Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gandalf Finally Arrives!
This is one of the smaller, more affordable sets from the Lego Lord of the Rings collection and it is a great little set. It comes with an easy-to-follow instruction booklet and it's quite simple to build. The finished product depicts Gandalf arriving in the Shire on a horse-drawn cart, complete with his famous fireworks, and Frodo ready to greet him. Both minifigures are...
Published 23 months ago by Quinn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grandson loved it - pieces very small
Our 10 year old grandson happily added this to his collection and built it easily but I felt that some pieces were very small and could easily be lost.
Published 6 months ago by Maureen McCreadie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gandalf Finally Arrives!, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
This is one of the smaller, more affordable sets from the Lego Lord of the Rings collection and it is a great little set. It comes with an easy-to-follow instruction booklet and it's quite simple to build. The finished product depicts Gandalf arriving in the Shire on a horse-drawn cart, complete with his famous fireworks, and Frodo ready to greet him. Both minifigures are a good likeness to their film counterparts; Gandalf has a grey beard, hat and cloak and carries a staff whilst Frodo is perfectly hobbit-sized (smaller than usual Lego characters) with a giant book to read. Frodo has two facial expressions (happy/worried), the horse has movable legs and the cart contains a letter, fireworks and a large carrot. While this is a small set it is good value for money for two key characters and it will make a great add-on for the larger sets available. Any Lord of the Rings fan will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the start of the story - but an expensive set (price per piece), 15 Aug 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
This is a 83 piece mini build which depicts the arrival of Gandalf the Grey in the Shire for Bilbo's birthday depicted at the beginning of LotR: Fellowship of the Ring and has 2 mini figures.

- Gandalf the Grey - single face - has front and rear torso printing, a grey cape (Gandalf's cape is a problem when he is in position on the cart - it is too long when standing in the cart and catches on the bricks behind) and pointy wizard's hat;

- Frodo - 2 faced - green shirt with torso printing front and back.

Frodo has a large book which opens, but if you open it then it becomes damaged and weak along the spine.

The horse has movable back legs and when separated from the cart can stand, balanced, in a reared up position.

The cart had wheels which revolve. It does look good, except that all the parts aren't brown. The grey parts are low on the cart but can be seen.

There are a number of items in the wizard's cart including a barrel with 3 fireworks (one of which is the famous red dragon firework"), a letter and a carrot for his hardworking horse.

At a RRP of 12.99 with 83 pieces it works out at an incredibly expensive 15.5 pennies per piece. This is now a retired piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
I like Lord of the Rings and I like Lego, so this was a no-brainer. Gandalf now proudly sits on my desk, unless I'm told to move him by my girlfriend because we have guests and I look uncool. Great build quality though, but lots of small pieces so not suitable for young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grandson loved it - pieces very small, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
Our 10 year old grandson happily added this to his collection and built it easily but I felt that some pieces were very small and could easily be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
Bought to go with the hobbit house (Unexpected Gathering). Goes well together. Lots of detail & easy to assemble. Bought for my 6yr old who loves it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wizard is never late! He arrives precisely when he means to!, 13 Nov 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
This was the first set out of all the LOTR LEGO sets that I bought because, frankly, it was the cheapest.

The fact that it came with 2 minifigs, a horse, a buildable wagon and a bunch of accessories for only $12 is a steal!

This would be a great stocking stuffer this year - you may need a bigger stocking but it'll be worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lego rules, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
I got this as a bit if fun, as who doesn't love Lego, so when they got the franchise for lord of the rings - this was a winner,

Typical Lego - easy to go together and clever use of pieces and design. Basic, easy and simple. Lego does what it says on the tin (or box in this case).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it was a present, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
It was a present for my nephew but was ok for the price but I find Lego very expensive for what you get but good price here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starter pack, 2 Sep 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
My daughter (Aged 7) and I (Aged 39) are avid collectors of the Lord of the Rings Lego sets.
It seems strange that we have waited so long to buy this set but its worth the wait. This is a basic entry-level set and is priced accordingly. This is the smallest LOTR set at only 83 pieces.
On the plus side are the 2 minifigures ( A fresh-faced Frodo and Gandalf), a new style horse (my daughter loves the horses) and the cart full of fireworks.
On the downside, and I'm being picky here, is the piece count. At 20 pieces less than any other comparably priced LOTR or Hobbit set they could have added something from the Shire (Some trees or a low brick wall?).
Overall, a great place to start your LOTR collection or a worthy addition if you did what I did and went for the bigger sets first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great little add on to the other Lord of the ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 9469: Gandalf Arrives (Toy)
A great little add on to the other Lord of the Rings sets, or smashing on its own.
Lego never fails to satisfy as a present for my boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews