Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THAT JACK WHITE BEST OF PLAYLIST JUST GOT A LOT HARDER
Last year Jack White suffered two break ups, the first being the break up of his band The White Stripes who after six albums called it a day, the second was the breakup of his marriage to Karen Elson. So it's fair to say Jack White might have a few things he might want to get off his chest and what better way than to it by releasing his first solo album the wonderful...
Published on 23 April 2012 by nin/ja77

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bring back The Dead Weather
I think Jack White is a god but this is far from his best work I love The White Stripes and think The Dead Weather are even better but this is poor in comparison buy Sea Of Cowards by The Dead Weather instead it's AWESOME
Published 15 months ago by Mr. J. Clark


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing he's ever released, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
An absolutely amazing album, written by a fantastic musician and lyricist. If you only buy one album this year, buy this. You won't regret it, I can promise you that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same old same old, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
after having bought numerous albums of the white stripes there is just never something different | same old shouting and same old tunes that come through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
I orederd this for my other half as a gift, it arrived quickly and it was packaged well, no cracks on the case or teeth missing from the hole to hold the CD in place. We were both very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jun 2012
By 
J. Thorne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
Its nice to have a solo Jack album - a few of the songs aren't very strong though. Its just a collection of good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blunderbuss jack white, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
A christmas present for my daughter who loves it and plays it all the time. I can't tell you any more than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 22 Feb 2013
By 
maria (portsmouth england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
I really enjoy listening to this over and over, some super guitar playing as expected and overall a must album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (MP3 Download)
Great Track, thats why I downloaded it, Sounds Great on my MP3 player, Very quick Download. Would Recommend to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Might Get Loud, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
In music as elsewhere, being the media's critical darling can sometimes bring its fair share of headaches. You're expected to fulfil the hopes and aspirations of those who want their music heightened by creative genius, brilliant musicianship, and none of the indulgences that smack of that dreaded all-encompassing word, "commercialism". Jack White has been successfully walking that tightrope between critical laudation and commercial satisfaction for well over a decade now and this, his first proper solo album, isn't letting up on either ambition. Revelling in a host of sources and influences, White's sound is apparent throughout but so is the man's infectious enthusiasm for everything he does. Managing not to be critical hipster and commercial sell-out at one and the same time while making music that jumps out of the speakers at you is something few have maintained for quite as long as White, and certainly not in the ever-changing music industry of today.

Not that this set of 13 songs is completely without flaws you understand. Weep Themselves to Sleep, I'm Shakin' and Trash Tongue Talker in the middle of the album smack a little of filler, even if it's high-class filler. White also strays a little too close to others' territory at times. Freedom at 21 is a great song but Anthony Kiedis and the Red Hot Chilli Peppers must have the lawyers checking out the vocals if nothing else! Sixteen Saltines has an appropriate blunderbuss of a guitar riff that surely has Lenny Kravitz weeping into his cornflakes. And Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy has throwaway lyrics and a honky-tonk piano that might remind a few of idiosyncratic Queen circa Sheer Heart Attack to News of the World. On and On and On could be Pink Floyd doing Wish you were Here with the Day Tripper guitar line attached to it. All of this might lead to the conclusion that White is playing derivatively with other people's ideas; but the textures, layers, craft and sheer bravado at work on the album surpasses this thought and makes the whole project a joy to behold at times. Final track Take Me With You When You Go sum up the accomplishments that turn a lazy piano refrain into a grand-standing final blow-out, while the banshee howl that accompanies the start of Sixteen Saltines is the cry of a man having the time of his life. Recommended for all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RUN DON'T WALK TO BUY THIS ALBUM, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
I own everything by The White Stripes & The Raconteurs but this is his Sgt Pepper. Can't see that he'll ever better it. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Brilliant, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blunderbuss (Audio CD)
This is the album of 2012 so far. Will be on many 'Best Albums of All-time' lists within a few years.

There's incredible ambition in the songwriting, musicianship and arrangements. I was not an expert on The White Stripes and bought this on impulse. It is so good that I have now bought the entire White Stripes back catalogue. I think 'Blunderbuss' is as good if not better than any White Stripes album, although 'De Stijl' and 'Elephant' are similarly brilliant and inventive.

White is probably the greatest rock musician of his generation (what a body of work for someone in their mid-30s..). Few albums I've heard are so complete, enjoyable and endlessly-listenable -

Bowie's 'Scary Monsters',
REM's 'Automatic for the People',
The Icicle Works' 'Small Price of a Bicycle'
Springsteen's 'Tunnel of Love'
and 'Treasure' by the Cocteau Twins
come closest in that regard.

Thank you, Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blunderbuss
Blunderbuss by Jack White (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews