Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murderously good
Dexter Morgan is a police forensics expert, family man, and serial killer. Luckily he confines his murderous instincts to those criminals who have avoided justice, and he avoids capture by rigorously following rules laid down by his adoptive father, a policeman who realised Dexter was "different". The show never flinches away from the ugly truth, that Dexter is a...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by M. Hepworth

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not a patch on any of the previous series'
Enjoyable watch but the writers changed the dynamic between several characters and there were fewer sub plots going on which made this a good series but not a great one. Dexter usually has someone suspicious of him and has to be extra careful but not in this series and that definitely affected the series and it seemed to lack an edge as a result. Not to mention he seemed...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Fraz


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murderously good, 21 Dec 2011
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Dexter Morgan is a police forensics expert, family man, and serial killer. Luckily he confines his murderous instincts to those criminals who have avoided justice, and he avoids capture by rigorously following rules laid down by his adoptive father, a policeman who realised Dexter was "different". The show never flinches away from the ugly truth, that Dexter is a sociopathic murderer who just happens to prey on bad people. He's always one mistake away from being a monster, and he knows it.

Previously, season five was a little disappointing, as it ended without properly confronting the consequences of what had happened during that season, and during the excellent season 4; the supporting characters were also a bit mishandled. However, season six is clearly determined to make up for this.

The best seasons of Dexter have a strong central enemy, and this season features the excellent Edward James Olmos as a reclusive academic obsessed with the Apocalypse, and Colin Hanks as his impressionable young sidekick, perpetrating a series of murders that they believe will bring about the End of Days. It could have been a bit cheesy, but instead it is handled brilliantly, with a series of macabre murderous tableaux that confuse Miami PD as they attempt to solve the murders. Dexter is, of course, closer on the trail, but he has troubles of his own. Dexter is now a single father, struggling with the fear that one day his son will be confronted with the murderous truth about his dad. It plays as a psychological battle between the killers, much as season 4 did with Trinity, and this brings out the best in the show.

In addition, the supporting characters are handled very well this season, as the writers throw spanners in their personal life. Debs in particular is given plenty to do, and gets some strong development. There are some interesting new characters too, including Masuka getting an intern and a new detective who reminds me of Doakes from the early seasons. La Guerta gets back to what she does best - playing dirty in internal police politics - while Batista has a quiet but competent season. I found Quinn a bit annoying though.

One excellent episode brings back some characters from previous seasons to tempt Dexter away from his code, and the show uses that to set up a brilliant twist a couple of episodes later - the writing is really good, particularly towards the end of the season.

This isn't the best season of Dexter - I still rate seasons 1 and 4 as the best - but it's very good, with some great performances, a twisty plot, and a sense that the show knows where it is going. And I guarantee the last scene will leave you wanting to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love it!!, 8 Mar 2014
I've been hooked on Dexter the 'Blood Splatter Expert' - 'Serial Killer' from Series 1 Episode 1. Each episode is as gripping as the last. Brilliant :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doomsday Killers, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
With the advent of Dexter Season 6 fans were relieved to hear that the series was to be extended by a further two seasons. The season opens with a series weird ceremonial killings presenting openly religious `end of the World' allegory - and we are introduced to the Doomsday Killers. As Debra she now attends compulsory police sanctioned work rehabilitation sessions after her involvement in shooting. Her sessions throw out her subdued feelings that go beyond a brother sister relationship. The last episode of the season will be a real cliff hanger for Dexter Morgan. For me some of episodes seem too stretch the realms of the plausible - but they were still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not a patch on any of the previous series', 14 May 2012
By 
Fraz (Glasgow,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable watch but the writers changed the dynamic between several characters and there were fewer sub plots going on which made this a good series but not a great one. Dexter usually has someone suspicious of him and has to be extra careful but not in this series and that definitely affected the series and it seemed to lack an edge as a result. Not to mention he seemed lazy and almost careless at times compared to previous series. This is the only series i do not own and i am unlikely to buy. In summary , a good watch but not a patch on the 5 prior series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FOR ONCE, MISGIVINGS, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
An uneven season - combination of continued strengths and serious misjudgments. As ever, Michael C. Hall holds everything together - his Dexter determined to be a good father, killing of villains never clashing with little Harrison's bedtime stories (where a hero despatches monsters).

The series again interestingly evolves. Dexter stands at the crossroads, torn between light and darkness (well acted reformed gangster Brother Sam prompting a rethink). Also with impact is Debra's promotion to Lieutenant, she feeling increasingly isolated - her therapist kept busy.

The great flaw concerns the dominating Doomsday storyline, source of spectacularly gory deaths. The theme itself has possibilities, but not as presented here with loopholes abounding. Not for a moment does the Gellar-Travis relationship convince, especially after the Ep.9 bombshell where everything becomes ludicrous. An embarrassingly miscast Colin Hanks as Travis lacks any hint of the inner torment, driving mania, essential for the role.

Amongst other concerns? No mention of Dexter's two step-children. Quinn in freefall, now increasingly a boring waste of space. Lazy plotting - some escapes of the "with one bound he was free" gene (as with that blazing boat), people turning up out of the blue (as with that otherwise brilliant season cliffhanger).

12 episodes. Modest extras, of them cast interviews the most interesting.

Most series inevitably sometimes wobble a bit, emerging the stronger with lessons learned. With plausible storylines and more carefully chosen guest stars, there is plenty of life left in Dexter - although, hopefully, not in some of the people he targets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter gets holy!, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Dexter season 6 takes on a new totally different direction! This time Deb has been
advance to lieutenant and Maria is now Captain... As unlikely as it is. Dexter has found
`Brother Sam,` an ex convict who has found Jesus and tries getting Dexter to see the light...

More notably, Colin Hanks stars as `The doomsday killer,` who is fulfilling the Horsemen
of the apocalypse prophecy!

Colin (who is the spit of his Dad Tom Hanks) manages to steal the show and is
one of the best villains of the whole series... Also ends on a cliffhanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would Dexter Morgan do?, 14 May 2012
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
OK so I am a massive Dexter fan, and although this season wasn't up there at the dizzy heights of season 1 and season 4 it is still very very good television.

I will not give to much away but here is a brief outline for all the Dexter fan's out there, and if you have never seen Dexter go buy yourself season one you will be hooked I promise!

This season Dexter has moved on from Rita and Lumen, he has expanded this apartment and things are good, and is now back in the killing seat. Harrison is now about to start nursery and Debra is doing very well in her job. This season sets focus on the Doomsday Killers (or DDK), Professor James Gellar and his student Travis Marshall, They think they can bring about the end of times by killing people based on the Book of Revelation. they use the Alpha and Omega signs and create a frankly awesomely gory Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

Now I think the biggest tip for this season is to keep your eyes open for Louis Greene, I really can not wait to see where the writers are going to take this guy, he is one cool customer.
We also meet Brother Sam, who Dexter seems very drawn to, and lets face it if there is one thing Dexter hasn't done yet its confront Dexter's religious belief system, because serial killers can't have true faith and be good guy's... Can they?
There are also some very nice echos of Trinity and a wonderful episode where we meet up with Rudy once again. There are some touching scenes with Harrison, and some terrifying ones too!

This season presents some very strong under woven story lines to be revealed in season seven, not to mention the huge revel at the end of this season!!

All in all great highly watchable and enjoyable, I can not wait to see where the show goes next but one things for sure season 7 is set up to be corker!

What would Dexter Morgan do?... What would you do!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with many others. Dexter has been one of my favourite series for years with great acting from many of the characters not least Michael Hall. In other series 1-5 there have been moments when the suspension of belief has been needed but this time to such a degree that it is ridiculous. Also the fact that one of the main characters in several episodes turns out to be a figment of someones imagination was such a cop out. They have always used this idea so that Dexter's Dad could talk to him from the grave and that works but this was just plain annoying and lazy scriptwriting.

I also feel that it gets more and more gruesome and all the things that made me root for and make Dexter a charater to sympathise with have all but been removed, and they were what used to make it a great watch.

As for the other characters, especially Deb, they seem to have become so far removed from their original personalities that they are now pretty unbelievable.

Will I watch series 7? Maybe for old times sake and only if I can buy it cheaply second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Dexter is fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dexter - Season 6 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Dexter - Season 6 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Michael C. Hall (Blu-ray - 2012)
£19.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews