Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars33
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2013
don't know why I even bothered reading this pish. It's just a catalogue of memories viewed through green tinted glasses; battles? Nah just morons having a dust up and hoping the polis arrive before they get a sair puss. Take it from me, I've seen these mobs running up and down, doing a wee pavement dance and inky getting brave when their tooled up or at a numerical advantage. One on one all they do is dance about, looking and waiting for the polis to arrive to save themselves from each other. Tosses.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
an intriguing insight into the world of shoplifting and the methods used to outwit store detectives...a powerful account of a punk rocker who was seduced by the casual movement and threw away his doc martins to replace them with lacoste...a story of a man who loved his club so much he was prepared to sacrifice his liberty to protect them from the wild savages of the acf and the icf...a romantic adventure involving four hundred virile sycopaths and three willing ladies with a hunger for meat...a stunning expose of the mystical battles fought out on the streets of scotland between the underground freedom fighters of the ccs and the insurgent terror groups of the burberry menswear department...the battles rage as the fashionistas defend their honour against the forces of evil who will stop at nothing in their quest to ruin their nice new trousers and rip their shirts whilst simutainiously doing a funny wee dance on the pavement...buy this book...its funny.
.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Andy strikes me as a casual who has fully reflected upon his past and provided an honest appraisal of it. He admits Times when the CCS did not get the best of certain situations which is in stark contrast to some hooligans accounts where they 'never ran'. Also, I found it quite refreshingly honest in respect of his own self-evaluation. No fake tears or patronising regrets of his own actions and no excuse making or blaming others for the lifestyle he led.

While some may, quite rightly, abhor his past and his actions, he is refreshingly honest and I feel there is something to admire in a man taking responsibility for his own actions. To be fair, that is certainly the impression I gained from Andy Blance in this book. Finally, I also think this book belies a certain myth about casuals/hooligans. Many say they are not 'real' supporters or football fans. Andy Blance is certainly someone who comes across as a very passionate supporter of hibernian football club and while we may not agree with his actions, it would be very presumptuous to question his support for his club.

Excellent book and one I would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Good book .couldnt put in down also live in Edinburgh ( leith) so knew all the places he was talking about in Edinburgh .andy and boys were caught up in some dodgy situations .will be on kindle forever Ggtth.
sunshine on leith !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Read a few books of this genre and I found this one to be akin to a moderately priced tesco's red wine, you buy it not expecting too much knowing there is a chance it will be vile but then the first sip you are pleasantly surprised. Blance opts to tell you a little about his life before being a hooligan rather than just being a list of meets with other firms, which is a trap other books of this kind tend to fall into. I found this one interesting because rather than being tanked up on drugs and lager to get in the zone Blance is a teetotal hooligan hand grenade who loves nothing more than a good tear up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
There is no denying that 'Hibs Boys' has its moments, some very funny anecdotes and entertaining moments. My issue is with the clear bias to Hibs, its been written with a Green tinted welders mask on never mind specs. But its the same with every football casual book. Usually along the lines of "There was 10 of us and 50 of them, we kicked their a*se all over the town" I spent a lot of the book thinking 'Did ye aye?'. Would be nice to read an honest account of football violence not a one-sided version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Good to see an autobiography by someone who is not a famous celebrity. This book gives a fascinating insight into the world of football hooliganism of the 1980s. It is well written and you get the feeling you are living the experiences of the author.Hibs Boy The Life and Violent Times of Scotland's Most Notorious Football Hooligan

Also try these great titles available on Amazon:
The Curse Of The White Tiger
Opening Shot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
One of the best of its type. Blance is certainly one of those that lived the life. Some of the things he got up to are distasteful but he puts it all down in its fully "glory". Unlike a lot of hoolie nonsense he admits there are a few times when he got a hiding and a few times when his mob got involved with incidents that innocent people got tangled up in. He's an intelligent bloke and his frank account of his involvement with the CCS are well above average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Very decent account of a Scottish firm who were a feared lot back in the day. Blanche's account is honest and open and he pulls no punches. If you knew what the CCS were all about then this is most definitely worth the purchase. A frank insight into Scotland's main firm. 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Having read quite a few casual books, this was one of the better efforts, a truer account of the casual movement of the 80s and 90s. Battles won and lost and a thorough understanding of criminal life away from the hooligan scene
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)