Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I GOT YOUR OLD GUY
James Bonomo (Sylvester Stallone) is a hitman. Due to a number of circumstances he teams up with Taylor Kwan, an honest cop (Sung Kang) who wants to take people in, while Bonomo wants to take them out.

The screenplay for this film is based on a novel which means the writing is a step above the hack made-for-film scripts we've been subjected to by the other...
Published 24 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great start poor finish
Stallone doing a good job in a pretty basic 80s style violent thriller. The action is visceral and brutal.
The film builds to a conclusion but never really establishes the 'Bad Guy' other than Jason Momoa doing a good turn as the bad mercenary.

The climax of the film is a it of a confused mess. It doesn't really make a lot of sense. Rather than bringing...
Published 13 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I GOT YOUR OLD GUY, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
James Bonomo (Sylvester Stallone) is a hitman. Due to a number of circumstances he teams up with Taylor Kwan, an honest cop (Sung Kang) who wants to take people in, while Bonomo wants to take them out.

The screenplay for this film is based on a novel which means the writing is a step above the hack made-for-film scripts we've been subjected to by the other heavy weight action film stars...especially the guy with the pony tail. The title "Bullet to the Head" has a duo meaning as Stallone enjoys Bullet bourbon. In the beginning Stallone swerves to miss a cat. This is an omen to the next scene where he spares a woman with a panther tattoo on her back. These subtleties (pay attention writer/actor/cop Steve) along with Louisiana harmonica blues grindhouse music and a superior script overcomes bad acting, including Christian Slater.

The film is filled with action and bullets to the head. It was just enough drama filler to make a story so we don't get bored when we see people get shot. Worth a view for those who like action films just a cut above the grindhouse style.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Nudity (Weronika Rosati, Sarah Shahi-briefly, plus extras.) No sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great start poor finish, 12 Mar. 2014
Stallone doing a good job in a pretty basic 80s style violent thriller. The action is visceral and brutal.
The film builds to a conclusion but never really establishes the 'Bad Guy' other than Jason Momoa doing a good turn as the bad mercenary.

The climax of the film is a it of a confused mess. It doesn't really make a lot of sense. Rather than bringing the threads together the director and writer seem to have given up, thrown their pens in the air and screamed "Gunfight!".

But it's still worth a watch if you do like a bit of retro action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “When I want your opinion, I will buy you a brain.”, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Delayed, rescheduled and eventually thrown away by Warner Bros. in the States after they ended their long running partnership with producer Joel Silver amid much acrimony and faring no better in the rest of the world, Bullet to the Head isn’t going to take its place alongside Walter Hill’s best work but it’s far from his worst. The kind of efficient action thriller that was the industry’s meat and drink in the 70s and 80s but which few bother to see on the big screen these days, it sees him returning to the New Orleans setting of his directorial debut The Streetfighter/Hard Times and the later Johnny Handsome in a modern-day tale of a cop (Sung Kang) whose corrupt ex-partner was murdered teaming up with the hitman (Sylvester Stallone) who did it and whose own partner was murdered by his unknown employers to find out who’s behind it all. We find out long before them thanks to an astonishingly clumsy bit of exposition when Christian Slater’s underworld lawyer is suddenly introduced twenty minutes into the picture to explain the plot to Jason Momoa’s hired muscle in almost kindergarten terms that just screams last-minute-reshoot-after-audiences-got-confused-in-the-previews, but then this isn’t a whodunit: it’s a mismatched cop’n’crook buddy movie with plenty of old school action that’s probably not spectacular or absurd enough for the Michael Bay crowd but offers plenty of enjoyment for those nostalgic for the kind of films they used to have to lie about their age to get in to see when they were growing up.

There’s much macho banter (“You had me at f*** you”) to remind you that even if he hadn’t made a theatrical feature for ten years this is still the same Walter Hill who made 48 Hrs, Stallone taking the bear-like Nick Nolte cut-to-the-chase fists-and-guns approach to crime solving while Kang’s unwanted ethnic foil extols the virtues of his Smartphone to chase up leads and impart exposition to the audience when Christian Slater isn’t around. The action is pleasingly low-fi - callous shootings, a couple of explosions that don’t take out entire city blocks, fights with fists and axes (“What are we, ****ing Vikings?”) - Hill shooting it in a lean, unfussy classical style rather than opting for over-edited shakeycam so that you can see every punch and bullet land. Stallone’s on good form, adept with the world-weary wisecracks and displaying more than enough charisma to compensate for Kang’s deficiencies in that department (he’s a solid foil but a fairly forgettable screen presence) while Momoa makes a particularly good relentless villain who loves his work far more than money. There’s nothing new here and you’ll have no problem predicting every single plot twist, but it’s such a solidly crafted walk down memory lane that fans of old school action movies probably won’t mind at all.

Sadly aside from a good widescreen transfer there's not much to get excited about on the Blu-ray - just a brief featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's forty bucks, i've got my own bottle..., 17 Jan. 2014
A cop and an assassin team up together after there partners are killed. Conan killed one of them, Christian Slater looks relieved to be on the big screen again, and Stallone takes his shirt off at least once.

The plot has something to do with a flash drive, and in the mix, Conan kidnaps Stallones daughter, and the two leads have a bit of banter, all the while advertising Bulleit Bourbon, and Blackberry phones, they are a weapon after all.

Out of all the eighties throwback movies released this side of the year (Die Hard V, The Last Stand), this was the one I was least eager to see. The trailer was horrid, and the one sheet is hilarious (Just look at Shahis airbrushed head).

Stallone hasn't really sold a film on his name alone and had success since probably The Specialist back in 1994, and it's a real shame, because even his worst films are worth watching because of him.

And this is no different, yet, it's nothing really special. It's a throwback to his post Rocky IV days, and the film delivers on the action scale in huge droves and doesn't fail to entertain, but narrative, story, and character building are virtually non-existent.

The chemistry between the two leads is nil, and this is where the film fails the most, that is the fundamental part of the film, and it resorts to them bickering, and Stallone giving an off the cuff remark.

And then the film does that stupid thing with an object, which you know will be used in the finale, the knife may as well have said 'I'm gonna stab Momoa with this' on it.

It entertained as it should, but I soon forgot it, and wouldn't be upset if I never saw it again.

Not as bad as Driven, Avenging Angelo, or Oscar, but it's not as fun as Tango and Cash, or Demolition Man, what it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars When Rambo and Khal Drogo met to make a film in New Orleans they immediately ate the scenario with gumbo..., 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
That is the only possible explanation for the failure of this film, which on the surface of things seemed quite promising, but quickly crashed and therefore mostly failed to deliver.

When I saw that Stallone was teaming up with Christian Slater and Jason Momoa to play in a film directed by Walter Hill, a legendary veteran of action cinema, I was really thrilled. The first 10 minutes of the film were actually pretty good - but then, things went south, past Louisiana and even the American continent, straight towards the Pole.

The main culprit here is of course the scenario - or rather the lack of it (understandable - it was eaten). Everything in this film can be anticipated, there is a complete lack of originality, dialogs are VERY lame, there is very little humour and let's not even talk about action scenes! In good action scenes the vilains (or the disposable sidekicks) make at least an effort and if possible put up a fight, offer a challenge, at least I don't know, show that they care a little about NOT dying - here, with just one exception, everybody dies immediately, the moment Stallone or Jason Momoa enter the room. That is not action, it is just boring slaughter.

The idea of pairing up a hit man and a cop on a mission of revenge was very promising, but it was comprehensively FUBAR-ed. Part of responsability lays here with Sung Kang, the guy who plays the cop. This guy CAN'T act at all and his character is a laughable obscene abomination - I can't imagine how Walter Hill could accept such a lamo p-u-s-s-y as one of the two heroes of an action film. Honestly, if you want to see a film in which a hit man and a (former) cop team up in an uneasy alliance, see "Best seller", a 1987 movie with James Woods and Brian Dennehy - that is one bad@ss crime/action film!

In fact, even if this film was adapted from a French graphic novel, Walter Hill tried to repeat here a little the same story as in his greatest hit "48 hours" - but in this latter film he had a good scenario, two actors who could actually act and two vilains who were really scary dudes and put up a realistic big fight. In this film, not only the scenario is MIA but out of two heroes only Stallone makes an effort and the vilains are mostly laughable gun fodder. Christian Slater is completely wasted in this film (as he probably is most of the time in the real life) and the other vilain, played by British actor Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, is just a useless caricature, insanely stupid to the point of insulting and agravating permanently a gigantic uncontrollable psychopatic killer...

That leaves Jason Momoa, who actually tries to save this film a little - but he is not really allowed to play. I am certain however that he found the scenario completely indigest (remember - he ate part of it) as he forcefully smiles a lot, trying to cover a painful grin...)))

The scene of fight between Jason Momoa and Stallone characters is involuntarily funny. I really like Sly, even in his bad films, but he is now a senior citizen and the very idea of him going toe-to-toe against a colossus half his age and twice his size is pretty laughable - and in fact Jason Momoa clearly had to control himself strenuously not to puff...)))

Amongst the very few good things in this film is the completely naked prostitute Lola who appears in the beginning of the film. She is pretty hot (good breasts, great butt) and she shows herself very generously to her public, but being Polish I particularly appreciated that she is played by Weronika Rosati, the daughter of our former minister of foreign affairs. Her dad must be so proud of her...)))

I always liked Stallone, for many reasons, not the least of which is that he is so much detested and mocked by cinema critics, pinko press and all the snotty Hollywood primadonnas. But honestly, this is a bad film, only for the most rabid Stallone's fans. If you want to see him play a hit man in a reasonably good action film, re-watch "Assassins".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'A PARTNERSHIP BROUGHT TO BEING TO EXACT REVENGE', 3 Jun. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After his partner is killed, 'Jimmy Bobo' reluctantly teams up with
'cop' 'Taylor Kwon' realizing that both have probably been targeted by
the same source.
They set out for revenge tracking down the 'bad apples' trouble is the
harder they shake the tree the higher up the ladder they have to climb.
the stakes are raised when 'Jimmy's' daughter is snatched as a bargaining
tool.
'Taylor' wants to follow the letter of the law whilst 'Jimmy' has no such
subtleties, he solves issues with bullets.
this is an action packed 'romp' ( typical 'Sly' style ) which is well worth
a spin.
** I kinda wonder how long the likes of 'Sly' 'Arnie' and 'Bruce' will
continue to play these 'action-hero' roles ( surely they don't need the
cash these days )
Don't get me wrong,I love their kind of on screen action, just watched
this one, watched 'Arnie's' 'The last stand' a week or so back and
Hope to have 'Bruce's' 'A good day to die hard' through the post next
Monday.
I'm sure i'll enjoy the latter as much as I have the other two......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah excessive violence eighties style! Suck on this Marvel films..., 21 Sept. 2014
You know, by now, what you're going to get with a Stallone film. People get beat up, he gets beat up, he shoots people, he gets shot, and he wins in the end. It still entertains me! But I wouldn't sit down with the girlfriend to watch it, its men only. Men who like to watch other men, muscular men, muscular men beating each other up, sweating, breathing hard. I'm that kind of man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bullet to The Head, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Walker (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
Quick service in getting this DVd was always a good starting point. If you like Stallone then you will like the blend of humour and action that is his style. He certainly looks his age!!!! Put aside your remembrance of the Rocky days physique and just chill out to a decent story and lots of action even if some of the supporting acting isn't as good as it can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding Cop Movie - with Axes!!,, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
This is a action film without a great deal of plot complexity: the bad guys and the bad cops attack Stallone's people and they pay in spades (or axes with Khal Drogo in one case). Though Stallone plays an assassin he manages to take the moral high ground. The cast are built to appeal to several large international audiences and it all fair rocks along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that exciting, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet to the Head [DVD] (DVD)
Stallone have been in better movies.I think the script is to thin.Not much interesting meat on it to put it mildly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet to the Head [DVD]
Bullet to the Head [DVD] by Walter Hill (DVD - 2013)
£3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews