Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They have a Cave Troll!!!!!"
Wow! Lord of the Rings is the best film of all time, and LEGO is the best toy of all time; a perfect combination i've wished for, for over four years.

This set was the first one I bought because it has four members of the fellowship, and also, it has a cave troll in it. The gate is very accurate.The wall looks very Dwarven, Balin's tomb has a good exploding...
Published 23 months ago by starkiller

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too expensive
Too expensive for what it is.
Looks bigger and more exciting than it actually is when built.
Troll is the best piece.
Published 6 months ago by Spiritwind


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They have a Cave Troll!!!!!", 7 Aug 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
Wow! Lord of the Rings is the best film of all time, and LEGO is the best toy of all time; a perfect combination i've wished for, for over four years.

This set was the first one I bought because it has four members of the fellowship, and also, it has a cave troll in it. The gate is very accurate.The wall looks very Dwarven, Balin's tomb has a good exploding feature, and the well has a nice look to it, But the figure does have trouble falling inside it properly.

Legolas has a very nice bow and accurate clothes. Gimili looks almost identical to what he looked like in the film; his clothes don't look like they did, and Pippin and Boromir look amazing and accurate. The cave troll looks really cool, but he does have trouble falling over in certain positions. The Moria goblins look awesome and they are very accurate. This set is an excellent starter set.

The tomb 9/10
Legolas 10/10
Gimili 9/10
Boromir 10/10
Pippin 10/10
Cave troll 9/10
Goblins 10/10
Overall 9/10

For the Cave troll, if you have any lego minifigures, put the bases on the bottom of the troll's feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only Balin was still alive., 15 Dec 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
Even at the rrp of 70 for this set it is incredible value for a licenced LEGO set. With 6 minifigures (4 from the fellowship: Boromir, Gimli, Legolas and Pipin, and two orcs) and a cave troll figure, there is a great playability to the set, an ample amount of minifigures to create a busy battle scene.

The backdrop to these battles has been done masterfully. With the 4 separate components: entrance, wall, tomb and well, the set can be arranged in the way the builder wants, adding more flexibility for those who still want to stay fairly true to the films or books. Additionally having the separate components allows the set to be stretched out, making it bigger and more impressive.

Constructing the set is enjoyable, with many of the pieces being a decent size and the final product is very durable. There are nice features built in to further increase playability such as the axe to barricade the doors and skeleton falling into the well alongside others.

My 2 gripes with this set are: 1- the vast number of stickers in the set (but this is down to personal taste) and 2- the cave troll falls over with its club in any forward position. But apart from these it is an excellent set beautifully transferring the world of Tolkien into the LEGO medium, I just wish Balin could play with and enjoy the set too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
I am a lego collector and this is by far the best product for price in the lego lotr set. It is so realistic in comparison with the film with hidden treasure such as *SPOILER ALERT* the falling walls, the well, tomb of balin and the very detailed door and many more! I love this price. 11/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Lego product, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Jill Nelson "ratgranny" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
I'm a 63-year old Lego addict, and I love Lord of the Rings, so this had a lot to live up to. As usual, Lego's attention to detail and its genius at making little knobby bricks look like dwarves, elves, trolls, ... well, like anything really ... was much in evidence. As usual, very clear instructions, easy to follow, and not a single bit missing. As usual, the assembled model is a joy to behold. If I have a criticism, it is that one little element - the skeleton, attached to a bucket by chains, that 'falls' into the tomb, is actually very difficult to make work properly. I don't think a child could do it at all, and the box does say '9-14'. If I had bought this for a child to play LotR games with, I suspect there might have been some frustration. Also, pointless saying it was a bit pricey - Lego have maintained quality over many years, presumably despite being under enormous pressure like everyone else to cut costs, and I guess charging quite a lot is how they do this. Altogether I would say it's brilliant value for an adult or older child, a tad less so for a younger child who actually wants to play with it, but what do I know - my 4-year old grandson plays with 'proper big boy's Lego' and manages brilliantly; anything that wont work, balance, move, stay put, whatever, when his little hands try it is simply turned into something else that will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what's not to love. There is something especially marvellous about minifigure hobbits, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
It's legi and it's Tolkien.....what's not to love.
There is something especially marvellous about minifigure hobbits ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mines of Moria, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
lovely well made set with loads of imagination gone into designing it. The cave troll is great to play with, and it looks nice left out once its all put together. Don't overlook it as a present for a girl if she is a LOTR fan, but they do need to be around eight years old to be able to sit and assemble it as it takes a few hours work with lots of instructions to follow. Good practice for concentrating at something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge hit, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
My son loved this set! It was a surprise as it was not on his list. Very pleased with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Lego!, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
Lego seems to be taking over the toy world with its excursions into space, the jungle, farmyards and Lord of the Rings - and that's just a small sample of the offerings available. One grandson loves it, another is obsessed by it, spending hours creating weird and wonderful models. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - even if a little expensive!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
Bought for my boyfriend who is a geek and he loved it! It looks really cool once you've put it all together. Takes about 2/3 hours to build
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego lord of the rings, 15 Dec 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9473: The Mines of Moria (Toy)
Lego lord of the rings amazing. :) :) :) smiles alround. Good for the money. Can we have more offers on the Lego please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews