Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense without the gore
I agree with A.Murphy, it is hard to find films with suspense throughout so it was a real surprise to find this film to be full of suspense and second guessing. I didn't expect much but the film delivered, with good acting, interesting characters, no cliches and a genuinely good twist.

I recommend this to anyone who likes a suspense thriller about a serial...
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by Rayfer Jarndis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HE did it. No, wait - HE did it. No, it was HIM. Hold on, maybe it's HER. Hmm - maybe no-one did. No, it must have been HIM
This review is of the Blu-ray version

Escaped abduction victim lives with her sister, her sister goes missing, escapee is convinced the same man who kidnapped her has taken her sister. Police don't believe her (they were never sure she was kidnapped herself the year before) so she goes on the hunt herself.

Three stars for 'It's okay', but ten stars...
Published on 14 Oct. 2012 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HE did it. No, wait - HE did it. No, it was HIM. Hold on, maybe it's HER. Hmm - maybe no-one did. No, it must have been HIM, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review is of the Blu-ray version

Escaped abduction victim lives with her sister, her sister goes missing, escapee is convinced the same man who kidnapped her has taken her sister. Police don't believe her (they were never sure she was kidnapped herself the year before) so she goes on the hunt herself.

Three stars for 'It's okay', but ten stars for the number of red herrings! I lost count of the possible kidnappers, mostly male, at least one female, and at more than one point I wondered if there was a kidnapper at all. In this respect I suppose the director did a fair enough job at creating and maintaining suspense but there isn't much else to enjoy here. The acting and script are average at best, at times wooden and corny. At times it looks a bit like an American TV series rather than a cinema film. Amanda Seyfried has the task of carrying the film, she's in just about every frame, but she is far from convincing, not really capable of handling such a responsibility. If you've seen Mamma Mia, you'll know why. As for GONE, well it's not bad, but surely one of those films that you can only really want to see once, because once you know the outcome there's little to be gained from watching it again (unless you have amnesia).

Pointless as a Blu-ray really, very few hi-tech benefits here and you'd be better off going for the DVD. There are no extras to speak of - the menu options are Play/Scene Selection/Set-Up Options/Previews. Subtitles in English only. The previews are of Underworld Awakening, Lockout, The Grey, and Hugo. And that's it.

So it's just 'okay'. I'm not delighted I rented it, not sorry I did. It's just yet another film that serves little better purpose than passing the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense without the gore, 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with A.Murphy, it is hard to find films with suspense throughout so it was a real surprise to find this film to be full of suspense and second guessing. I didn't expect much but the film delivered, with good acting, interesting characters, no cliches and a genuinely good twist.

I recommend this to anyone who likes a suspense thriller about a serial killer without the usual modern day blood and guts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ADULTS HAVE THE RIGHT TO DISAPPEAR, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
Amanda Seyfried is waitress Jill who has nightmares of a past abduction. She lives with her sister Molly (Emily Wickersham) who is the smart sane sensible one of the two. When Molly goes missing, Jill goes into a frenzy thinking she too has been abducted by the same guy, even though the MO appears to be different.

Amanda is a bit flighty when she goes to the police with her 1 hour missing sister story. Because there was no evidence from her last abduction...if fact it was contrary to her story, the police show reluctance to help Amanda, telling her to come back Monday if her sister is still missing. She also has a history of "Crying Wolf." Amanda is convinced it is the same guy who abducted her, and her sister is going to be killed tonight if she doesn't find her and the killer. Officer McKay seems willing to help, but his interest in Amanda comes across as less than professional and is suspect to anyone who watches these films. Molly's boyfriend (Sebastian Stan) has his doubts too and appears less than concerned as suspects mount. To add to that list of suspects there is the creepy neighbor as well as the creepy locksmiths.

Armed with information from the creepy neighbor and a .38 Amanda won't sleep until the abductor is found.

The ending was fine, but it needed a final Hitchcock twist. Seyfried looked stellar in a sea of prop actors.

1 f-bomb, silhouette nudity, no sex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS SHE GONE IN THE HEAD?, 25 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Gone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Interesting thriller in which one sisters seeks the other,she believes her previous kidnapper has taken her sister for failure of finding his intended. The question being is do we believe the police that say this sister is deluded and that the past never really happened.
That really is what this film relies on,can she be seen as credible?
This works as a mystery thriller that keeps you guessing as to what is really going on.
Is the sister's sibling really gone by the hands of a previous kidnapper or is the girl looking just mad? You can do far worse than this interesting little thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thriller, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Chose this rating cos a great thriller Amanda seyfried great actress right person for the part you felt you was there with her. Would recommend this for a great night in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
Amanda Seyfied doesn't appear in as many movies as I would wish, she is absolutely gorgeous, and in this is very believable AND persistent. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY UNDERRATED THILLER, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I cannot understand why this movie is getting such bad reviews. The movie is well paced, keeps you guessing until the very end and boasts an excellent performance from Amanda Seyfried. Like a lot of Hollywood thrillers it is not 100% realistic but it is very entertaining from start to finish. I would recommend this film to anyone so please watch it and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping throughout, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
Its hard to find films these days that will keep you guessing and interested throughout. This one does. I rarely give more than 3 stars to a film these days so youi can see I waas gripped. Amanda Seyfried as the lead actress keeps us mystified to the end in a great piece of acting. Lots of good characters and edge of the seat drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but wouldn't watch again!, 24 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable but worth a second watch? ... Maybe not.

I did enjoy this film and enjoyed the unfolding of the thriller. For that reason I would give it 3.5 stars.
However it was a little simplistic for my liking and I enjoy the twists and turns that most thrillers tend to take, building up the suspense. The ending was a little too convient for my liking also (the identity of the kidnapper) For that reason plus the fact that once you've seen it you know what happens, would I rewatch? Maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great., 28 July 2014
By 
P. B. Ramsay (W. Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone [DVD]
Gone [DVD] by Heitor Dhalia (DVD - 2012)
£3.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews