Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “When I want your opinion, I will buy you a brain.”
Delayed, rescheduled and eventually thrown away by Warner Bros. in the States after they ended their long running partnership with producer Joel Silver amid much acrimony and faring no better in the rest of the world, Bullet to the Head isn’t going to take its place alongside Walter Hill’s best work but it’s far from his worst. The kind of efficient...
Published 6 months ago by Trevor Willsmer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's forty bucks, i've got my own bottle...
A cop and an assassin team up together after there partners are killed. Conan killed one of them, Christian Slater looks relieved to be on the big screen again, and Stallone takes his shirt off at least once.

The plot has something to do with a flash drive, and in the mix, Conan kidnaps Stallones daughter, and the two leads have a bit of banter, all the while...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's forty bucks, i've got my own bottle..., 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A cop and an assassin team up together after there partners are killed. Conan killed one of them, Christian Slater looks relieved to be on the big screen again, and Stallone takes his shirt off at least once.

The plot has something to do with a flash drive, and in the mix, Conan kidnaps Stallones daughter, and the two leads have a bit of banter, all the while advertising Bulleit Bourbon, and Blackberry phones, they are a weapon after all.

Out of all the eighties throwback movies released this side of the year (Die Hard V, The Last Stand), this was the one I was least eager to see. The trailer was horrid, and the one sheet is hilarious (Just look at Shahis airbrushed head).

Stallone hasn't really sold a film on his name alone and had success since probably The Specialist back in 1994, and it's a real shame, because even his worst films are worth watching because of him.

And this is no different, yet, it's nothing really special. It's a throwback to his post Rocky IV days, and the film delivers on the action scale in huge droves and doesn't fail to entertain, but narrative, story, and character building are virtually non-existent.

The chemistry between the two leads is nil, and this is where the film fails the most, that is the fundamental part of the film, and it resorts to them bickering, and Stallone giving an off the cuff remark.

And then the film does that stupid thing with an object, which you know will be used in the finale, the knife may as well have said 'I'm gonna stab Momoa with this' on it.

It entertained as it should, but I soon forgot it, and wouldn't be upset if I never saw it again.

Not as bad as Driven, Avenging Angelo, or Oscar, but it's not as fun as Tango and Cash, or Demolition Man, what it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bites The Bullet, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
Positive.
The opening which sets up what looks a taunt thriller.
Jason Momoa has charisma playing a rival hitman.

Negative.
Sylvester Stallone & this hurts to say but doesn't quite deliver his usual action classic here unlike his recent enjoyable Escape Plan & the exellent The Expendables.
The Ending is very poor & loses the chance at upping the ante in the action department.

Dvd.
Running Time 92 minutes, Director Walter Hill.

Review.
This movie's based on the graphic novel by Alexis Nolent of the same name but doesn't quite deliver as it should do.
Sly plays hitman Jimmy Bobo who's partner is killed by another hitman.

Bobo teams up with honest detective Taylor Kwan who's partner has also been murdered to find the mercenary responsible.

What follows are gunfights, Fistfights, The usual one liners you typical 80's action type film.

But unlike Slys recent efforts the excellent Escape Plan & superb Expendables this doesn't quite hit those mark's.

Sly had no script involvement in this film & it shows the humour seems flat lacking the usual punchy quip.

Sly kicks ass & doesn't go down the 12a action movie routes keeping it hardcore & that at least I commend him on doing.

Sung Kang lacks charisma as Taylor Kwan & the partnership with Boboo doesn't quite Gel.

There's no real standout action scenes either & the pace seems uneven in places.

Christian Slaters small role is annoying & the best kill by Bobo in the movie.

The standout star in this film for me is Jason Momna whom has screen presence & charisma whom can certainly handle the action scenes.

The ending is limp & lacklustre when it should be tense & flowing with great action scenes, Sly does very little here when he should take centre stage leading the action not stay away from it?

The final Fight between Sly's Bobo & Momna's mercenary starts well but limps to a unsatisfying conclusion.

Considering Walter Hill directed this it is a disappointment as he's past credentials Red Heat, 48 Hours, The Warrior's are classics yet this feels sluggish & very average.

Not in Sly's Get Carter or Stop or my Mum will Shoot territory but it's not in the Rocky, Rambo, Expendable league either.

Just a very uninspiring film by some very talented people.

A wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “When I want your opinion, I will buy you a brain.”, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Delayed, rescheduled and eventually thrown away by Warner Bros. in the States after they ended their long running partnership with producer Joel Silver amid much acrimony and faring no better in the rest of the world, Bullet to the Head isn’t going to take its place alongside Walter Hill’s best work but it’s far from his worst. The kind of efficient action thriller that was the industry’s meat and drink in the 70s and 80s but which few bother to see on the big screen these days, it sees him returning to the New Orleans setting of his directorial debut The Streetfighter/Hard Times and the later Johnny Handsome in a modern-day tale of a cop (Sung Kang) whose corrupt ex-partner was murdered teaming up with the hitman (Sylvester Stallone) who did it and whose own partner was murdered by his unknown employers to find out who’s behind it all. We find out long before them thanks to an astonishingly clumsy bit of exposition when Christian Slater’s underworld lawyer is suddenly introduced twenty minutes into the picture to explain the plot to Jason Momoa’s hired muscle in almost kindergarten terms that just screams last-minute-reshoot-after-audiences-got-confused-in-the-previews, but then this isn’t a whodunit: it’s a mismatched cop’n’crook buddy movie with plenty of old school action that’s probably not spectacular or absurd enough for the Michael Bay crowd but offers plenty of enjoyment for those nostalgic for the kind of films they used to have to lie about their age to get in to see when they were growing up.

There’s much macho banter (“You had me at f*** you”) to remind you that even if he hadn’t made a theatrical feature for ten years this is still the same Walter Hill who made 48 Hrs, Stallone taking the bear-like Nick Nolte cut-to-the-chase fists-and-guns approach to crime solving while Kang’s unwanted ethnic foil extols the virtues of his Smartphone to chase up leads and impart exposition to the audience when Christian Slater isn’t around. The action is pleasingly low-fi - callous shootings, a couple of explosions that don’t take out entire city blocks, fights with fists and axes (“What are we, ****ing Vikings?”) - Hill shooting it in a lean, unfussy classical style rather than opting for over-edited shakeycam so that you can see every punch and bullet land. Stallone’s on good form, adept with the world-weary wisecracks and displaying more than enough charisma to compensate for Kang’s deficiencies in that department (he’s a solid foil but a fairly forgettable screen presence) while Momoa makes a particularly good relentless villain who loves his work far more than money. There’s nothing new here and you’ll have no problem predicting every single plot twist, but it’s such a solidly crafted walk down memory lane that fans of old school action movies probably won’t mind at all.

Sadly aside from a good widescreen transfer there's not much to get excited about on the Blu-ray - just a brief featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When Rambo and Khal Drogo met to make a film in New Orleans they immediately ate the scenario with gumbo..., 18 Nov 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
That is the only possible explanation for the failure of this film, which on the surface of things seemed quite promising, but quickly crashed and therefore mostly failed to deliver.

When I saw that Stallone was teaming up with Christian Slater and Jason Momoa to play in a film directed by Walter Hill, a legendary veteran of action cinema, I was really thrilled. The first 10 minutes of the film were actually pretty good - but then, things went south, past Louisiana and even the American continent, straight towards the Pole.

The main culprit here is of course the scenario - or rather the lack of it (understandable - it was eaten). Everything in this film can be anticipated, there is a complete lack of originality, dialogs are VERY lame, there is very little humour and let's not even talk about action scenes! In good action scenes the vilains (or the disposable sidekicks) make at least an effort and if possible put up a fight, offer a challenge, at least I don't know, show that they care a little about NOT dying - here, with just one exception, everybody dies immediately, the moment Stallone or Jason Momoa enter the room. That is not action, it is just boring slaughter.

The idea of pairing up a hit man and a cop on a mission of revenge was very promising, but it was comprehensively FUBAR-ed. Part of responsability lays here with Sung Kang, the guy who plays the cop. This guy CAN'T act at all and his character is a laughable obscene abomination - I can't imagine how Walter Hill could accept such a lamo p-u-s-s-y as one of the two heroes of an action film. Honestly, if you want to see a film in which a hit man and a (former) cop team up in an uneasy alliance, see "Best seller", a 1987 movie with James Woods and Brian Dennehy - that is one bad@ss crime/action film!

In fact, even if this film was adapted from a French graphic novel, Walter Hill tried to repeat here a little the same story as in his greatest hit "48 hours" - but in this latter film he had a good scenario, two actors who could actually act and two vilains who were really scary dudes and put up a realistic big fight. In this film, not only the scenario is MIA but out of two heroes only Stallone makes an effort and the vilains are mostly laughable gun fodder. Christian Slater is completely wasted in this film (as he probably is most of the time in the real life) and the other vilain, played by British actor Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, is just a useless caricature, insanely stupid to the point of insulting and agravating permanently a gigantic uncontrollable psychopatic killer...

That leaves Jason Momoa, who actually tries to save this film a little - but he is not really allowed to play. I am certain however that he found the scenario completely indigest (remember - he ate part of it) as he forcefully smiles a lot, trying to cover a painful grin...)))

The scene of fight between Jason Momoa and Stallone characters is involuntarily funny. I really like Sly, even in his bad films, but he is now a senior citizen and the very idea of him going toe-to-toe against a colossus half his age and twice his size is pretty laughable - and in fact Jason Momoa clearly had to control himself strenuously not to puff...)))

Amongst the very few good things in this film is the completely naked prostitute Lola who appears in the beginning of the film. She is pretty hot (good breasts, great butt) and she shows herself very generously to her public, but being Polish I particularly appreciated that she is played by Weronika Rosati, the daughter of our former minister of foreign affairs. Her dad must be so proud of her...)))

I always liked Stallone, for many reasons, not the least of which is that he is so much detested and mocked by cinema critics, pinko press and all the snotty Hollywood primadonnas. But honestly, this is a bad film, only for the most rabid Stallone's fans. If you want to see him play a hit man in a reasonably good action film, re-watch "Assassins".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, when nothing else to Watch!!!!, 19 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. AM Bond "Destiny has arrived!" (London (SE), UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, let's be frank.

Any film with sly you will straight away thinking of action, men punching each other, racing, silverback chest thumping, one off liners, and a bit of cheese somewhere added in, weak story line, apart from Rocky and Expendables, all other films are likely to be z listers acting alongside.

This film delivers on all aspects of my expectation.

I love sly, so my opinion will always be biased anyway, however the film starts off well, but the Korean cop, omg... acting school please, he acts like a dumb blond. But there is one GOOD LOOKING HANDSOME Muther ... bleep, the Challenger lol, he is HOT.... gave Sly a good run for his money.

The film plot good in places highly weak in others, the fight scenes were great and exciting to watch, but really who dragged Christian Slater from below the Rocks? He acts exactly the same, wooden, drunk and has no purpose really, but for me he was good way back in the day so was nice to see him try to get a bit of air time.

Sly has to be really careful he doesn't slide down the same cheesy film making as old legend - high kicks himself Muscles from Brussles we knw who I mean, Mr Kungfu from Beligum lol.

THE FILM
was entertaining in parts
was interesting
some parts forgettable

But for MAN CANDY... yee har!
Sly has a great body, love his tat's and the Challenger golly gosh, swooning or what

Would I recommend!
Absolutely!! AFter all said and done, its watchable and great to see Stallone punching someone's lights out again, when the fights kicked off I'm sure like me you'll be yelling... cmon Rocky punch harder!!! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise vs Delivery, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of The Warriors and The Driver I had big hopes for Walter Hill's return to movie making.
However, Bullet To The HEad is strictly 3 star stuff, whiles a way a night but doesnt leave much of an impression.
The story is amazingly lacking in originality, Hill was always the master of simplicity but this isnt the bare bones of a story, its the rotting carcass of a story.
The cast is pretty low rent - Sung Kang's sidekick has all the charisma of a lettuce sandwhich. Chrsitan Slater hams it up as usual though, in fact, more would of his character would have been nice as he is certainly entertaining.
Sarah Shahi is also shockingly unerused and a waste of a great actress. It would have been more interesting to see Stallone and Shahi as a father / daughter team of hit men as opposed to the ancient plot device of a kidnapped daughter.
On the positive side Jason Mamoa is a suprisingly memorable villain.
The action scenes are OK but nothing spectacular.
The main thing that left me dissapointed though is that one of my favourite directors teaming up with Sly Stallone could and should have been an old school blast of action, what we get is however a movie that is made and packaged that makes it indistinguishable from the production rank of action movies starring at Best Jason Statham and at worse WWE wrestlers, even down to the opening titles and the CSI style photography. Instead of trying to follow trends it would have been better if Walter Hill had used the tricks of the trade he knows best and showed why he was a pivotal film maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable., 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Walter Hill finally returns to the big screen as a director after a sixteen year break! In my opinion he's one of the all time great action directors. Just look at his first six films: The Streetfighter, The Driver, The Warriors, The Long Riders, Southern Comfort, 48 hrs - wow now that is an impressive run of films. The film is based on a graphic novel written by Alexis Nolent and has been adapted for the screen by Alessandro Camon. The film is set in New Orleans and is a buddy movie which reminded me in some ways of Hill's Red Heat. The film is set in New Orleans where a Korean-American Cop, Taylor Kwon (Sung Kang) from New York arrives in New Orleans on the trail of the killer of his partner. Meanwhile a hitman named Jimmy Bonomo a.k.a. Jimmy Bobo (yes that's what they actually call him) played by Sylvester Stallone is on the trail of the killer of his partner. The two eventually decide to join up and hunt down the bad guys together. Its a fairly entertaining buddy cop film reminiscent of the 80's with a couple of good one liners. I admit that I was surprised that it was this good because I really didn't care for The Expendables that much, but ol' Walter Hill is right at the top of his ability. Beautifully directed, great fun script (a tad weak between the two leads, but not bad) excellent action, pacing and a fantastic soundtrack! Like I alluded to, the interaction between the two leads was a little hokey at times, but I think Sly carried it well. The very end was a little goofy too, but it didn't detract from the film as a whole. So, if what you are looking for is a very well directed Action film with nice touches or irony and with a couple of your favourite stars, then you will totally enjoy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Assassin meets the Specialist in this noir actioner, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
Set in New Orleans, Sylvester Stallone stars as hitman & ex-demolitions expert James Bonomo, who, on his latest job of taking out a dirty cop, is double crossed by his employers & his 6 year partner in crime Louis (Seda) dead. Forging an unlikely & uneasy alliance with nuisance Washington D.C detective Taylor Kwon (Kang) who is there to investigate, they head out for revenge & to bring down the bad guys.

Overall, it's obvious that this is a flashback to no nonsense 80's & 90's buddy cop action movies which Stallone himself is no stranger too. With a distinct noir theme, coupled with the gloomy backdrop of New Orleans & Stallone's narration through the progression of the story, Bullet To The Head certainly has it's own unique flavor. At heart the story is simple yet good enough to follow, but it's all about the action, which it certainly delivers in staggered, well paced style with bloody shootout's, hand to hand combat, explosions, knife & axe fights. It zips through it's 1 hour 30 minute run time.

The chemistry between Sly & Sun Kang (Ninja Assassin) was pretty spot on, they gave each other as good as they got, while the contrasting styles worked well together. Kang a somewhat nieve young detective using his police connections to get information & trying to save lives, while Sly tries to keep them both alive using his street smarts & taking lives. The stand out of the co-stars was a great action performance by Jason Momoa (Conan the Barbarian) who plays the opposing henchman who likes his job a little too much. The remaining support cast backed them up well with Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (G.I. Joe) as the ruthless two faced boss, Sarah Shahi (Fairly legal) adding some romantic distraction & Christian Slater (True Romance) briefly added a little humor & sass as a patsy lawyer.

In conclusion, Bullet To The Head brings it's own unique flavor to an uncomplicated old school action flick. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I GOT YOUR OLD GUY, 3 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
James Bonomo (Sylvester Stallone) is a hitman. Due to a number of circumstances he teams up with Taylor Kwan, an honest cop (Sung Kang) who wants to take people in while Bonomo wants to take them out.

The screenplay for this film is based on a novel which means the writing is a step above the hack made-for-film scripts we've been subjected to by the other heavy weight action film stars...especially the guy with the pony tail. The title "Bullet to the Head" has a duo meaning as Stallone enjoys Bullet bourbon. In the beginning Stallone swerves to miss a cat. This is an omen to the next scene where he spares a woman with a panther tattoo on her back. These subtleties (pay attention writer/actor/cop Steve) along with Louisiana harmonica blues grindhouse music and a superior script overcomes bad acting, including Christian Slater.

The film is filled with action and bullets to the head. It was just enough drama filler to make a story so we don't get bored when we see people get shot. Worth a view for those who like action films just a cut above the grindhouse style.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Nudity (Weronika Rosati, Sarah Shahi-briefly, plus extras.) No sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 8 Dec 2013
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Over the years I've enjoyed watching Stallone in action, his films are rarely masterpieces but they are generally entertaining and this proved no exception. In this action thriller he plays an assassin (naturally one with a code) who is double crossed after a hit. He teams up with a cop to find who set him up, it turns into a bit of a buddy movie at that point.

The action is good and considering his age Stallone still has some good moves (I know good camera work helps, so don't burst my bubble!), it's fast paced from start to finish. The humour isn't quite as strong, there's continued sparring between the two leads which for the most part works, but occasionally falls a bit flat.

A good action film needs a suitable bad guy and Jason Momoa provides just that, he's not the head honcho, more the muscle. He has the bulk and the moves and while he has the warrior look, he doesn't quite make the bad guy in this. I can't quite put my finger on why, I think it's because it looks like he's having fun all the way through it.

Still that is forgiven for the end fight, there needs to be more battles with axes. Like the rest of the film it was great fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray]
Bullet to the Head [Blu-ray] by Walter Hill (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews