Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars40
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
36
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 August 2013
This is a nice Lego build which consists of 430 pieces (including 5 mini-figures and 2 horses) forming 2 base pieces: one small rock/bush piece and the large Weathertop piece. It comes in 4 bags with a single building guide.

The 5 mini-figures:

- Frodo - 2 faced - dark green cloak, sword and "the one ring" which fits on to Frodo's hand;

- Merry - 2 faced - lime green cloak and sword;

- Aragorn - 2 faced - sword and torch;

- 2 Ring Wraiths - no faces - tattered black cape (there is no need to remove the cape when your wraith is riding his horse) and a sword each.

Each Ring Wraith (also called "black riders" at this point) comes with a stunning black horse. This was the first appearance of the horse from the new mould. The back legs can be moved and the horse can rear up. The neck of the horse can also be moved so the horse can graze while the wraiths fight on foot. It has some nice looking printing on the horses head.

There are also:

- 2 extra "one rings" (3 rings in total);
- rat;
- 4 one-piece micro-figures;
- spear;
- torches;
- extra sword, etc, and;
- a brick separator.

The large base build is impressive in its design.

It is a 2 level build with a spiral stone staircase leading from the lower level to the upper level. The Weathertop base piece is in two parts which are hinged and clip together to make one lovely top of the abandoned tower. It opens up to show a cave/room inside (this also makes a good place to store your spare parts).

There are 2 interactive actions - the trap door and finger launched rockets ... rockets?! I don't remember them in LotR's "Fellowship of the Ring"!

On the lower section is the cooking pot with a giant chicken leg, carrot and apple to eat. The battle takes place on top of the abandoned tower but there isn't space on the top to have a "fight".

In the book and film the 4 Hobbits (Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin) and Strider (Aragorn) faced off against 5 of the Ring Wraiths - here 2 Hobbits and Strider against 2 Wraiths.

The RRP for this is 50.00 and considering that there are only 430 pieces it is incredibly expensive on a per piece basis: 11.6p per piece. The only thing that saves the set for me is the Ring Wraiths and their horses. I do wonder if the set was supposed to have more mini-figures when the price point was originally set.

I'll be honest I am a little disappointed that there aren't more mini-figures - the missing Hobbits (Sam and Pippin) would have been nice and maybe another wraith (with or without horse, though "with" would have been preferable) if only to justify the price.

Even so, it is a superb build and looks really good on display.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
My daughter (aged 6) and I (aged 38) built this together. We are both huge fans of Lego and although she hasn't seen LOTR, she likes the minifigures and the whole goodie/baddie element.
This set contains 5 minifigures (Aragorn, Frodo, Merry and 2 Ringwraiths) and 2 of the new Lego horses, so good value for money on the minifigure front.
The set is fairly easy to build but does contain some tricky parts for younger builders.
My daughters favourite part is the trapdoor and the new horses and mine is the Aragorn figure and the Wraiths.

And the downside, albeit minor, is the size. Weathertop in the film is quite a large area but this model is fairly small when made. This is obviously to keep cost down, but you'd still do well to get much change for a £50 note! As with all LOTR Lego, this is a great build and if you can get it in the sales it would be even better. You do get a better than average minifigure count.

As for my ratings, overall it gets 5 stars because its well designed and my daughetr loves it. Its not educational really so it only gets 3 stars for that, but I suspect you will not be buying this for it educational value! Durability? It comes apart....its Lego. But, of course, well made.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Excellent set, well thoughtout design with bags of play value. Very inkeeping with the film set makes acting out the scene great fun.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Su already gave a nice, detailed review of the contents so I'm not going into that, but as a person who has only recently got back to Legos I'm pretty impressed with the LotR/Hobbit lines in general. Can't say how they compare to other modern sets, but it's a big step up from twenty or so years ago.

This particular set has a nice round design that has nevertheless been accomplished with angular pieces for the most part, I quite approve. The set is relatively small when closed, which helps with my acute lack of space, and there's a stud that locks the halves together too, giving it a sturdy feel and making it easier to move around. Opening up the structure gives you access to nice interiors, and I suspect that kids would have a blast with those shooting bolts that otherwise seem a bit out of place if you are expecting an authentic representation of the Weathertop scene in the film -- which it really is already with all the important elements and characters included (although Merry gets all the blame for the cooking incident this time), the bolts just add some extra playability. This is also the only set with Merry or Ringwraiths that I've come across, Frodo and Aragorn can be found elsewhere. The Ringwraiths ride the same black, red-eyed, posable horses as Mouth of Sauron does in the Battle at the Black Gate set, very nice. And like someone mentioned, seems to usually come with three rings, even if only one of them is officially required to be there.

Retired product according to Lego's own web store, so availability might be going down. Get it while you can! I bought mine in the Black Friday sale with Super Saver Delivery, so the price got a nice discount too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 3 November 2013
This is a nice Lego build which consists of 430 pieces (including 5 mini-figures and 2 horses) forming 2 base pieces: one small rock/bush piece and the large Weathertop piece. It comes in 4 bags with a single building guide.

The 5 mini-figures:

- Frodo - 2 faced - dark green cloak, sword and "the one ring" which fits on to Frodo's hand;

- Merry - 2 faced - lime green cloak and sword;

- Aragorn - 2 faced - sword and torch;

- 2 Ring Wraiths - no faces - tattered black cape (there is no need to remove the cape when your wraith is riding his horse) and a sword each.

Each Ring Wraith (also called "black riders" at this point) comes with a stunning black horse. This was the first appearance of the horse from the new mould. The back legs can be moved and the horse can rear up. The neck of the horse can also be moved so the horse can graze while the wraiths fight on foot. It has some nice looking printing on the horses head.

There are also:

- 2 extra "one rings" (3 rings in total);
- rat;
- 4 one-piece micro-figures;
- spear;
- torches;
- extra sword, etc, and;
- a brick separator.

The large base build is impressive in its design.

It is a 2 level build with a spiral stone staircase leading from the lower level to the upper level. The Weathertop base piece is in two parts which are hinged and clip together to make one lovely top of the abandoned tower. It opens up to show a cave/room inside (this also makes a good place to store your spare parts).

There are 2 interactive actions - the trap door and finger launched rockets ... rockets?! I don't remember them in LotR's "Fellowship of the Ring"!

On the lower section is the cooking pot with a giant chicken leg, carrot and apple to eat. The battle takes place on top of the abandoned tower but there isn't space on the top to have a "fight".

In the book and film the 4 Hobbits (Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin) and Strider (Aragorn) faced off against 5 of the Ring Wraiths - here 2 Hobbits and Strider against 2 Wraiths.

The RRP for this is 50.00 and considering that there are only 430 pieces it is incredibly expensive on a per piece basis: 11.6p per piece. The only thing that saves the set for me is the Ring Wraiths and their horses. I do wonder if the set was supposed to have more mini-figures when the price point was originally set.

I'll be honest I am a little disappointed that there aren't more mini-figures - the missing Hobbits (Sam and Pippin) would have been nice and maybe another wraith (with or without horse, though "with" would have been preferable) if only to justify the price.

Even so, it is a superb build and looks really good on display.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
This is a great set. The unique shape of Weathertop makes for an interesting build. Minifigs are good and this set is a must if you want the ring wraiths and a complete Hobbit set. 5*
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Excellent for all lego enthusiasts and lord of the rings fans everywhere. Its a must if you are collecting all the mini figures in the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
It was a fantastic Lego set. Both of my children loved playing with it. The instruction is very clear and easy to follow.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
bought this for my grandson for christmas. He is a lego addict. Good value for money as usual and will last for years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Awesome mid range set. Figs are well designed and Aragorn in his ranger outfit is brilliant. Its quite small when built but has heaps to play with and the fact it folds open makes it appear bigger. Once fully built it is sturdy enough to move about so can stay errected. It was bought for a 5 year old. He did need help building it but since the age range is 8-14, its spot on. Not sure about the missiles, we are not fans away, but they may have fitted the scene better by having fire on the ends instead of the brown studs. That's our only complaint so all in all a very good set.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)