Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fine silk balaclava, shame about the central seam
This balaclava is made from real silk (instant cool feel on the skin), but paradoxically keeps one warm in the cold as an extra layer under a helmet. And it helps to prevent the icy wind from whistling past ones ears. The single negative point is the central seam joining the left and right halves.

I bought mine to go under a ski helmet in the really, really...
Published 15 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Balaclava but...
I really love this balaclava, it's given me great wind/cold protection on my motorcycle through the winter.
But the reason it gets 3 out of 5 is because the seams are in the wrong place. Rather than one seam on the top it should have two either side I end up with big pressure headaches with marks on my forehead which isn't great. Move the seam to the top quarters and...
Published 1 month ago by R. YORK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fine silk balaclava, shame about the central seam, 17 April 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
This balaclava is made from real silk (instant cool feel on the skin), but paradoxically keeps one warm in the cold as an extra layer under a helmet. And it helps to prevent the icy wind from whistling past ones ears. The single negative point is the central seam joining the left and right halves.

I bought mine to go under a ski helmet in the really, really cold weather (-30C plus wind chill and no sun last March up the Aguille Rouge in France). It replaces a rarely needed seamless knitted-to-shape silk balaclava (bought from Snow and Rock in the early 1990s) that simply died from old age.

This new one is not so snug, even on a large head, with a few wrinkles and puckers around the central seam, but it still fits under the helmet, and the seam does not leave too deep a groove in my forehead, especially if I wear the balaclava with the seam on the outside. A few more washes have softened it a bit.

Of course being silk it is hand wash only, no wringing, no tumble, no machine, no nasty detergents, etc, etc. I always use dry-hair moisturising shampoo for silk stuff, such as inner-socks and glove-liners, and of course the balaclava.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality product, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Michael Marwick "Mike M" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
Well made, very stretchy and very warm balaclava. Nice and thin to fit under a tight helmet. I have a big head, and often the "one size' items are too small, but this has plenty of room
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
Fantastic product, as they say "it does what it says on the Packet" keeps you warm without overheating, have used it in really freezing condtions with excellent effect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cosy!, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Bertilak Hautdesert "Bertilak" (Cromer, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
A very good product indeed. Nice and stretchy, fairly fine knit, beautifully constructed and easy to wash: use silk and wool detergent. Warm and tidy under my cycling helmet on these increasingly cool commutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Yes this works very well. Allows my Bike helmet to slide on more easily and not keep pulling my ears off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
Used for skiing, happy with the purchase, my only 'complaint' is that the seam down the middle is a bit uncomfortable under my (quite tight) helmet, leaving an imprint and a bit of a bruise over a few days.

However this is unlikely to be a problem with a helmet with softer foam on the inside (mine is very firm foam with a snug fit). I'm also not sure what the alternative is - is it possible to make one without a seam? I don't know, I haven't looked, if you're choosing between this and one that is seamless I'd choose the seamless one but it's not enough of an issue for me to worry about replacing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item for the bike, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
I use it on my bike ride to work.
Keeps cold wind off my face.
Not hot when weather warms up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent augmentation to a woolly hat, 12 Nov 2012
By 
BackstopBob (Ripon, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
This balaclava and a pair of inner gloves were bought for winter use while shooting bows 'n' arrows. Excellent for colder days in Yorkshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job I am told, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a friend who cycles to work and wears a helmet. It is silk so there is no bulk, and I am told it was lovely and warm, which is just what was needed in the very cold weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jasmine Silk Pure Silk Black Balaclava Thermal Under Helmet Protection Mask Ski Cycle Motorcycle Bike - Black (Misc.)
...however it tends to stretch out and it may not be as worm as it would be supposed to be. On the other hand is very comfortable and I'd say it can be adjusted perfectly to any head size. I recommend it for that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews