Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2013
I work in UX and have done for over 15 years. This book attempt to summarise what is meant by 'Lean UX' and how it can be done. It manages to offer a view but is too sketch and patchy to be a definitive guide.

In a nut shell it was a rebranding of the practices I had taken part in for many years, but with a few new additions to bring the ideas up to date and inline with ideas like Agile and Lean Start Up. In a nut shell the book does not invent but rediscovers ideas. For example the close working of teams has been around since I've been working, with War Rooms bringing together developers, stakeholders and designers into a seamless team. The idea of hypothesis then test is also something that has been around in areas of product design and design in general for a long time. Ideas like using style guides that everyone can access have also been in place for the time I've been working, often evolving from brand guidelines. I was lucky enough to work with Disney in my early career and was always amazed at the style guides they had for their films.

Where the book is weakest is when it tries to tie too much into lean Start up. There are many things about lean start up that are developer orientated, much like Agile. One area it is weak is in the creation of concepts prior to focusing upon actual interfaces - that is testing out the whole idea of something and getting that right before delving into detail. Lean Start Up and Agile use an evolutionary model to improve the product, but the final destination of the product is dependent on the starting point - and that is where the book is weak. It labels the starting point as 'assumptions' and places research squarely after something has been built. Research during the project is fine but it does not indicate how projects start. The wrong starting point can mean that the evolutionary path never finds a good ultimate ending point, for more on this see the concept of fitness landscapes, it's possible for any project to get stuck on a low mountain if it starts on the wrong point on the landscape.

It does remain a good summation of many ideas that UX people have been using for a long time and whilst it does over state some ideas and is unclear about others it is still a book worth reading, if only to allow a continued conversation about how UX works in different environments. Ultimately there are too many no so good ideas (like Proto Personas) amongst the good ideas for me to see this as being the ultimate book on how to keep user experience light, quick and effective.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
This is a great book, and a lot of it is what the industry needs to really break out of the constraints of the old Waterfall type processes.

One word of warning: you might not want to buy this for the Kindle. The book has quite a few diagrams, designs and photos, which aren't really readable on a small e-ink screen.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I'm a UX professional and have recently been trying to learn about how to use lean processes.

This book is a really good guide to lean UX, introducing it and giving practical tips. The book is also full of real world case studies, which really helped me to understand the advantages of lean.

The book benefits from being only about 120 pages, as it's a quick read I found it easy to become really engaged in the content
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Not only good theory, but also real world examples how the author puts theory into practice.

Buzzwords are all fine, we've all heard about the awesome LEAN-model (and maybe claim to use some of it?). This book was my first serious attempt to understand how Lean and UX would fit together. I got the picture and more important - guides how to start implementing it where I work!

I'll keep this book and return to it when I have my own experiences of working truly by the LEAN-process, reading selected parts. This is one of my most highlighted books in my ePub reader :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Lean UX is a compelling case study that offers the foundational thinking behind, and the practical argument for a shift to Lean UX.
This book is best suited for individuals who are already familiar with and have some experience with Lean methodologies. You won't get lost in any of the concepts if you have no experience in the space-- just the argument for and the nuts and bolts of putting it to use may appear weak if you don't have a stronger foundation.

Lean UX is a wicked problem. The author doesn't offer it here as a wicked problem but as you conclude the book you can't help but reach that conclusion. The only way to develop and implement a Lean UX system that works is to implement it wrong and cultivate enough political capital to earn the right to implement it 'right' over a sustained period of time.

Jeff does a good job here providing a best first answer to many of these problems. But just as there is no one size fits all agile approach and agile is best when you're not dogmatic about it, so to is lean UX. Lean UX is a response to a business and software development environment where closer integration and iteration are the key currency of the day.

I recommend this book as a contributor to anyone who is looking to learn about Lean UX and apply the principles in their work. But I would strongly encourage you to read this topic from multiple angles, including the software development angle.

Jeff borrows aggressively from Lean Startup thinking but I think that does a disservice, I think the principles of Lean UX extend far beyond the Lean Startup philosophy. One area I believe I will continue to refer to is Jeff's summary on how to integrate user research into the design process.

Over the next year, I suspect the volume of books on Lean UX to increase in volumes. I don't suppose this book will standout in a larger collection of books on the topic of agile UX.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Jeff Gothelf and Josh Seiden write in such a friendly, yet knowledgeable and trustworthy way with the use of case studies, anecdotes, diagrams, drawings and thorough explanations of Lean UX and how to start incorporating it into your workflow.
The language is simple and friendly enough for me as something of a beginner in this area to grasp and the author gives excellent examples within every Lean UX principle showing both "what it is" and "why do it".

I could not for the life of me stop highlighting quotes and even full paragraphs of this book in order to re-read them and have a go at implementing some of the things I've learnt.
I highly recommend it to anyone within a company who has a desire to become more efficient in UX design and propel their productivity by challenging themselves and their colleagues to dive into and utilise Lean principles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
a really well thought out and validated book, with actionable ideas for any tech workplace. As a Business Analyst, I need a core understanding in UX though not my primary function, and this book has been a valuable resource.

Recommend!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Great little book, that quickly illustrates a lean ux model with plenty of workable examples. Make sure to read Eric Reis' lean startup first, as while most of the relevant concepts are described in Lean Ux you're unlikely to understand in enough depth to take full advantage.For example grasping what a concierge mvp was from description in this book alone might have been difficult. Kinda glad not to hear all the same detailed explanations all over again though (in a way the brisk nature of this book is a merit. No unnecessary waste!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Very readable book that sets out the three principles for Lean UX - design thinking, Agile development methodologies and the Lean Startup approach extolled by Eric Ries - and develops from these various tactics to help UX teams embedded in large organisations become part of the lean and Agile solution, rather than sidelined onlookers. It doesn't trivialise the transition either with glib solutions - though personally I feel the most difficult people to convince to switch to Lean UX will be the UX team themselves so I think I'll have to buy 10 more copies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This book is great, it is clear, concise, and makes sense. The thing I can compare it to is a hackathon - you get things done. If things don't work, you change it, no fuss. You are free to experiment, no potential to "fail". You end up with high moral, lots of fun, and a product that works and is what the user needs. This book is a breath of fresh air.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse