Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `When You're Living a Lie You're Trapped'
This is a French film made for TV but despite that is rather superior in most respects. It is a coming out tale but not one that is often dealt with. This is about Vincent, he is seventeen and a role model to his school mainly because he is the super cool best swimmer in their team. With an expanding coterie of female admirers and the devotion of best mate Stephane he...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars summary
dear amazon!this film is nice,two young boys meet in the swimming pool and try to love eachader,the problem i miss more romace,more love and erorica,the film lettle booring for me.thanks!kis andrea
Published 3 months ago by kis andrea


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `When You're Living a Lie You're Trapped', 13 Jun 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
This is a French film made for TV but despite that is rather superior in most respects. It is a coming out tale but not one that is often dealt with. This is about Vincent, he is seventeen and a role model to his school mainly because he is the super cool best swimmer in their team. With an expanding coterie of female admirers and the devotion of best mate Stephane he also has a relationship with Neomie, she is madly in heart with him and he does nowt to dissuade her - quite the reverse in fact, the little tyke.

He also has a lover, whom he has to invent lies to be with. He lives at home with over caring and doting mum, a socialist father and an elder brother who is unemployed and a bit of a tosser. Things come to a head (forgive the awful pun) when a new bloke turns up and takes an instant shine to Vincent. What happens next is a tale of betrayal, humiliation, family let down and a whole caboodle of grief for Vincent. At one stage his boyfriend says, that it is not his fault he can not come out to his mum. Well some do need a hand and others just can't wait or it is obvious, either way people should be allowed to choose.

I thought this was one of the best screen displays of just how homophobic society can be, and it is often justified by them saying things like `why didn't you tell me?' The idea that every conversation has to start with a declaration of your sexual orientation has always struck me as strange when heterosexuals never are expected to do it. Still I digress, I absolutely loved this film, I found it well acted, engrossing and for a made for TV effort the camera work and production standards were exceptionally good. The issues are dealt with in the shock therapy way, that often accompanies the news that your beloved son is not likely to be providing grand children, but has great taste in clothes and can dance like a disco pro. Still stereo types aside, this is one that any fans of gay cinema will want to see and well done Peccadillo for resurrecting it, not much in the bedroom department though but it does not suffer for that - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming Out Story - French TV Film, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Bob Drake "BobDrake" (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
This made-for-TV French coming-out film (A Cause d'un Garçon, 2003) has been released by Pecadillo before as You'll Get Over It (2004), the subtitle of this version. (I had hoped that a Blu-ray disc of Because of A Boy would be offered, but that does not seem to be the case.)

*** SPOILER ALERT ***

Vincent and Noemie and Bruno are best buddies with typical teen dreams of travel after school. Vincent and Noemie are a couple and are virgins. Bruno likes Noemie but knows that she has eyes for Vincent. Benjamin is a new student at the school whose gaydar tells him that Vincent is interested. When they are seen together, Vincent is outed at school and to Noemie. Vincent's brother, never his fan, causes problems at home. Vincent's swim team buddies prove to be nastily homophobic, but the coach is not, and works with him separately. Bruno sees a chance opening up for him and Noemie, but does not abandon his good friend even as Noemie proves unreceptive, and ultimately brings Vincent and Benjamin together.

Vincent, of course, wants the close, comfortable relationship with Noemie to continue, but she is a realist. Like many TV fairy tales the loose ends all mesh together by the end, but we see only the tentative first steps by Vincent and Benjamin over the closing credits.

The Speedos are skimpy, and there is plenty of skin in the locker room, and Vincent and Noemie hook up as Vincent attempts to skirt the truth, but the male-male action is limited to kissing.

None of the school characters look their stated ages, but they are all fresh and bright and fill the roles well.

Although Because of a Boy is predictable, it is fun to watch the story unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming Out Saga with something new to say, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
First thought - oh another film about a popular teenager with lovely girlfriend who realises he's gay and is outed/outs himself to friends/family then has rotten time for awhile and then evrything's fine in the end.
Actually that's exactly what this is but a)it's done with French flair and b) there are a few plot variances that kept this more interesting...
Firstly, Vincent already knows he's gay and already is having sex with his secret gay lover. Secondly, he's not "too good to be true" and is quite a self-centered git in many ways (like how he treats his girlfriend and how he reacts to a teacher who trys to help him) which is a lot more honest & realistic about how 17yr olds really are.
Leads were handsome but really too old to convince as 17yrs old. The girlfriend actually looked more that age but acted way too mature & sophisticated (she should have had a least one tantrum over the way he treated her). Is it just me (?) but I thought Vincent's best (straight) friend was the dishiest and with a real cheeky grin!
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, but could have been better, 7 April 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
Because Of A Boy - previously released as You'll Get Over It - is very comparable to Juste Une Question D'Amour, made two years earlier (in 2000), also for French television. In this film it seems as if the director wanted to create something less based in talking, less contrived, in a way, than the other film, good though it was in many ways. In fact it was more romantic than this one, which has too few scenes with the potential boyfriends, I think, particularly when the love interest comes in the form of the swoonsome Jeremie Elkaim, a dangerous outsider starting at a new school. I definitely thought his role should have been bigger, as the film goes into a higher gear whenever he is on screen. Rather than this, director Fabrice Cazeneuve spends quite a lot of time showing Vincent's family's reaction to his gayness, which follows quite a predictable arc and is not all that interesting really, although well acted, and gives quite a lot of space to his girlfriend, which again seems only moderately interesting given that their friendship is quite unsatisfactory. These aspects needed something less obvious to raise them above the level of a soap opera, or otherwise could have been left more on the fringes of the film. I also thought Vincent was not totally convincing, in that he was already carrying on with another man and then has sex with his girlfriend - the first part of the equation seems to be carried out with too much assurance for a seventeen year old who in no way is open about his orientation. Surely it is far more likely that he would be confining himself to stolen glances in the locker room, given the way his personality is presented. It is not helped by the fact that he looks considerably older than 17 as well.

On the plus side, the film is pleasant to watch, the swimming scenes are visually good, and the music - a kind of muted jazz clarinet - works well. The middle-aged characters - the parents and his swimming coach - are well nuanced, particularly the male characters. The scene with the coach, for instance, is really quite good and gets the right note of such a man's reaction to one of the team being gay. Because it was less cliched, it is more memorable than the scenes with the family. Likewise an awkward scene with a gay teacher shows a singular insight, even if Vincent's immaturity makes it even more squirm-inducing. Julien Baumgartner is very good in the lead role, with expressive eyes, particularly. And aside from Elkaim, I thought there were two other hunky males on show - Vincent's stalwart best friend, and his tormented-boxer brother. If the screenplay could have brought these two characters in from the sidelines more it could have taken off. It really needed either to be more raw like Ken Loach, say, or more poetic, using Elkaim's qualities more; at all events the sexiness of some of the male actors and their particular charm seems to be frustratingly all but thrown away. Elkaim is a bit like Parma ham, served between very thick slices of white bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars summary, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
dear amazon!this film is nice,two young boys meet in the swimming pool and try to love eachader,the problem i miss more romace,more love and erorica,the film lettle booring for me.thanks!kis andrea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars was very interesting film, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this film have to say was good story line and a very interesting film, Would recomend this to all who enjoy these types of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
Insightful, honest, moving...
An inspired and accomplished work of art.
Baumgartner brings a French finesse and directness to a life-changing and traumatic turning-point in this young life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Amazing, But Really Like It., 26 Aug 2013
By 
Newt Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
`Because of a boy' is a French film with English subs, it starts off with the main guy, a right cutie if you ask me, winning a swimming tournament and I got the impression he's a "cool" guy.

After winning the championship & all the lads are in the shower they do start taking the piss out of him for using "Pansy" shower gel and you can tell he will have problems coming out as gay....yep....stereotype.

From what I can understand he already knows his is gay and he has a close male friend with benifits in private, but at school they blank each other and act like they don't know each other.. But at the same time he does have a girlfriend too.

All in all it really is a pretty good film I wouldn't call it amazing, But currently on Amazon at less than £5 It's well worth a watch it you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book, nice heartwarming story, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Cheshire (N.West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
I would not say that the film is great, but I enjoyed it, nice heart warming story. Well worth four stars I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gay life in Paris, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. C. Wyatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] (DVD)
Another French coming out story but in a Parisian background with a young leading sportsman - a swimmer - and his troubles - excellent portrayals with the problems of homophobic bullying in a French Lycee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD]
Because of a Boy - You'll get Over It [DVD] by Julien Baumgartner (DVD - 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews