Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Having just finished this book I am amazed at the conditions that arise through deficiency of this vitamin. I have started taking Niacin daily to improve my cholesterol ratios but have noticed improvements already in the healing benefits of this miraculous little substance. My husband is taking it too after sustaining quite a bad injury at sports and is noticing a marked...
Published on 12 Mar. 2013 by PJC

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book should be withdrawn from sale.
On taking the advice of this book - large doses of niacin in the quantity exactly advised in this book, one of my friends was rushed to hospital in an ambulance. The individual spent a week in hospital and is now disabled for life. What this book does not warn about is the risk of developing hypophosphatemia and rhabdomyolisis as a result of taking large doses of niacin...
Published 11 months ago by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just finished this book I am amazed at the conditions that arise through deficiency of this vitamin. I have started taking Niacin daily to improve my cholesterol ratios but have noticed improvements already in the healing benefits of this miraculous little substance. My husband is taking it too after sustaining quite a bad injury at sports and is noticing a marked improvement in healing time for his injuries.

However Niaicn is just one compound that must be taken as part of the 'whole' suite to keep us healthy, therefore aside from a good multivitamin daily you should read up on Magnesium by Mark Sircus, Vit D3 by Jeff bowles, Iodine, Sodium Bicarbonate and start adding these to your regime amongst others. In these you will realise just how BIG big pharma has got and how how little control we have over our own health. Fluoride is a case in point..............but I digress.

Buy this book and realise your way to much better health and an awareness of the world of medicine. Prepare to be shocked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars half of us need mega doses of niacin (vitamin B3), 9 Jan. 2014
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Basic pellagra, niacin (vitamin B3) deficiency, was eradicated last century but it turns out we are suffering advanced pellagra in our millions, perhaps billions. Huge doses of niacin cures the more dreadful symptoms of advanced pellagra: dermatitis, psychosis, dementia, diarrhea and heart enlargement.

Mega-doses also have been shown to cure TB, arthritis, addictions, various skin diseases, cardiovascular disease, coronary disease, stroke disorders and kidney disease. Dementia (schizophrenia/bipolar/psychosis/a large variety of psychiatric syndromes) is helped - even severely mentally ill people get well on [mega-dose] vitamin B3. Also Meniere's syndrome and high-tone deafness are helped as well as a whole range of other problems, including Alzheimer's and PTSD.

High-dose niacin also increases gastric acidity, which is a good thing. Even though many of us take antacids, the older/iller we get, the less stomach acid we can make actually: the symptoms of low or high stomach acid are the same.

For the anxious, or hyperactive types and those with lack of focus, high-dose niacin causes a pleasant calmative effect and is an excellent antidepressant. It is a systemic therapeutic agent. It measurably improves joint mobility, muscle strength, decreases fatigability and increases maximal muscle working capacity.

There's a fascinating part that explains how schizophrenia and pellagra are clinically the same - they differ only in that pellagra needs small doses in most cases and schizophrenia needs large doses in most cases. Schizophrenia patients, before they become sick and after they recover, have many physical and psychological advantages over the population lacking their schizo genes, including being less likely to get cancer. Schizophrenics are apparently more creative and enterprising; they tend to see relationships in the world that the rest of us do not see (like taking LSD); and have an evolutionary advantage but need lots of B3. TB apparently increases susceptibility towards schizophrenia.

It's worth knowing that excess niacin (B3) is metabolised by methylation and thus uses up methyl groups. So, if you don't do well with high-dose niacin supplements, you may be an under-methylator (45% of us are), meaning deficient, and would benefit from supplements containing taurine, GABA [both precursors to methyl activity in the brain], folate/B9 (NOT folic acid, a synthetic B9 that can cause cancer) B12, B6, DMG, TMG (and SAMe). If you are an over-methylator (that's 15% of us), meaning you have extra, then B3 is good because it uses them up.

The book has some great phrases and paragraphs:

Niacin is without a doubt a powerful detoxifying agent. The body seems to need proportionally more niacin than the other B vitamins. Niacin is not a true vitamin the strictest sense of the term since it can be produced in the body but it's an inefficient process.

Nutritional therapy is inexpensive, effective and, most important, safe. There is not even one death per year from vitamins. (By contrast, doctor death is fast overtaking the current leading causes of death.)

When dealing with vitamins, taking more than the optimum requirement is not harmful unless enormous doses are taken. This is in striking contrast with pharmaceutical drugs, where taking too much is much more harmful than taking too little. Just the opposite is true with vitamins. Taking too little is more harmful than taking too much - again within reason.

The key to niacin therapy are quantity, frequency and duration. You need to take enough, take it frequently and take it long enough to see benefit (in some cases, several years). The quantity of a nutritional supplement required to cure an illness indicates the patient's degree of deficiency. It is therefore not a megadose of the vitamin but rather a megadeficiency of the nutrient.

The number-one side effect of vitamins is failure to take enough of them. With vitamin therapy speed of recovery is proportional to the dosage given. Just as there is a certain, large amount of fuel needed to launch an aircraft or a spacecraft, there is a certain, large amount of nutrients needed to cure a sick body.

With vitamin therapy, speed of recovery is in proportion to dosage used. Much less is needed for prevention. Genetic disease in babies has been cured by giving them vitamins. IQ is proportional to nutrient dosage.

The difference between deficiency and dependency is explained by an example: pellagra (which needs small doses) is a deficiency and schizophrenia (and other problems needing high doses) is a dependency.

Amounts to take, the famous niacin flush and what it means and antidotes, the different types of B3, overdose symptoms (nausea, then vomiting) and side effects (most are positive), toxicity (has never been reached, not even at 40,000mg daily), various myths, the cluelessness of many doctors, and the fact that there has never been a single death due to niacin are all covered.

Side effects that may occur with really high doses of niacin are partly or largely offset by taking large doses of vitamin C (as ascorbic acid) - at least as much C as niacin. More C works even better. Side effects of niacin are specific to the patient's prior conditions and to the dose. (Further, vitamin C is an effective and nearly all-purpose antitoxin, antibiotic and antiviral.)

In "Hospitals and Health" it is explained that doctors frequently give patients 2,000-5,000mg of niacin to lower serum cholesterol and that Dr Hoffer estimated that over about 200,000mg per day could be fatal (this is a huge level that no one has been known to take). People with a history of heavy alcohol use, liver disorders, diabetes or pregnancy need to have a knowledgeable physician monitor their use of high-dose niacin. Negative side effects of high-dose niacin may be minimised with high-dose vitamin C, as they may be a result of low antioxidant status. Positive side effects include better general health, improved healing and prolonged higher quality of life.

Amazon reader Rachael Jean wrote a great comment to one of my other reviews which is relevant to this one. Partly paraphrasing her, she explained: I strongly believe that niacin deficiency, which shares its symptoms with thiamine deficiency, is a direct RESULT of thiamine deficiency. Both are triggered by food poisoning and too much sugar in the diet and both are helped by removing carbohydrates and eating plenty of red meats, especially organ meats (liver, kidneys, heart, brains etc).

Bacterial overgrowth in the small intestine and urinary tract system cause a thiamine [and niacin] deficiency. The bacteria produce an enzyme called thiaminase which depletes thiamine from the body. Part of the reason for overgrowth is low stomach acid. Thiamine deficiency also appears to be a cause for low stomach acid (which I found out myself through random searches on the internet not through any book) so things get worse.

The problem is, you can remedy low stomach acid with thiamine HCL but it won't completely resolve until the infection of the small intestine is completely cleared up, which is not easy [D&D note: partly because an adrenal deficiency - which is the most common problem today - can create weak sphincters. A weak sphincter between the small and large intestines allows fecal matter from the large intestine to ooze back into the small intestine, continually infecting it. "Stop The Thyroid Madness" has the 2 best chapters on adrenal deficiency I've come across, because half of those with low thyroid also have adrenal issues.]

Thiamine also regulates and metabolises blood glucose and is what primarily causes hydrochloric acid in the stomach, regulating digestive juices of the stomach acid and bile from the liver and rhythms of the small intestines. Consuming more than 3 tsp of sugar a day will deplete your body of thiamine in less than 2 weeks because thiamine is stored in the body in limited quantities, mainly in the brain, heart, liver and kidneys. ...

I am using these supplements to (successfully) treat my husband's heart failure: 500 mg thiamine HCL 2x a day, 500 mg SCHIFF brand inositol hexiniacinate 2x a day (other brands caused liver inflammation), 12.5 mg of iodoral (iodine) 2x a day, B6 100 mg 2x a day, and 400 mg of magnesium oxide 1x a day. [D&D note: the niacin book advises taking at least as much vitamin C as the niacin/thiamine supplements]

[Later note: see my review on "Supplements Exposed" by Clement about the dangers of most vitamins, which are synthetic. My research failed to find any natural vitamins made by a UK company. Anyone who knows of such companies please add a comment.

In the meantime, "The Calcium Lie II" an intriguing book plausibly claiming to explain the root cause of most illnesses suggests stablilised rice bran as a good source of natural niacin/B3. High doses may be useful at the start of recovery, as a temporary measure but the body does not need megadoses of natural supplements as it knows what to do with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niacin: The Real Story (Kindle Edition)
For anyone who prefers natural methods to help prevent, control and cure themselves of a range of conditions in which Niacin plays a part. The book explains the importance of Niacin to the human body and then goes through all the main groups of medical conditions that Niacin can help, either on its own or in combination with other vitamins and supplements. I found it an easy and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and informative, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good read. Short, concise and informative. I use niacin regularly and I can say without a doubt that it definitely improves your health and well-being. I wanted to learn more so that's why I bought this book. What I really like about this book is that it gets straight to the point and it provides various protocols for treating specific conditions. A little repetitive at times but my wife tells me I am the same so who am I to complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
K. DAY (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niacin: The Real Story (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant book. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.I would give it 6 stars. Anyone interested in improving their health should read this book. Full of facts, easy to read, nothing too complicated to understand. You will not be disappointed. Pity medical doctors are not taught the stuff this books contains, because there would be a lot less sick people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative book about an amazing vitamin, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niacin: The Real Story (Kindle Edition)
For me, Niacin has been a miracle cure, for both arthritis and depression. This book is a testament to the author's determination to bring this subject to the attention of the general public as well as a hugely informative book on the subject. It's well written and easy to read. I would heartily recommend both Niacin and this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and convincing!, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niacin: The Real Story (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book from cover to cover after Dr Saul's appearance in Food Matters documentary. Although it is not the easiest reading (there are lots of repetitions, medical terms and data which might be of importance to other readers of course), it convinced me to start on vitamin therapy as opposed to antidepressants and other drugs to fight depression, anxiety, mood swings and fatigue. The results of numerous studies discussed in the book are convincing, and I'm very grateful to Dr Saul and his colleagues for making this invaluable information to us all. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing. Very well-timed for me., 3 Sept. 2014
By 
M. W. Ellwood "mwellwood" (Abingdon, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book has some imperfections, but I'm still giving it 5 stars. There is some repetition, but that's not such a bad thing. It could possibly have used some better editing. But considering the age of two of the authors (and that it is a multiple-authored book, which is difficult to pull off smoothly), I'll let that pass.

I could have done with some more detail on some of the less-highlighted conditions for which niacin has proved useful, and perhaps this reflects again the age of the authors, and that they wanted to get the book finished while they still had time!

I was looking for advice such as that given in this book for some particular problems, and finding this book now is good timing.

I'm also looking at "Forbidden Healing" by Captain Randall, which talks about a lot of things, but one of the main things is megadose vitamin C, which should work well with niacin (and normal doses of the other B vitamins), not to mention of course a good (non junk) diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every-one, just EVERY-ONE should read about these vitamins., 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niacin: The Real Story (Kindle Edition)
I have recommended B complex for many years to all my family and friends. Have only just realised how little Niacin is in B complex though. I wish I had known this years ago. A relative of mine suffered with Schizophrenia, she did take B Complex but obviously not enough. The doctors recommended Frontal Lobotomy, Thank God I didn't agree. And to think she could have been cured with Niacin !!!!! How sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I greatly admire Dr Hoffer anyway and this was written at the very end of his life - he wanted us to gain all we could from his work and this book is clear, succinct and very readable. Also totally convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Niacin: The Real Story
Niacin: The Real Story by Harold D. Foster
£7.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews