); A Woman With Scars (Jeanne Moody); and Time-Check(Melvyn Hayes)

Amongst the worse are:

The Man Who Fell Apart (Rita Tushingham) this is particularly boring; A Friend of The Sergeant Major (Alfred Burke) a rather pointless episode; Over and Out (Eddie Byrne) another pointless episode.

The rest are more than adequate with many guest stars appearing such as a very young Francesca Annis (Wild Goose Chase); Sylvia Syms (Success Machine); and Dame Flora Robson (Conscience on a Rack).

Picture quality for all episodes is rather good, with decent sound, albeit in stereo. There is a gallery presentation on Disc 7. There are no other extras available on the discs, but there is plenty of reading in the 39 page booklet which accompanies the discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best 60's t.v programmes, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
herbert lom at his best as dr roger corder
haven't seen series since first shown on t.v
worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Human Jungle - The Complete Series [DVD] [1963]
21.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews