Customer Reviews


1,317 Reviews
5 star:
 (860)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (211)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Years in the making, the wait was absolutely worth it.
Avengers Assemble is the accumulation of years of work leading up to this point linking different characters from other movies all in the Marvel universe. There have been easter eggs, extra scenes and references all connecting the franchies together. If you haven't seen them this film is still watchable but I would highly recommend you watch Marvel phase one in this order...
Published 2 months ago by FallenGrace

versus
705 of 779 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disney disney treat the Uk equally to US.
When we the public were being primed for the introduction of Blu-Ray, one of the primary benefits of the greater capacity in relation to DVD was that there would be access to far more features and extras such as directors commentarys; yes they were going to be considerably more expensive than DVD but you got so much more for your money, it wasn't just better sound and...
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by Mr. C. H. Redmond


‹ Previous | 1 2132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Years in the making, the wait was absolutely worth it., 27 Dec. 2014
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Avengers Assemble is the accumulation of years of work leading up to this point linking different characters from other movies all in the Marvel universe. There have been easter eggs, extra scenes and references all connecting the franchies together. If you haven't seen them this film is still watchable but I would highly recommend you watch Marvel phase one in this order first to get the most out of it:

1- Iron Man
2- The Incredible Hulk
3- Iron Man 2
4- Thor
5- Captain America: The First Avenger

Onto Avengers Assemble then, I simply loved it. The plot is fairly thin on the ground but seems to be leading onto events in future movies. Loki, the trickster god having been thwarted from obtaining power in Asgard has made a pact with an alien race called the Chitauri to help him take over the earth in exchange for a mysterious cube called the Tesseract. Nick Fury the commander of the international agency SHIELD desperate and outgunned inacts the Avengers initiative calling on earth's most powerful if unstable heroes to stop them.

What Avengers does so very well is merges all the big names of the Marvel cinema universe as well as small ones into one cohesive film that balances the screentime of these characters to make a fantastic paced, action filled and often very funny movie.

The visual effects are some of the best you'll see with aliens, explosions, transformations etc. It's truly stunning in HD and the acting performances from everyone are great, especially Robert Downey Jr who simply steals every scene he's in as the genius billionaire playboy philanthropist Tony Stark.

The blu-Ray seems to have frustrated many people as there have apparently been extras cut from the Uk version that were in the US edition but it still has the extras I personally enjoy such as an extra Marvel one shot episode with Jasper Sitwell, a great gag reel, deleted scenes and a short making of feature. All in all it's only maybe 20-30 minutes worth which doesn't seem like a lot for such a huge blockbuster.

To sum up my thoughts as a big Marvel fan, the Avengers is great looking, funny, action filled and blends the Marvel Universe together in a way no one has ever tried in film before. If you aren't a sci-fi or comic book fan then I could see how this wouldn't impress but otherwise it's a must see.

+ Integration of the Marvel universe is brilliant.
+ Characters balanced very well.
+ Robert Downey Jr.
+ Amazing visuals and action.

- Lack of Blu-Ray extras could bother people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US import 3D Marvel's Avengers, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of the comics when I was 5 to about 16, this is a fair attempt to bring the Avengers to film. The main characters of the incredible Hulk, the Mighty Thor, Iron Man and Captain America (from a later run of the comics) are included and I like the way that marvel included the scene of Thor donning his armour in a field (Was this an attempt to slip in something of the norse mythology on earth, instead of Asgard, where Thor resided in Bilskirnir (lightning-crack) within Thrudvangar ("the field of power")? Possibly not, as Bilskirnir was a Hall/palace & Thrudvangar and Thrudheim ("World of Strength") are often inter-changed ...but it was still a very enjoyable film. Anyway, don't get the U.K release you'll get short changed. Buy the US import 3D blu-ray combo. You'll get a 3D fully featured, multi-region, full version of the film without any of the editing that goes on in the U.K version, a fully featured multi-region un-cut blu-ray of the film that has Joss Whedon's commentary, deleted scenes and other special features, a US coded DVD (This is for US region1 DVD players and multi-region DVD players only), a digital copy of the film (downloads to iTunes with a US iTunes account) and a MP3 Avengers music album. Enjoy!!!

I ordered from "All your music" and it arrived from the US to the UK and to my door within 9 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


705 of 779 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disney disney treat the Uk equally to US., 14 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. C. H. Redmond "BOXINGHRIS" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When we the public were being primed for the introduction of Blu-Ray, one of the primary benefits of the greater capacity in relation to DVD was that there would be access to far more features and extras such as directors commentarys; yes they were going to be considerably more expensive than DVD but you got so much more for your money, it wasn't just better sound and audio.

However, here we see despite the significantly higher premium over DVD, this Blu-Ray offers zero extras, not because they're not available or won't fit on the disc, but because Disney know many individuals will have been waiting for this disc and will pre-order, unaware of the omissions, and of course Disney will then release a 'Special Edition' including everything they should include now.

The sad fact is that many enthusiasts will end up buying both Blu-Rays, and it's this disgraceful attitude towards the UK and all markets except the US which means I never buy new Blu-Rays anymore, preferring to buy them used on Amazon.

And the studios wonder why there's such a massive market for pirated films? It's because you're a bunch of greedy, self-serving entities that's why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


293 of 324 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, Disney have ripped off the UK, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
Sarah Roadley (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Scenes edited, extras missing all because they rushed the UK release. Other European countries get this unedited.

Please please buy the US version which will work on your UK PS3 or Bluray player. Unedited & all the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


259 of 290 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing features, and edited!, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not only have Disney treated their UK buyers appallingly by leaving off special features (they've already dropped the DVDs from their animated classics unlike the US versions) it now seems as if we get the edited version that (some) other European countries are getting. How can Disney even release a version here that wasn't the one classified by the BBFC?

This is completely unacceptable and shows nothing more than contempt for UK customers, especially considering the movie in question.

I can understand retailer exclusives with bonus discs and steelbook packaging, but no matter where you buy it you'll not be getting the complete movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Release the UK Should HAVE!, 12 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the release the UK should have had with The Avengers! None of this Avengers Assemble either. Just plain old Marvel's Avengers. Like we cant distinguish between a fairly cool 60's/70's TV show and the comic book Avengers!!! Nonsense.

Anyway, with a 3D Bluray, Bluray, DVD, Digital Copy and free download of the soundtrack THIS is the edition required for completists. (or geeks :S)

Also, barring the 'making of' which was, infuriatingly, a supermarket exclusive, we get all the behind the scenes stuff available. Best of all being the superb commentary with Joss Whedon himself who is an engaging and often funny host throughout the movie.

The picture is crystal clear throughout in the Bluray 2D feature and looks really quite stunning at times. The scope of the end battle (New Yoik flattened again) is epic. Sound is also excellent. I cant comment on the 3D aspect but by all accounts it is fantastic.

I personally think the villains are a bit faceless to be honest but hey, with this many good guys to root for in this 'smash em up' I can forgive a bit of general baddie ho hummery.

All in all a 4 star release for, probably, a 4 star movie. I would have liked the making of feature but still great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


243 of 273 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No special features guarantees I won't buy it, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Andrew Leatherbarrow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Was fully intending to get this until I noticed that all the special features have been cut out. Way to go Marvel/Disney. Why release something like this - a disk that was going to sell insane numbers - and waste the opportunity by gutting it? All you're doing is pissing people off. No way I'll be buying this, might try and import the US release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the film, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
S. Wilson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just criticising the handling of the release.

So, the UK edition is missing an audio commentary from Joss Whedon (and I'm assuming others) and a Soundgarden music video. If you're a fan of a release, then yes it's a kick in the gut.

I remember reading Disney UK's response about the commentary, they said that they didn't have enough time to include it on the disc. Here's the thing though, there is a week of a difference between our release date and the US. Yet, the US gets it no problem. So, you've gotta imagine that the US and UK discs were being mastered at roughly the same time. So, unless I'm REALLY missing something, I don't see what the problem was/is.

On top of that, there is now the "digitally removed" spear issue. Which if you listen to Disney, isn't an issue as it wasn't there in the first place. Yeah, it doesn't really take anything away from the flick, but the fact is you're still paying for something that has been altered without any mention.

Then, there is the general (mis)handling of the release.

If you get it from somewhere else (dunno if I can name it here), you get an hour and a half documentary on top of everything else. But, you miss out on the 3D release if you're gunning for that. If you want the DVD, you miss out on the documentary and I think the rest of the stuff on the bluray release.

So, US extras are at the side for the second. Unless you're willing to buy EVERY version of the flick, you're gonna miss out on something.

It's happened before and it'll happen again. But just kind of annoyed at how blatant Disney is being with this whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better film than The Dark Knight Rises but a ripoff DVD - avoid and cancel in protest., 9 Sept. 2012
Does nobody review the disc package anymore? Even if you went to "the rival" store to pre-order you're getting just one extra piece of content. On Amazon.com Americans can pay one price and get the definitive edition for home; in the UK we get next to nothing in comparison and it's still unclear whether that 10-disc collector's set of the last 6 Marvel films has also got a different set of extras again for Region B.

I can accept Blu Rays having more extras than a DVD but now this content split between countries is ridiculous. A shame that they would pick their best comic film yet to annoy fans like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US version is region free, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered the US 4 disc combo set through Amazon UK as I was disappointed with the UK release.

Wanted to confirm for anyone who's concerned that the US version is definitely multi region, plays fine on UK players.

Cost a little more, just over £27 including shipping but you get a much better set - 3D BD, 2D BD, DVD, digital copy, and soundtrack download - fantastic! ... and the Coulson "scene" isn't tampered with, as in the UK version!

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel's Avengers Assemble [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£8.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews