Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic recruitment video for the US Army
...but boy is it fantastic!! Act of Valor features genuine U.S. Navy SEALs and U.S. Navy Special Warfare Combatant Crewmen with actual military hardware, resultantly it has an incredible edge of realism, people's mannerisms and attitude to their equipment is authentic.

It follows the story of a global terrorist threat that is intent on smuggling suicide-bombers...
Published on 10 April 2012 by J. Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad
That so many people regard this film as worthwhile is a sad indictment of our culture and values. This film is bad in two ways: firstly as an example of the art itself and secondly as a documentary on the social and political issues it raises.

On the first count, there is no credible narrative, a laughably poor script and appalling "acting". There are no...
Published 1 month ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic recruitment video for the US Army, 10 April 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
...but boy is it fantastic!! Act of Valor features genuine U.S. Navy SEALs and U.S. Navy Special Warfare Combatant Crewmen with actual military hardware, resultantly it has an incredible edge of realism, people's mannerisms and attitude to their equipment is authentic.

It follows the story of a global terrorist threat that is intent on smuggling suicide-bombers wrapped in the latest bomb-vest technology; untraceable & undetectable ceramic ball-bearing explosives. With the sheer number of people trying to infiltrate the United States via people-smuggling networks these relatively minor explosions will cause mass hysteria and ultimately the collapse of the American economy if the terrorists get their way. Standing between them and the world are the SEALs (Team 7, in this instance) who will not rest until this plot has been defused.

Firstly, I feel it important to say that I appreciate that this is a recruitment video, that it is American propaganda and heavily one-sided, but despite these points I have never been so entertained by a military film and for this - solely cinematic - perspective, Act of Valor definitely deserves the five stars. For fans of the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare series or any other FPS this is a dream. There are multiple camera shots down-barrel, FLIR images from circling drones, HALO jumps, AC-130 Spectre gunships, sniper scope cameras and boat-drops from Chinooks. Basically, if it's been in a video-game it's here in all it's glory on celluloid. Not only does it have a strong element of realism, it's a beautifully shot experience filmed in multiple locations (The Philippines, Somalia, Mexico amongst others).

Extra Content: There are interviews with the Navy SEALs and 7 featurettes titled: Making Of, Real Bullets, Real SEALs Real Tactics, Silent Warriors, "For You" (a music video by Keith Urban), Making of the Music Video, Director's Intro.

The film states that the story is "based on real acts of valor" and all of the scenes have purportedly taken place, albeit not to the exact same unit in the frenetic sequence seen in this film, but that's Hollywood for you. The end result is an extremely entertaining, occasionally poignant, but always exciting military film. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USA USA USA!, 24 Sep 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had never heard of this movie until mentioned by another reviewer a few weeks ago. Had a quick look, ordered it and really enjoyed it!

Act Of Valour is about a team of US Navy Seals whom are deployed in several different areas globally trying to stop a terrorist from getting some high tech suicide bomb jackets into America. The intended targets are shopping malls, sports arenas and densely populated main cities to cause maximum fatalities and economic chaos.

Using real life Navy Seals the movie has been made in a semi-documentary style and I would say call of duty-esque! A lot of first person helmet style camera shots are used. Which is a nice touch and brings a little of the reality home in my opinion.The professionalism comes across well throughout as it gives you an insight into what these soldiers do for a living and how good they are at it! Anybody who's played COD will appreciate the real life technologies that the seals use during missions and according to the blurb the seals actually insisted on using live ammunition when signing up to make this movie!

Being a bluray the action sequences (for me) are wow! The fine detail can be picked out on weapons and uniforms. Things like bullet holes in walls and vehicles etc during firefights only add to the action. The colours of the jungle look brilliant. Nightscenes are very clear with no loss of detail. Considering this was shot on an inexpensive camera (A Canon 5D mark ll ) it is absolutely brilliant! Audiowise crank your 5.1 system up! With bullets whizzing in every direction explosions punching through the air during shootouts and in one scene the quiet ambiance of a night parachute insertion to the sound of a cricket chirrupping (is that a word?) in the foreground, you'll be right in the middle of the action!

Extras include
-Director's Commentary.
-Deleted scenes.
-Directors introduction.
-Interviews with the Navy seals who were in the movie.
-The making of.
-Real bullets
-Real seals
-Silent warriors
-Music video and making of

It's been said that this movie is just a propaganda and recruitment tool. The US Navy have actually admitted that it was intended to be exactly that! Aimed at 20-30 year old men with the hope of recruiting an extra 500 seals! So there you go!Although the acting by the non actor real navy seals is awful, puppet like and monotone in delivery, for the action and technology and realism alone I've gotta give it a five star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
Great film, All the main cast are SEALs. You can't get a more accurate account of what SEALs do. THEY helped produce the film from start to finish.

I can't beleive someone has written it glorifies war! Why buy a bloody war film!!!

great visual effects, great screen play, only negative is the acting is a little off, but that is because these guys are true 100% warriors not pro actors. I can't find any other fault.

Great film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Act of Valour, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Roger Lawrence "Rog" (Torquay, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
Excellent film. These guys are good (OURS are better!!) Appears a little 'staged' but appreciate they couldn't do much else really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent action film, 4 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Act of Valour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quite enjoyed this. Action set pieces are all good. Dialogue is a little cheesy at times. It is a little bit pro USA which is probably where the negative reviews come from. Interestingly a similare movie (Special Forces) which is a French mainly subtitled movie gets 4.5 stars and many 5 star reviews. Just shows stick some subtitles on a film and the more pretentious reviewer will give it an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
That so many people regard this film as worthwhile is a sad indictment of our culture and values. This film is bad in two ways: firstly as an example of the art itself and secondly as a documentary on the social and political issues it raises.

On the first count, there is no credible narrative, a laughably poor script and appalling "acting". There are no characters in this movie, just bodies. The film is essentially a vehicle for 90 minutes of poorly staged shoot-outs.

On the second count, suffice to say that this is a film that supports USA political, and consequently security, interests without question or debate.

Mindless nonsense for the video game market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real heroism, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
Act of valour has some of the most wooden acting you will ever see in film. But in the film's defense the stars of this film aren't actors they are real life navy SEALS and the film follows them on one of their very dangerous missions to stop a madman from setting off suicide bombs. The action scenes are very tense and terrific and despite the wooden acting from the SEALS it does give the film a feel of authenticity that might not have worked and turned the film into just another average hollywood action film if they had used hollywood action stars in the lead and shows you what these guys have to go through before returning home to their families. For something that started as a training video for navy SEALS and recruitment film this is something that while not quite classic is certainly well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live ammo blow out, 20 July 2012
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a difficult film to review. The bottom line is that I enjoyed it but probably not for the reasons the makers meant people to. OK so the acting isn't brilliant BUT of course these are not actors and sometimes realism sucks when your used to gung ho special effects films.

My main criticism is that they spread the story too thinly, trying to get too much into 90 minutes. Concentrating more on one segment may have made this a better film.

There is no doubt that if you cut this film through the middle it would be red, white and blue. Of course a pro-military film is the only way the producers would have gotten the co-operation of the Special Warfare Command and access to all the kit. Much of the shooting is with live ammo, this is explained in one of the many extras, all of which are only a few minutes long.

This is definitely a 'bloke' film and great for a Friday night in with your mates and a few beers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected...who knew operators could act?, 11 July 2012
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
well I expected this to be a gung ho piece of rubbish, but seen as notghing else was on I sat down and strapped myself in ready for a cheese fest with lots of spent ammo

well I was plesently surpised. it wasnt badly acted ( especially seen as alot of the military cast are serving SEALS), just a little wooden in parts but keaneu gets millions for doing that. the plot is more realistic than most, and teh action sequences are cut in a minimalistic way that makes them more realistic. less pointless dialogue and plot points to the sound of gunfire. played basically like a doumentry with an understated plot and character development, which was good as you dont want to give teh amatuers too much to do in teh way of talking. lookjs a bit B movie in parts but ony in short instances. Makes you wonder what hollywood burns all that money on when it seems all you need is some seals, lots of ammo, and a bit of competence and you have all the makings of an very good action movie.

all in all for what its was I actually enjoyed it. I know people are going to think some of its cheesey and been done before. however I found this more realistic in its execution than most forced war films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real soldiers, not muppets acting as warriors, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Federico Aloisi "Gatt" (Milan, MI Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Act of Valour [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
If someone wants to see how real Seal's perform as actor, man their guns, move during recon missions, signal among themselves when in close contact with the enemy .... then buy and see this movie.

The story is so-so and the dialogues are those between normal guys, so most of the time dumb and boring (like in real life).

What remains? The movie is hollywood-ish and too spectacular. A water based Top Gun.

At least, here, we dont have muppets/clowns acting as soldiers, but real soldiers.

I served in a small amphibious recon unit. When I saw the movie the first time I didnt know they were real Seals/soldiers and I asked myself: how the heck real actors can manage guns and move so well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Act of Valour [Blu-ray]
Act of Valour [Blu-ray] by Scott Waugh (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews