Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a...
Published 24 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not as good as the first film, but ok.
Published 5 months ago by dennis


‹ Previous | 1 2 381 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for all ages!, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Suze (Seaton, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time, gave it to my adult daughter for her birthday (with one or two other things) and she loves it. I'll, no doubt, get to watch it over Christmas, or sometime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite as good as the original; in my view 'prequels' often aren't. For the British viewer, some details of / satire about US University life may be less than clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarily good, 9 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Pixar films you'll love this sequel to Monsters Inc. It's funny, smart, has likeable characters, and has an unforced charm that's difficult to resist.

Mike and Sullivan are both struggling to make the grade at Monsters University as scarers - monsters who specialise in scaring human children in order to generate scream energy to power their world. Sullivan is scary but lazy and unimaginative, while Mike is smart but lacks scariness. Between them, and with the help of their nerdy fraternity , they struggle against the odds and the smug university elite to graduate.

This is a very funny film - and the fact that I enjoyed it (a 52-year old man) as much as my 10 year old tom-boy youngest daughter and my 12 years old girly daughter, shows the broad appeal of the film. I always find similar films by DreamWorks and other film makes pitch jokes either solely at the children, with the odd sly joke just for the grown-ups. Pixar often manage to hit both targets with one funny gag. The snail rushing for his class had us all laughing (in my case off and on for hours - it's SUCH a good visual). The fraternity initiation was also brilliant, as is the moment when Mike finds himself in the middle of a dormitory of curious children wanting to find out what this funny little monster is (human children are highly toxic to monsters).

Monsters Inc was a great film, and if this isn't quite at the same level, there is no shame in that because it's a close second. I strongly recommend this film. Add the cute opening short about loved up umbrellas and it's irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but I loved this maybe even more than the original, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for an 11 year old, but I loved this maybe even more than the original. Great DVD, good price, well packaged and delivered on time, would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film!, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
I was nagged into buying this during the holidays - My daughter thoroughly enjoyed it and has watched it at least twice more when she has had friends over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monsters are back to school, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Monsters University is an absolute joy from start to finish. A genius move of Pixar to revisit some old characters by creating a totally plausible prequel story.

Colourful, energetic and full of funny and interesting characters the imagination of Pixar never ceases to amaze. Here we find Mike and Sulley before they were friends both with dreams of becoming the best scarers in Monstropolis. Of course the path to true friendship has many ups and downs so this forms the main crux of the story.

After trying to outdo each other in class and knocking over the Deans' prized capsule and smashing it into pieces they are promptly chucked out of the scaring school. Mike decides to enter a scaring competition to prove that he is worthy of such a position and ends up with the most unscary bunch of monsters you could imagine.

Cue some hilarious challenges. The pace is quick and the energy high. Admittedly some of the characters in Mike's group are nothing more than talking heads to make up numbers but on the whole they are a fun bunch to hang around with.

The usual Pixar standards are in place such as the superb animation and some well developed relationships and characters that you cannot help but root for.

Pixar have managed to take something that could well have been stale and turned it into something fresh and inventive. If any anything it is a delight to hang around with some old friends once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film. It is quite different to Monsters Inc, lots more monsters but still plenty of funny one liners and a nice storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monsters University [DVD], 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Funny and great for the family get together in the afternoon.
Story line is good, shows confidence, shy and good team playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great dvd of how sully and Mike met, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great dvd of how sully and Mike met. Good viewing for both adults and kids, would rate it on a level with the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love these characters, 2 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who doesn't love these characters. Both my two year old and four year old love it. Even the "bad chaps" aren't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 381 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters University [DVD]
Monsters University [DVD] by Dan Scanlon (DVD - 2013)
£6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews