Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfectly - Pity The Dongles Are Such an Expensive Add-on!
The dongle works very well - picked up the wifi straight away and have the speed I would expect.

My only concern is that - at over 40 - for what looks like such a straightforward piece of technology seems over the top. I would also question why Panasonic dont have built-in wifi on the PVR as default - rather having to buy a separate dongle. A big sales pitch...
Published 19 months ago by Brian Keys

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job but very expensive
I bought a Panasonic Blu-Ray player to update the one we already had and as it was a reasonable price selected it.

I'd seen that it was network capable, the ethernet port was included but get it WiFi enabled had to buy this. You need an internet connection to make the best use of Blu-Ray. Thought I'd have to pay 10 - 15 for that but 50 is a joke...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfectly - Pity The Dongles Are Such an Expensive Add-on!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
The dongle works very well - picked up the wifi straight away and have the speed I would expect.

My only concern is that - at over 40 - for what looks like such a straightforward piece of technology seems over the top. I would also question why Panasonic dont have built-in wifi on the PVR as default - rather having to buy a separate dongle. A big sales pitch for the PVR is around the smartware so you would think that inbuilt wifi especially for a premium brand like a Panny should come as standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly does the job, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
Wasn't sure that this was the right dongle for my non-blue ray machine but I checked with Panasonic and they confirmed that the DY-WL5 and the DY-WL5-EK are one and the same product so blue ray or not doesn't matter. This seems to be a general problem with Amazon descriptions they frequently don't give the technical information that you are looking for

The set up was easy despite the lack of instructions with the product. Just plug it in and follow the instructions on the TV screen. Is working very well so can only recommend it. The lack of instruction is not the sellers fault but down to Panasonic. Overall very pleased with it, the price compared to other outlets and the speed of delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for Panasonic Digital Recorder and BlueRay Player DMR-PWT420EB, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
It was easy to configure and connected immediately to the internet wireless hub. I would welcome increased internet capability such as Skype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wireless Dongle., 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
It does everything I wanted it to do plus more that I did not expect.
I would recommend this piece of technology to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
Dongle was easy to install and works perfectly without messing around with convoluted set-up procedures. Plug in, switch on and go; simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DYWL5EK WIRLESS PANASONIC DONGLE, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
Worked perfectly as soon as I installed it. Since having installed it I have had no trouble with it. Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Woodford (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
Easily installed and does the job. Opens up Panasonic's online features open up new viewing opportunities such as Net Flix and Youtube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job but very expensive, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
I bought a Panasonic Blu-Ray player to update the one we already had and as it was a reasonable price selected it.

I'd seen that it was network capable, the ethernet port was included but get it WiFi enabled had to buy this. You need an internet connection to make the best use of Blu-Ray. Thought I'd have to pay 10 - 15 for that but 50 is a joke.

It connected to the network very easily and I can get onto the internet and use the player as a DLNA device for streaming content from my computer. I can also take advantage of my Netflix account and stream movies etc. So, it makes my old TV semi-smart, that's good.

It takes up a USB port on the front of the player so, aesthetically it's poor.

When you turn it on, during the boot up there's a "Sponsored Ad" for Myspace!! What the hell is that about? Does it mean I get money or Panasonic, make your guess. It's so intrusive it really gets on my wick.

Fancy buying a toaster and finding out that the toast comes out with a brand on saying "Buy Hovis" absolutely bonkers.

Having said all that, it does the job but is very expensive, hence the 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 8 Feb 2014
By 
F. M. Curnow "Fi Curnow" (Worcs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
The only thing this will give you that anyone is likely to want is iPlayer and YouTube. It does not support Lovefilm Instant or BlinkBox. It also comes with NO meaningful instructions. Do yourself a favour. Save yourself 45 and instead put it in the pot to buy yourself a Smart TV sometime in the future which, let's face it, all the manufacturers are trying to force us to do anyway with all these very restricted functionality add-on devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DYWL5EK Dongle, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DYWL5EK WiFi Dongle for DMPBDT120 / DMPBD77 Blu-Ray Players (Accessory)
Was a bit wary about buying this for a DMP-BDT130 but it does the job, although it is a bit expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews