Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attempt to Kill
Picture quality is excellent, and sound is good. Would rate five stars but for below.

Pleased to have this set (and the Volume One set), but the 3rd entry on Disc One has its film reels out of order.

I'm hoping Network DVD will rectify matters for future customers - and that they will, in due course, replace the faulty discs of those (like me) who...
Published on 5 Aug 2012 by David Blake

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the THIRD story!
Like other reviwers I have thoroughly enjoyed the series but am bitterly disappointed that the story 'ATTEMPT TO KILL' has been transferred to DVD with the original film reels OUT OF SEQUENCE making the story impossible to follow.

I have tried to return it for a REPLACEMENT and am even more disappointed to see that Amazon can only offer a REFUND as this 2nd...
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Jayne Haigh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attempt to Kill, 5 Aug 2012
By 
David Blake (Basingstoke, Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Picture quality is excellent, and sound is good. Would rate five stars but for below.

Pleased to have this set (and the Volume One set), but the 3rd entry on Disc One has its film reels out of order.

I'm hoping Network DVD will rectify matters for future customers - and that they will, in due course, replace the faulty discs of those (like me) who have already bought.

In the meantime, be warned.

Follow-up (as indicated in one of the comments below):

E-mail from Network says "Yes, the issue has been flagged to us on Friday and we are investigating.
We will have a replacement disc to you shortly, so please advise us on your postal address and we will send this out when this is available."

2nd follow-up - I've just received the replacement disc, with the errors put right. So, as long as the Amazon stock have been similarly updated, everything should now be OK. (I've up-rated my review to five stars on this basis.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More excellent prints, 31 July 2012
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
With confidence in Network to deliver the goods I pre-ordered volumes one & two of this title at the same time. After past disappointments it was great to discover that both volumes are the real deal. As with vol 1, the black & white prints used for this release are excellent, with good sound quality. These B-movie support features from the early 1960's have acquired a bit of a cult status over the years. I cannot remember exactly when these mystery/crime dramas were last broadcast on terrestrial TV but it must be around 30 years ago, and even then they had a great nostalgic feel to them. Back then I had no idea that so many shared my enthusiasm for them. Penned by prolific thriller writer Edgar Wallace, with each movie clocking in at a little under the hour mark, the stories are often suspenseful & have a pleasing noir feel, along with a wonderfully dated appearance. The storytelling, the styles, all the ingredients emphasise the era in which these quality vintage crime dramas (produced at Merton Park studios) were made, and are a very entertaining way to escape into another world. A decent sprinkling of familiar faces (see below) put in good performances. With the picture quality of this release, fans of the genre can buy with confidence.

Among the extras is a bonus film made by Independent Artists Ltd - "The White Trap"...a thriller which was made around the same time as this collection. There are no subtitles.

***SPECIAL FEATURES***
*The White Trap (see details below).
*Illustrated 11-page booklet by author & critic Kim Newman.
*Image gallery.
*PDF material.

As with vol 1, the 3 discs are stored in a single-size DVD case which features an episode synopsis on the inside, which is as follows....

***DISC ONE***
*MAN AT THE CARLTON TOWER...Lew Daney, chief suspect in a jewel robbery and an ensuing murder, vanishes leaving no trace. Hot on his trail are two men - an ex-policeman and Daney's ex-partner in crime...
Starring Maxine Audley, Lee Montague, Alfred Burke and Terence Alexander. Directed by Robert Tronson.

*CLUE OF THE SILVER KEY...The murder of wealthy money-lender Harvey Lane was perhaps no great loss to his business associates, but to Superintendent Meredith of Scotland Yard it was a case of murder.
Starring Bernard Lee, Lyndon Brook, Finlay Currie, Jennifer Daniel and Patrick Cargill. Directed by Gerard Glaister.

*ATTEMPT TO KILL...An attempt is made on the life of Frank Weyman. Two suspects emerge - one is his estranged wife and the other is his employee.
Starring Derek Farr, Tony Wright and Richard Pearson. Directed by Royston Morley.

***DISC TWO***
*MAN DETAINED...A burglary is discovered at the offices of a photographic company, and the owner seems anxious to hush up the theft. His secretary, however, believes something to be terribly wrong...
Starring Bernard Archard, Elvi Hale, Paul Stassino and Michael Coles. Directed by Robert Tronson.

*NEVER BACK LOSERS...An insurance investigator tackles a vicious gambling ring.
Starring Jack Hedley, Jacqueline Ellis, Patrick Magee and Derek Francis. Directed by Robert Tronson.

*THE SINISTER MAN...Superintendent Wills investigates the theft of some mysterious oriental tablets. When a body is dragged from the Thames, the victim's violent demise is attributed to someone with martial arts skills.
Starring John Bentley, Patrick Allen and Jacqueline Ellis. Directed by Clive Donner.

***DISC THREE***
*BACKFIRE!...Venetia Beauty Preparations is a symbol of success in the thriving cosmetics industry. Housed in a modern luxurious factory with a large staff, everything points to prosperity - or so it seems!
Starring Alfred Burke, Zena Marshall and Oliver Johnston. Directed by Paul Almond.

*SPECIAL FEATURE - THE WHITE TRAP...Paul Langley has racked up a number of unsuccessful escape attempts from prison, but now his wife is pregnant and frightened he makes one last effort to reach her.
Starring Lee Patterson, Conrad Phillips and Michael Goodliffe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B MOVIES AT THEIR BEST., 4 April 2012
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
At last, the long awaited Edgar Wallace films get their offical release in July.
It was the 1960s, I became a cinema projectionist at The Embassy Cinema in Tenterden Kent. I always had a soft spot for this much loved mystery drama series.
Feature films running over two hours were often accompanied by a short feature, or better still, a B Movie of around 60 minutes. Edgar Wallace films were often better than the main film. Their small budget looked impressive on the big screen.
Who could forget the Anglo Amalgamated logo at the start of the film, followed by The Shaddows (Man of Mystery) Two versions were used, I prefered the presto version, which became a hit for the Shaddows.
In the past, we made do with old sattelite programme recordings that were below average in sound and picture quality
I welcome the release of all 47 films over the coming months. They will sit proudly with my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another five-star set - once you've got the corrected disc, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. P. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I bought this set along with Volume One, and when I found the fault on Attempt to Kill I e-mailed Network describing the problem. Today, just over a week later, I've received a corrected disc. With that fixed, everything's fine. For me, highlights of this volume are "Never Back Losers", with Patrick Magee and Jack Hedley on opposite sides of the law, "The Sinister Man", with a much-seen British character actor as a deadly karate expert, and yes, "Attempt to Kill", once you've got the reels sorted out! Also the extra film, "The White Trap", is a previously undiscovered gem. Can't wait for Volumes Three and Four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the THIRD story!, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Like other reviwers I have thoroughly enjoyed the series but am bitterly disappointed that the story 'ATTEMPT TO KILL' has been transferred to DVD with the original film reels OUT OF SEQUENCE making the story impossible to follow.

I have tried to return it for a REPLACEMENT and am even more disappointed to see that Amazon can only offer a REFUND as this 2nd series is no longer is stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Little Films, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Paul Barrett (PENARTH, VALE OF GLAMORGAN, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
This package takes me back to a thousand cinema nights. A thousand 'A' movies and these terrific liffle films.
Nobody swears everyone smokes and enjoyment guaranteed. And if you like these kind of films.You's love these Edgar Wallace sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the stories !, 29 Dec 2012
By 
L. P. Stamp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Again am trying to get all of these and just love the stories now and the first time around ! Just love crime stories and these do not disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When England made good films, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
This was an age when films did not have to have messages, they were just made to give entertainment to the public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At long last the entire Merton Park Edgar Wallace on DVD..., 1 Nov 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
It is wonderful to have all the Merton Park Edgar Wallace fims in such clear picture quality. It is however a pity the sound on many is not as good as it should have been, low volume & minor voice distortion. Not sure if any restoration had been attempted. These MP films should prove that quality can be produced on a budget and the sets alone stand out as outstanding throughout the run. Screenplays are well written and nicely paced. Many well known actors and directors brought these films to the cinema screen. Look out for John Moxey and Robert Tronson as director and you are getting top results.
What a lost opportunity the 7 booklets are as we learn very little about the actual making of the films and valuable space is taken up with tiny images & there are many errors in the text and even wrong photographs used for at least one film. I hope Network will correct this for the box set.
All that said this is still a unique set and a must have for any collector of British films as it depicts life through the eyes of film makers of the 1960s. As Jack Greenwood told me "we did our best" and I agree. Watch them and you will see how well they have been made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Wallace, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
These are a brilliant collection of Edgar Wallace works really entertaining am collecting the series on a monthly basis they still have good story line after all these years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 2 [DVD] [1961]
£10.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews