Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escape from space
Set in the not too distant future, Guy Pearce (L.A. Confidential) stars as a wisecracking government agent, Snow, who is wrongly convicted of murder & selling state secrets. But he may just have a way to redeem himself, as the presidents daughter Emilie Warnock (Maggie Grace -Taken) who was visiting a maximum cryostatis prison in space to check on the well being of the...
Published on 6 Sept. 2012 by Jules

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fun
If you've seen the trailer then you've basically seen the best bits. Guy Pearce's character is fun and it's a good action flick but falls dismally away at the end.
Worth 90 mins with a couple of beers on a Saturday night, as long as you can get it at a greatly reduced price!
Published on 17 April 2013 by Connor's Dad


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up my alley!, 18 Jun. 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
I managed to catch this on the big screen and I was lucky as they only planned to show it for a week round here! I read a couple of reviews beforehand so my expectations were sufficiently managed. Yes it's something of a re-hash of Escape from New York but I've been waiting for that for ages now so I was totally stoked when I found out about this. In fact, if you like this sort of thing try this No Escape [DVD] [1994], it has a few titles and some fairly awful cover designs but don't be put off as it's excellent. Anyway, back to Lockout, this is action packed cinema at its best and it knows it. One early sequence of CGI is passable rather than brilliant but doesn't last long. The stuff on the prison station is fine and the sets are great. Dialogue is king here and Guy Pearce completely nails the Snow character, I particularly like it when they sedate him for space travel and he wearliy proclaims that he can't drive home. He has some genuine on screen chemistry with Maggie Grace who succeeds in a mostly generic role. The collection of baddies includes a twitching psychotic cracker called Hydell who delivers his own delicious one liner. I lapped up the whole nostalgic package and will no doubt wear out the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lockout, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lockout [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Lockout is a guilty pleasure of a movie. One that can be enjoyed by switching your brain to auto pilot and going along for the ride. There isn't much going on here but it is at least entertaining.

A promising premise is largely sqaundered in favour of cliche characters and some stock action set pieces. The saving grace is Guy Pearce's Snow. Snarky, sarcastic and glum he is the perfect anti-hero to root for. He is a joy to watch and deserves a more accomplished film.

The action is plentiful but generally doesn't consist more of shooting people in corridors. A brief fist fight over an industrial sized fan offers some suspense but thats all your'e getting.

The effects lurch from seriously dodgy tv budget movie (an awful early bike chase springs to mind) to half decent. Funnily enough the space stuff looks tons better than the scenes set on Earth. The prison ship itself is a little bland, full of grey corridors, but these are livened up by some of the action scenes which do err on the pleasingly gory side.

Snow is too good a character to forget about and could do with a better film so if a sequel can up the ante, have a stronger budget and provide some more inspiring action scenes and characters then another film would be welcome. As it stands this is ideal Saturday night fodder. Enjoyable and forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lockout Schlockout, 1 May 2013
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
"From an idea by Luc Besson"! Ha! As Jules points out, John Carpenter should sue. I'm not a Besson fan at all and reckon "The 5th Elephant" a dreadful piece of tosh so Besson fans can stop reading now. But I do like a good cheesy action movie with some snappy one-liners ("Die Hard", "Demolition Man") and this delivers the goods. I have some reservations (you could skip to the final sentence now).

If you can tolerate the frenetic opening sequence which looks like a cut scene from a computer game and really isn't necessary to the plot, it's worth sticking with the movie. For anybody with an elementary knowledge of science - put that stuff back on the shelf - won't be required today. The plot is absolutely colandered (A linguistic first, I fancy) full of holes but it doesn't really matter; this movie is a rattling bit of popcorn (can't abide the stuff) fun. Pearce makes Snow an agreeably laconic, been-there-done-that hero, and he is well-paired with the President's daughter (underpowered Dad, though). The outer space sets are impressive techno-rubbish and it all bowls along at a breakneck speed.

The main villains are - hurrah! - Scots (See what happens if you leave the Empire!)and the sub-villains are straight out of "Mad Max"/"Escape from New York". There's a vague attempt to make a point about the future of incarceration and the evils of big corporations but I don't think their hearts were really in this stuff. And , there's a Mc (or Mac - those Scots!) Guffin involving a missing briefcase and a mystery code that a 4 year old could crack - sometimes you have to confirm an audience's prejudices - which makes for a feeble final section - and some of the CGI is weak...but...

To sum up. You've seen it all before - but if you liked it before, you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars prisoners in space, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
I like Guy Pearce, he has been in some good movies. I was not so sure at first but 2nd time of watching I enjoyed this film more. There are some violent sequences that I could have done without but overall this is an entertaining film - prisoners escape cells and have hostages that meet sticky endings. Pearce is the hero charged with getting the heroine to safety. You can guess how it all ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All thud and blunder, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
They called it Die Hard in Space. They should be done for false representation.
IT is an OK action film but it lacks the tension and excitement of that great film.
Some of the characters are fairly scary and pretty revolting which helps.. There is a bit of a sub plot in the hero (I forget his name but who cares) tried to find his ex colleague. who can help him clear his name. I still haven't worked out just what happened about that in the end.
Oh well, just sit back and watch the action, it isn't bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old School Escapism, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
A. E. Steele (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lockout [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Lockout is the kind of film I would have loved as a teenager and I enjoyed it all the more because of this. I had expectations of what I was about to watch and the film did not disappoint in this respect. 95 minutes of mindless fun - perfect for a Sunday afternoon. Yes, we've seen it all before but Lockout works - for me anyway. I have not seen (a perfectly cast) Guy Pearce, as wise cracking Snow, have this much fun since leaving Neighbours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mike has never looked so tough, 16 May 2013
By 
S. Roger (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
its a long way fromRamsey street but this film is a great ballance of interest will she wont she and outright action.. die hard meets johnny depp maybe !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great, it's action packed and keeps you entertained to the very end. It's great to watch .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lockout DVD, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery, good exciting film, I can recommend this SF action, good value, as it says in the blurb, Die-hard in space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated Film, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lockout [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film at the pictures and loved it, then saw how cheap it was total bargain and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lockout [DVD]
Lockout [DVD] by Stephen St. Leger (DVD - 2012)
£2.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews