Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good story!
I was quite surprised whilst watching 'House at the End of the Street'. Originally expecting it to be a rather jumpy, but ultimately forgettable horror film. Instead, I found it to be more than decent thriller with a very good story, which could be described as a 'Psycho for the younger audience'.

Jennifer Lawrence stars as Elissa, a young girl who moves to a...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU GET INTO A CAR WITH A KILLER IF IT WAS RAINING REALLY REALLY HARD?
Ten minutes into the film, you have the thing figured out. Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) and her daughter Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) move into a nice home which they got a good deal on because the neighboring house had a double homicide. The daughter killed both her parents. They never found the daughter, but the son who was away at the time now lives in the home. At this point...
Published 23 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good story!, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
I was quite surprised whilst watching 'House at the End of the Street'. Originally expecting it to be a rather jumpy, but ultimately forgettable horror film. Instead, I found it to be more than decent thriller with a very good story, which could be described as a 'Psycho for the younger audience'.

Jennifer Lawrence stars as Elissa, a young girl who moves to a new area with her recently divorced mother Sarah (Elisabeth Shue). Their new home is located next to a house where a girl murdered her parents and was never seen again. The house is a talking point for the other residents, as indeed is Ryan (brilliantly played by Max Thieriot), the brother of the murderous girl who rarely lives the house his parents were slain in. The locals all regard Ryan was an odd ball, some taunt him, whilst others go out of their way to avoid him. The only friend he has is police officer Bill Weaver (Gil Bellows) who protects him from vicious tongues. However, sweet natured Elissa quickly befriends Ryan, much to the horror of her mother. The friendship between the two blossoms, until Elissa begins to worry about what her new friend might be hiding in his basement.

I've picked up many a so-called 'good' thriller for cheap in the DVD section of supermarkets, but 'House at the End of the Street' really is one of them. I actually quickly began to care for the characters, which says a lot for the quality of a film. Whilst it isn't a masterpiece by anyone's standards, nor is it particularly original (as I've said, I was reminded of a modern day 'Psycho' throughout), it does engross you, the performances are excellent, and as for the twist at the end - well, I for one never saw it coming.

Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal but 90 minutes of entertaining fun all the way, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
R. Szikra (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this last night. It's not a horror but definitely edge-of-you-seat thriller. And the twist at the end is incredible, did not see that one coming. Certainly unoriginal but fun all the same. If you're looking for 90 minutes to waste, get this. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 23 Sept. 2012
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
The film begins by giving the back story of the house which will feature later on. In bed is a girl who wakes up in the middle of the night. She walks down the hallway, not looking quite right and making some very strange noises. The girl then proceeds to stab both her mother and father before running away in the woods near her house. From here, I knew that this film wasn't going to be what I expected. Yes, there were a few jumpy bits but I knew that there was going to be a really good story to it as well.

After a creepy and strange beginning, we are taken to the normal lives of Sarah and Elissa who are just moving into their new home, which is massive and stunning. Sarah explains to Elissa early on that the only reason that they can afford it is because of the murder next door but both believe that no one lives there anymore. I really enjoyed getting to know both Sarah and Elissa during the beginning of the film as it showed how strained their relationship was and both of their personalities came through very clearly. I liked that the mother and daughter were so different as it created a nice contrast.

Jennifer Lawrence does well as Elissa, playing a likeable but slightly broken girl with family problems. The character is extremely different from either role that Lawrence plays in The Hunger Games or X: Men so don't be prepared to see anything expected from her. I loved how inquisitive Elissa was and that she wasn't someone who followed the crowd. As she starts a new school, Elissa realises that she doesn't want anything to do with the popular crowd and she eventually finds a friend in Ryan, the guy living next door. Lawrence's performance was really good and extremely believable. She comes across as likeable but with an added hint of mystery and excitement at the same time. She definitely isn't a boring character so there was a lot to like about her.

Playing the guy next door Ryan is Max Thieriot who I had never heard of before. He has a slightly strange look to him which automatically made me suspicious of him but there is also more to him at the same time. It becomes clear quite quickly that everyone in town hates him although I didn't really understand this bit for a large chunk of the film. He lives on his own in the house where his parents were killed by his sister but he has quite a good back story to him as well. Once he had Elissa begin talking, he slowly comes out of his shell and lets his guard down with her. He starts off extremely quiet and holds back but this all added to the mystery which surrounded him.

The chemistry between the two main characters was fantastic and utterly believable. They get to know each other slowly and Elissa sort of forces herself into his life, not wanting him to be all alone in the house without any friends. I really enjoyed getting to know more about both of these characters together and to figure out what was really going on with the plot through seeing them spend time together and apart as well.

The plot was not what I was expecting it to be at all. I was expecting this to be a straight up horror film but it is really more of a thriller with jumpy parts more than anything else. There are so many twists and turns in the plot that I didn't see most of them until the moment they happened. I'm normally really good at guessing these kinds of things early on but not with this film. There are so many hidden facts that there is just no way to guess or to see them coming unless you're a genius. I loved how much this film surprised me in the way of the plot. There are exciting parts, strange and mysterious parts and also some really creepy bits all mixed in together.

While House At The End Of The Street was not at all what I thought it was going to be, I loved every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU GET INTO A CAR WITH A KILLER IF IT WAS RAINING REALLY REALLY HARD?, 27 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
Ten minutes into the film, you have the thing figured out. Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) and her daughter Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) move into a nice home which they got a good deal on because the neighboring house had a double homicide. The daughter killed both her parents. They never found the daughter, but the son who was away at the time now lives in the home. At this point I lead a collective groan in the movie theater.

Perennial teen Jennifer Lawrence, who apparently got hungry in between "Hunger Games" consented to play the ever helpful high school teen rock band singer. Mom works at a hospital and is over protective of Jennifer's movie virginity. This was a fair "B" movie mystery thriller.

The script was good, but wasn't that great. Having someone the caliber of Jennifer Lawrence star in it, didn't add anything to the feature other than a box office attraction. Her fans will surely overrate this film. Let's not kid ourselves it is 3 1/2 stars even with Miss Lawrence. Predictable with a good head fake.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Some immature teen swearing.
Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must watch!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
When i first watched this film i thought it was about a ghost. i was totally wrong but i loved it. the ending is great and recommend it to anybody who loves a good thriller. its not scary though just the odd jump so if you dont like really jumpy things, still give this a watch. you might be suprised and really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passes the time but the story is predictable with few surprises, 3 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
l watched this on Netflix a while back and honestly I had higher expectations of the film. When you see the main actress on the cover credited with a performance in another film, it also is a bit telling in some ways.

The story starts with a scene showing a young woman murder her mother. We then move forward to the present time with a Mother and Daughter moving to a new town, a Doctor called Sarah Cassidy (Elisabeth Shue) and Elissa her Daughter (Jennifer Lawrence). As bad luck would have it they've moved to the area where (cue the title) the House at the end of the street is the place where the murder took place (smile:-) you saw that one coming too)

Max Thieriot (Ryan Jacobson) is the young man who lives in the house being there alone since the murder took place. Max is a bit of a loner and people feel he is strange and avoid him. Elissa eventually ends up being involved with Max despite her mother's objections. What happens next isn't a surprise, I saw it a mile off and you probably worked out the ending too

The problem with the story is despite some decent actors here, it ends up becoming a fairly run of the mill production. It's worth a watch once that is, but I had no desire to see it again and felt the story could have been a lot more interesting and diverse overall. Jennifer Lawrence does her best (she is a good actress no question) but you can only go so far with the material you are given. Sometimes you have to take a risk with any production and possibly wander down a less well trodden path. House at the end of the street plays it very safe and suffers a distinct lack of originality.

It's not awful, it's not great just that uncomfortable place that's about average for a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'CURIOSITY CAN PROVE FATAL', 24 Feb. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Four years after a double murder, the 'Jacobson' house have new neighbours, 'Elissa' ( Jennifer Lawrence---(Hunger Games ) and her mother.
They soon learn that the son of the murder victims lives next door, 'Ryan Jacobson'(Max Thieriot) who's sister 'carrie-anne'(Eve Link) is believed to have killed both parents.
'Elissa' befriends 'Ryan' .....however she will find that 'The House at the End of the Street' holds many secrets most of which will be revealed by her curiosity.
(probably worth '3.5' as a rating, the film though predictable does harbour one or two tense moments)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The boy next door (spoilers), 24 Feb. 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
Remember "Disturbia"? It had the gall to reimagine Alfred Hitchcock's classic "Rear Window" as a teen slasher movie, starring a pre-"Transformers" Shia Labeouf in James Stewart's stead.

Why do I bring this up? Because "House at the End of the Street" might as well be a sequel to "Disturbia," since it takes the same tack of trying to turn a classic Hitchcock movie into a teen horror movie. The one thing that it has going for it is that instead of Shia Labeouf, this movie has the always-wonderful Jennifer Lawrence -- and at times, she feels like its sole saving grace.

Elissa Cassidy (Lawrence) and her newly-divorced mom Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) have just moved into their dream home, in an idyllic upper-crust community full of selfish snobs. Elissa isn't particularly enthusiastic about their new life, but she quickly makes some friends and even is recruited into a rock band at her school (which allows Jennifer Lawrence a chance to show off her lovely singing voice).

But there's a dark side to their neighborhood. Four years ago, Carrie Ann Jacobson slaughtered her parents and seemingly drowned herself -- and now the only living member of the family is Ryan (Max Thieriot), a shy young man who is despised by the whole neighborhood. Why? He's driving their property values down. Seriously.

Despite Sarah's wishes, Elissa becomes intrigued by Ryan, and even sneaks off to spend time with him in his abandoned house. But Elissa doesn't know what Ryan has been hiding in the basement, and what might happen if she were to learn the secrets he's been keeping. When she figures out the truth, Elissa becomes a prisoner facing a fate worse than death.

"House at the End of the Street" is a pretty shameless ripoff of Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho," minus the stuff that was (and is) actually shocking. In fact, director Mark Tonderai seems kind of uncomfortable with incorporating some of that stuff into the story -- he's particularly clumsy with the "mental illness" and "cross-dressing" aspects -- but is all too happy to blatantly rip off some parts of it (the final scene).

Then again, those moments tend to be the most effective in the movie. Tonderai isn't much of a director, with no real style to his work -- he just follows Lawrence around while scary music plays. Also: blonde girls running through the woods at night ARE NOT SCARY.

And as a story, "House" is resolutely mediocre -- it's standard Hollywood suspense populated by stock characters, with a lot of narrative contrivances tied together in so many knots. The dialogue is weak, and a number of the characters really have no reason to be in the movie. For instance, why is Elissa's new best friend in here again? The character adds nothing, and she fades out completely in the second half of the movie.

As the final indignity, major plot points turn into gaping plot holes -- for instance, we NEVER find out why the sheriff is so desperate to protect Ryan. It's just a dramatic device that collapses on itsefl

The one saving grace of this movie is Lawrence, who is doing a pretty phenomenal job with a fairly standard horror heroine -- she comes across as a clever but overconfident girl who doesn't know quite as much as she thinks she does. Shue just stand around looking worried. And Thieriot's entire performance is a third-rate Tony Perkins impression -- it's so obvious just from his performance what is going on!

"House at the End of the Lane" is an embarrassingly clunky movie, imitating random parts of "Psycho" but tailoring it to Mark Tonderai's limited skills. Lawrence is the only good thing about this clot of misery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great idea...sooo badly done, 7 Nov. 2013
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
this film has all the elements there to make a really good suspenseful thriller...and then just falls flat on its face. parts of it don't even really make sense (at one point someone gets stabbed then miraculously gets better, and there's a girl who is isn't ever really explained). it spends way too much time focused on the wrong thing (the relationship between the girl and her mother) and not enough time on the right thing (the damn plot!).
the whole film needs re-editing and the scenes that were obviously cut out need putting back in!
just...not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... for Jennifer Lawrence's performance (which is never less than good in anything I've seen her in), 11 July 2014
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House at the End of the Street [DVD] (DVD)
I found this quite formulaic and predictable but worth watching for Jennifer Lawrence's performance (which is never less than good in anything I've seen her in). There are only paranormal overtones to the film, it's not a ghost story/creepy old house film as such - think "serial killer" and Anthony Perkin's "Norman Bates" in "Psycho" and you're getting warm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House at the End of the Street [DVD]
House at the End of the Street [DVD] by Mark Tonderai (DVD - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews