Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fine tribute to King Louis
You know how fate sometimes makes it so obvious that you need to do something that, in the end, you just give up and buy tickets for whatever it is without any logical take on things whatsoever? Well, such a set a circumstances conspired to get me in the front row of the stalls at Shanklin Theatre last Friday evening, swaying my rather sizeable and regrettably seat-bound...
Published 12 months ago by Hal Marshall

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music - Rubbish Amazon service
The music is terrific, but after buying the CD version the option to download the MP3 copies simply refuses to work. Unlike gomusicnow.ru, there does not appear to be any option to repeat the download process later. So far I have no faith in the Amazon 'Cloud'
Published 13 months ago by BJ49


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fine tribute to King Louis, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Hal Marshall "Literary philanthropist" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
You know how fate sometimes makes it so obvious that you need to do something that, in the end, you just give up and buy tickets for whatever it is without any logical take on things whatsoever? Well, such a set a circumstances conspired to get me in the front row of the stalls at Shanklin Theatre last Friday evening, swaying my rather sizeable and regrettably seat-bound hips to the quite superb sound of 'The Jive Aces'. Not bad considering that, up until earlier that afternoon, I had been living a reasonably happy life as The Only Man In The World Never To Have Heard Of Them. There truly is a reason for everything, that's the thing I took from that evening of simply sublime entertainment. As well as a burning desire to get my hands on this CD at the very earliest possible opportunity. Of course, they were selling copies of it in the interval down there in Shanklin but, well, my ready cash already had a date with some half-time ice-cream, so that was that.

The Jive Aces. Six extraordinarily talented musicians who can carry off a yellow suit and red shirt combo with almost indecent aplomb. They are, quite simply, an incredible live band. Would their album be able to capture even a fraction of that charisma, energy and quite unbelievable level of enthusiasm though, that was the question; Absolutely, that is the answer.

The lion's share of their set that evening came from this CD, which is subtitled 'A Salute to Louis Prima'. I'm not going to pretend to you that I knew anything whatsoever about him prior to last Friday other than the fact that he 'was' King Louie in Disney's 'Jungle Book'. But I have had this disc playing almost constantly for the past three days and I am confident I know an awful lot more about him now. For instance, I know that his daughter, Ms Toni Elizabeth Prima, has an incredible singing voice. So incredible in fact that I would rate the experience of listening to it way up there on a par with being spoon-fed melted chocolate as far as pure unadulterated pleasure is concerned. That is one incredibly gorgeous and talented lady.

This disc contains 16 songs in total, with not a duff one amongst them. 'Bring Me Sunshine', which I have subsequently discovered is really rather popular on YouTube, brings up the rear but hopefully that means you will get the chance to listen to the version of it that involves Toni Elizabeth Prima before you ever reach it. Her version, while virtually the same in terms of musical arrangement, is just over a minute longer and, my word, that voice... . I can't stop playing it, a situation which is in no way helped by the fact that, when she sings 'bring me Love', I can't help wishing it was this particular Love she was looking for. I like to think she was the reason that fate worked so hard to get me to go to that concert last Friday because that voice will see me through many a cold, hard winter I can tell you.

Rebecca Grant is excellent and The Jive Aces themselves aren't bad either of course. From the piano maestro who can do more with his elbows than I could ever hope to achieve with my own ten fingers to the drummer, whose big solo on 'Sing, Sing, Sing' is surely something Animal from 'The Muppet Show' could only ever hope to aspire to... each and every one of these artists is a class act. When you combine all that with the musical influence of Louis Prima, well - it's quite something.

Having already nailed all my colours to the mast, I am obviously going to tell you that my favourite tracks all feature the talents of Toni Elizabeth Prima. And, of those, 'King Of Jive' is perhaps the most wonderful. Written by the Aces' band-leader Ian Clarkson, it tells the story of Louis Prima and the 'princess who became his bride' (that was Kiely Smith), whereupon they became better known as 'The King of Jive' and the 'Queen of Swing'. Ms Toni Elizabeth Prima not only has a voice to die for then, she is a musical blue-blood to boot.

I would heartily recommend this CD to any music-lover, irrespective of whether they would cheerfully call themselves fans of this style of music or not. This is pure enjoyment, from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yowsa!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
Great renditions of old favourites, impossible not to dance while listening to this! I'll put this on while cooking and try not to do a Charleston stroll for too long and burn the saucepans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jive Aces, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
Brilliant! if you like the the swing era I would recommend this group. This is great for a party and dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
Another hit by the Jive aces. Nice to see them trying different styles well worth going to see live especially if you like swing/jive music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Of The Swingers, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
As usual for the Jive Aces, it is an excellent c.d. Song choices were great and the Aces did their usual job of bringing them to us in grand fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
Absolutely love it, never heard of them until I heard a track being pl;ayed on radio 2! Areat buyvery lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Louis Prima, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
This was bought for my husband.He is a big fan of Louis Prima and this sound's just like him.Hubby loves it.Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great selection, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
a great selection - great beat will use it often - gets the crowd moving many thanks fabulous music great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swing, swing, swing, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
Great music from the golden age of swing interpreted in their own unique way. Wonderful songs performed with wonderful style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music and presentation, thanks Amazon, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Swingers (Audio CD)
King of the Swingers is a great album, really love the group and their choice of songs. I would love to see them live in Adelaide South Australia, if and when they tour here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of The Swingers
King Of The Swingers by The Jive Aces (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews