Customer Reviews


759 Reviews
5 star:
 (582)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a...
Published 21 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original.
Sadly not as good as the original (sequels seldom are), however the love of the familiar characters carry you through.
Published 6 months ago by N. Kilbey


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE, 9 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a scarer.

Mike is a rival to Sullivan, a university legacy (John Goodman) but later they operate on the same team.

The film is cute. The initiation scene was my favorite with a laugh out loud chuckle. I watched the film with a five year old who can't stand scary movies. She loved this one.

One the kids enjoyed ages 5 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Sully meets Mike, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn't stand each other.

“Monsters University" is a prequel to the film "Monsters Inc.". In addition to the two main characters, a whole lot of new characters are introduced at the college that Mike and Sully attended. The CGI was simply and yet gorgeous, and a production that was a pleasure to watch. It’s a sumptuous film, which was all infectious fun, despite the lack of originality it, still managed to tickle the funny bones. There is good animation here and with a plot driven by well-done characterisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Prequel!, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
G W (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first Monsters Inc movie was a tough act to follow but Monsters University somehow manages to keep the idea fresh and add an engaging new storyline that doesn't spoil the original. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grest film, but dissapointing lack of extras., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say, Pixar have done it again. However I am increasingly frustrated by the lack of extra material and the abolishment of the double and triple plays by Disney ! Sort it out Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blasting, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
there is no letdown here, maybe not as good as monsters inc but i think most of us expected that. That being said this is fun and a real family occasion as everyone will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for all ages!, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Suze (Seaton, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time, gave it to my adult daughter for her birthday (with one or two other things) and she loves it. I'll, no doubt, get to watch it over Christmas, or sometime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite as good as the original; in my view 'prequels' often aren't. For the British viewer, some details of / satire about US University life may be less than clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarily good, 9 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Pixar films you'll love this sequel to Monsters Inc. It's funny, smart, has likeable characters, and has an unforced charm that's difficult to resist.

Mike and Sullivan are both struggling to make the grade at Monsters University as scarers - monsters who specialise in scaring human children in order to generate scream energy to power their world. Sullivan is scary but lazy and unimaginative, while Mike is smart but lacks scariness. Between them, and with the help of their nerdy fraternity , they struggle against the odds and the smug university elite to graduate.

This is a very funny film - and the fact that I enjoyed it (a 52-year old man) as much as my 10 year old tom-boy youngest daughter and my 12 years old girly daughter, shows the broad appeal of the film. I always find similar films by DreamWorks and other film makes pitch jokes either solely at the children, with the odd sly joke just for the grown-ups. Pixar often manage to hit both targets with one funny gag. The snail rushing for his class had us all laughing (in my case off and on for hours - it's SUCH a good visual). The fraternity initiation was also brilliant, as is the moment when Mike finds himself in the middle of a dormitory of curious children wanting to find out what this funny little monster is (human children are highly toxic to monsters).

Monsters Inc was a great film, and if this isn't quite at the same level, there is no shame in that because it's a close second. I strongly recommend this film. Add the cute opening short about loved up umbrellas and it's irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but I loved this maybe even more than the original, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for an 11 year old, but I loved this maybe even more than the original. Great DVD, good price, well packaged and delivered on time, would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film!, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
I was nagged into buying this during the holidays - My daughter thoroughly enjoyed it and has watched it at least twice more when she has had friends over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters University [DVD]
Monsters University [DVD] by Dan Scanlon (DVD - 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews