Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


274 of 282 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINAL impressions...excellent. with caveat
As other reviewers have said, the unit is smaller than expected. Unlike other lights I looked at (online and at B&Q), it is very well constructed; has a premium feel to it with quality aluminium rather than the black plastic of all the others. It arrived at 3pm on a sunny day in October, so it only had 3 hours of low sun for its first charge. At dusk the low light came...
Published 24 months ago by RAJ

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that good
this maybe a great light if you live in a country where the sun shines all the time. It faill to light up more times than it lights. so not much good for an entrance light, which it was bought for. Can not recommend this to anyone who lives in the UK
Published 21 months ago by David Oates


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

274 of 282 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINAL impressions...excellent. with caveat, 8 Oct 2012
By 
RAJ (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
As other reviewers have said, the unit is smaller than expected. Unlike other lights I looked at (online and at B&Q), it is very well constructed; has a premium feel to it with quality aluminium rather than the black plastic of all the others. It arrived at 3pm on a sunny day in October, so it only had 3 hours of low sun for its first charge. At dusk the low light came on and I was astonished how bright the LED's are when the PIR is triggered. It exactly provides what I was looking for - a solar powered automatic unit that lights up up a dark area next to my garage and bins. It has been up for 2 nights, and 3 gloomy days and the light seems to be bright and operational until dawn (I can't be sure unless I wake at at 5am just to check it!), but was working very well right through to midnight or so. At first I was not sure I wanted the 'low light' on permanently in the dark, but in fact, I think it is quite good, but does I assume drain the battery. It looks so good I am tempted to buy a second for the house front, where the modern style of the fitting exactly fits the house. Only time will tell if the unit is waterproof and charges enough over the dark winter months. I will try to post an update in a few months.

But first impressions are excellent - well made, stylish, premium feel, easy to fit and operate ("fit and forget"), and a remarkably bright light.

Update: Still working well, despite less and less sunlight for charging. I angled at 45 degrees as this works better for where I need the light to shine and how the PIR triggers; also has benefit, I suppose, of giving a better angle for charging, and encourages water to run off than collect on the top of the unit. It remains on its low light setting from dusk (about 7pm now) to dawn (about 6:30 am). Still impressed.

Update 2: Very gloomy November days....not enough sunlight to charge the unit so it has been non functioning for a few days. Will be interested to see if a sunny winter day will charge it. Worth keeping in mind this limitation.

Update 3: By January I can now see that the light is unlikely to charge properly in the winter months. I only get light (and then until say 8 pm) if it has been a very sunny day. Gloomy days in mid winter will not charge it. For most users this will be an effective light source for no more than 8 months of the year.

Final Update: The council installed a lamppost so I no longer needed the light where it was. I moved it to the front of house - where it gets sunlight (such as it is) even in the winter. Now it works all through the night even during dark November days. Impressive given how little daylight there is. Still angled at 45 degrees so that rain runs off. It does even better as a light for the front door area - on all the time after dark and brightens as soon as the PIR triggered (even when I just open the front door). Literally brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice bright unit., 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
This little unit gives off a good amount of light when activated. The two levels of light - dim and bright (when activated via sensor) are great. I bought this as a test unit to see if I would invest in more units - so far I have no problems and will buy more units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super light from a small unit, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
lasts all night. great light for its the garden. great for places with no power and charges even in low light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that good, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
this maybe a great light if you live in a country where the sun shines all the time. It faill to light up more times than it lights. so not much good for an entrance light, which it was bought for. Can not recommend this to anyone who lives in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reliability, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
easy to install and had it set up on the shed to light the door , worked great for the first week then stopped working for the following three days so packed it back up and sent it back!regards Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
I got this for my Mum. At first it worked ok,(a month) but I only just got told that it has not been working at all. To late for a refund!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great light, 25 Nov 2012
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this from another source and I am thoroughly satisfied. I waited about a week before I even opened the package. I was skeptical. I bought a different set of motion sensitive batter operated lights that have "issues."

This light is high quality and beautiful in design. The only area I can see where someone may have a problem is that you have to insert the "key" into the left hole. The words (on/off) are printed on the light. To activate the light you must insert the key into the tiny on hole. To stop the motion from being detected, I assume you insert the key in the off hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was hoping, 9 Jan 2013
By 
C. Marney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
This light is mostly dark! Although I have it in good daylight it does not gain the power to work through the evening. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value product, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
Well designed - unobtrusive but bought at start of winter and sometimes there is not enough sunlight to charge it up fully so it comes on when you go out but has no charge left when you come home. Apart from that, very easy to fit (although no fixings or reset pin were supplied despite description/instructions stating they were). Once hubby found something to use to get it out of 'postage' mode it worked fine. Neat little light - bright enough for us so considering one for the back door too. Overall very pleased - no wiring needed and a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EFFECTIVE WHEN SUN IS AROUND, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Sachin Arora (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostfire 16 Bright LED Wireless Solar Powered Motion Sensor Light (Weatherproof, no batteries required) (Garden & Outdoors)
Brightens up nicely when it has had a good charge on a sunny day. Will recommend it any day over other similar models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews