Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent blu ray of a cold war thriller.
bad reviews on here are because of the shoddy dvd that this was on. This blu ray looks outstanding! Image has released some bad blu rays but this isn't one of them. The storyline is a good one about post war nazis and it takes place in 1963. The movie was made in 1974 though and you wouldn't know it! by then germany was very much rebuilt, unlike 1963 or older. A very...
Published 20 months ago by Michael Dobey

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film just no good for anyone in the UK on Blu-ray
Have seen the film many times on DVD and TV and it's one of my favourites. Unfortunately, it's no good for anyone in the UK on Blu-ray as it's one of the few that's Region Coded. I didn't check before I bought it thinking (stupidly) that if my Blu-ray player was multi-region then it would also play US Blu-ray discs. I know now to check in future that any US discs I buy...
Published 13 months ago by Mr D Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent blu ray of a cold war thriller., 12 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odessa File [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
bad reviews on here are because of the shoddy dvd that this was on. This blu ray looks outstanding! Image has released some bad blu rays but this isn't one of them. The storyline is a good one about post war nazis and it takes place in 1963. The movie was made in 1974 though and you wouldn't know it! by then germany was very much rebuilt, unlike 1963 or older. A very young mary tamm is in this one, she went on to make many films and tv appearances right up to 2009 , when she got cancer and she just recently died. rip. She aged very well too. But here we catch joh voight at his hieght of stardom still. He is excellent and really carries this movie well. There was a real odessa of course and the group did smuggle nazis to freedom. This makes this all the more of a good story here. Max shell is in here too and he is never anything but great so this should appeal to drama and conspiracy fans too. The blu ray is worth every penny too. with movies this old you just never know how it's going to look. this one will make you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 28 May 2007
By 
L. Hay "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful star studded cast. I saw this film when first released - yes that was a long time ago - and the memory of it has lingered. It is superbly atmospheric, the music is outstanding, and the story enthralling. It is great to see so many famous names as they were thirty-plus years ago years ago and how well they have done in between. To the younger generation it is probably nothing more than history, but to my generation it was relevant. They do not make them like this nowadays.

If you have not seen it, then watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right again fred......, 24 May 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
Another great Frederick Forsyth adaption good story and as always with Forsyth impeccably researched does anyone remember the tv segment he did about identity fraud and how easy it was to become someone else? Anyway back to Odessa a very low key movie slowly gathering momentum yet never dragging on.Then there's the contrast between the cheery christmas tune Perry Como I think
and the sinister insidious goings on in the background and how innocently Jon Voight becomes embroiled with the deadly Odessa.
This is a fine 70's movie which unfairly basks in the shadow of the also brilliant Day of the Jackal,which got a dreadful remake some years back anyone remake Odessa? second thought maybe not!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WS...Yes..., 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
The Odessa File [DVD] [1974]

The widescreen version is not available stateside, so this is a great chance to see a film that really suffers from the pan and scan treatment. A non-regional player is a must, of course.

The music plays with your head, too. You'll never hear Perry Como and the 'Christmas Dream' song the same way again after listening to it in its first context as this movie's theme. And who would have thought Webber and Rice would have composed and written the score and song lyrics for such a dark thriller. Und die deutschen/Nazi kinder...ausgezeichnet!

Lots of fun and surprises. Merry Christmas, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The idea may still upset, 4 July 2011
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
Reviewing `Quiller' prompted me to remember `The Odessa File; a 1970s classic, highlighting the same competing forces at that time in Germany; the Old and the New. John Voight is the young journalist, given the diary of a Riga, German Jew, concentration camp victim. Maximillian Schell (another fine Austrian born actor - see my Quiller... and Life and Death... reviews) is his antithesis; the ex-SS Riga camp commander he is hunting, through the Ode'SS'a (to emphasise the point)! The unspeakable cruelty of the Riga camp is illustrated (which brings to mind the book, The Kindly Ones, also reviewed by me). Two hundred thousand German Jews entered the camp; 400 survived, according to the script."People don't want to know" is his girlfriend's plea as their life is increasingly disrupted. The young journalist hits a wall of silence, as the Odessa closes ranks to protect one of their own. The young journalist is captured but not by whom you might think. He emerges to continue his hunt. The danger mounts. The climax is fitting and personal to the young man. The film is about tenacity in the face of adversity; in simple terms, the good of the few against the evil of many. For some, the intrinsic idea may still upset. It should yet genocide continues. Love features little in this story.

Ian Hunter.
Author of `e-Love'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 7 July 2006
By 
Mr. Clark Gillies (West Kilbride, Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
I was told that after seeing "Day of the Jackel" that I had to see this movie, and it did not dissapoint any way or form!!! (I actually prefer it to "Day of the Jackel" now)

A really gripping story that really easy to follow, with a great twist at the end which I never saw comming.

Starts off pretty slow and we are not sure what we are actually suppose to be watching, but then once it develops everything falls into place and the movie turns into a really gripping film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voigt Ably Carries It, and It Holds Its Own, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Carolina Beach, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
"The Odessa File" (1974) is a British-made thriller, based on a book of the same name by Sir Frederick Forsyth (The Odessa File), that gives us a good picture of life in that macho, muscular port city of Hamburg, Germany, a decade earlier. It opens on November 22, 1963, as the assassination and death of American President John F. Kennedy come in over the radio, interrupting the playing of a catchy Christmas song: "Christmas Dream," sung by Perry Como, written by Andrew Lloyd Webber, who did the film's score. The film stars Jon Voigt, (Midnight Cowboy [DVD] [1969]) playing journalist Peter Miller, who, after finding the diary of a Holocaust survivor who had recently committed suicide, begins following the trail of an SS officer who commanded a concentration camp during World War II. Miller soon finds himself involved with an organization of former SS members called Odessa, as well as with the Israeli secret service, as the Odessa is apparently helping Egypt to build weapons that they hope will destroy Israel. Further probing reveals a link between the officer, Odessa and Miller's own family.

The movie was directed by Ronald Neame, who was to be made a Commander of the British Empire on the 1996 Queen's List. Neame had photographed "Blithe Spirit" (1945), "This Happy Breed," (1944), and "In Which We Serve." He directed "The Poseidon Adventure," "Scrooge," "The Prime of Miss Jean Brody," "Tunes of Glory," and "The Horse's Mouth." He had three Oscar nominations, and another three wins in his career. In this film, he is good at capturing the cold war feeling of the divided Germany, the sense of wheels within wheels. Kenneth Ross has adapted a polished screen play from Forsyth's best selling novel. The film costars the forgettable Mary Tamm as Sigi, Miller's girlfriend; and Maximilian Schell (Phantom Of The Opera [1983] [DVD]) playing Eduard Roschmann, an unrepentant Nazi. Maria Schell (99 Women [DVD])plays Miller's mother, Frau Miller. Sir Derek Jacobi, (I, Claudius [Complete BBC series, uncut] [1976] [DVD];Cadfael - Complete Collection [DVD] [1994]) who has, I think, only two scenes, contributes an unforgettable portrait of Klaus Wenzer, the Odessa's favorite forger, and gets a pretty high billing for it, too. Someone surely knew that only he could play the part.

There were, of course, many fine cold war spy books written during this period, and many fine movies made of them. This is neither the best nor the worst, but the acting is good, photography and direction are fine, and it holds its own, with Voigt ably carrying it. The plot's a bit over the top, but it reflects Forsyth's approach of taking an actual situation, and then adding a "what if," to it, which you can also see in the 1973 film Day Of The Jackal [DVD] [1973] that is itself based on a Forsyth book, adapted for the screen by Kenneth Ross. If you've never seen "The Odessa File," or haven't seen it since its theatrical release, it is thoughtful and entertaining, definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holds your attention, 11 Aug 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
I am glad I did not read the book first as this film has to tell the story minus many of the sub plots. However there are enough left to keep you well off balance. If it is your first time through the movie some of the plots are evasive.
It is definitely a Forsyth story with a good mixture of fact, myth, and plausibility. Well it could happen. The film is permeated with rising action; in several places you have no time to catch your breath. You will find your self kibitzing as "Don't make that phone call!"
The story was best told with black and white flashbacks to explain what happened in history to support today's (1974) action.
Reporter, Peter Miller comes in possession of a diary of a man that survived Riga concentration camp. Something he reads encourages him to seek SS Captain Eduard Roschmann, the commandant of the camp, who was presumed dead. In his endeavor he is thwarted at every turn by the authorities. Finally one posing as a doctor confirms Roshmann's existence by his very insistent that Roschmann is dead.
In the beginning we hear of President Kennedy's death which triggers the end of innocents. This combined with the overlapping plot of the Egyptians to build missiles, overlays Peter's personal pursuit with that of a Jewish organization attempting to infiltrate the Odessa (Organisation der ehemaligen SS-Angehörigen),an organization to reorganize and protect prominent people that where in the "National Socialist German Workers' Party".
Will Peter succeed with his mission (what ever it is) or will he be hindered by the Jewish organization? Will the organization succeed in thwarting the Egyptian missile plot or be hindered by Peter? Is SS Captain Roschmann still alive and if so what is he up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-made suspense drama., 29 Mar 2010
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
I've not read the novel on which this is based, but really enjoyed the film as a history fan with a particular interest in the 20th century.

As another reviewer has said, the film starts out slowly but soon gathers pace and is gripping, culminating in an unexpected twist.

The acting is superb and captures the human interest side of the storyline and the emotions which come with this.

If I have one criticism to make, it would be of the soundtrack; John Barry would have done it so much better. I felt at times that Andrew Lloyd Webber made an inappropriate, almost detrimental contribution to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Odessa File - catching Nazis!, 31 Mar 2013
By 
T. F. Martin (Royston. Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odessa File [DVD] (DVD)
After 'Midnight Cowboy' I wasn't expecting much from John Voight. Having watched him in 'The Odessa File' he was extremely good, backed up by a good cast ,particularly Maximilian Schell. The subject matter or Plot was very near to the truth and therefore highly plausible. Even though the movie is several years old, it still has current day value and is worth watching. It will remain in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Odessa File [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import]
Odessa File [Blu-ray] [1974] [US Import] by Ronald Neame (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews