Customer Reviews


602 Reviews
5 star:
 (457)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Sully meets Mike
This all infectious fun, despite the lack of originality, but still manages tickle the funny bones. There is good animation here and the plot driven by well done characterisations.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original.
Sadly not as good as the original (sequels seldom are), however the love of the familiar characters carry you through.
Published 1 month ago by N. Kilbey


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Sully meets Mike, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This all infectious fun, despite the lack of originality, but still manages tickle the funny bones. There is good animation here and the plot driven by well done characterisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The scaremongers are back, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
The first movie was a classic, making it all the more mystifying that it took the studio so long to come up with a sequel - particularly when rival productions such as Cars and Shrek quickly appeared in shiny new adventures. Has it been worth the wait? Well yes, but unfortunately not emphatically so. The producers decided to go down the "prequel sequel" route, and I'm not convinced it was the right decision at this stage.
Of course, it has it's moments, and it is good to see how the two main characters of Sulley and Mike became pals, but that aspect alone struggles to uphold the viewer's interest for the duration of the whole movie. Other familiar faces are present too, including their chameleonic nemesis, who started out as Mr Nice Guy and developed a hatred for our heroes.
At the end of the day, it is an enjoyable movie, and well worth seeing. I guess I just expected a little more after such a long wait for a new Monsters Inc adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE, 9 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a scarer.

Mike is a rival to Sullivan, a university legacy (John Goodman) but later they operate on the same team.

The film is cute. The initiation scene was my favorite with a laugh out loud chuckle. I watched the film with a five year old who can't stand scary movies. She loved this one.

One the kids enjoyed ages 5 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
By 
Good quality however think it was a little expensive back when I bought it (before xmas). Quick dispatch time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... nephew as he has the first monsters inc and loved this film when he seen it, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my nephew as he has the first monsters inc and loved this film when he seen it. It is quite a funny film and one that the whole family can watch together. Was a bargain price too as I bought it in the two disney dvds for £13 offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a Christmas present for my neice - she loves it - I have watched it too as my husband got this for his birthday and its great, very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't compare!, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
As what happens with sequels or prequels in this case, they're never as good as the original. But if you don't compare it (hard I know) then it's actually a fantastic movie. I laughed at quite a few different parts throughout the movie and I'm 26! Pixar is always spot on with animation, characters and story so you won't be disappointed. It's always good to get to know more about characters that you already love - Sulley may surprise you! So forget about the first one and just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny film, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
The kids love watching this I have seen it too it is so funny and love the characters it arrived in time and was very happy with the service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarily good, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Stephen Hudson (Keynsham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Pixar films you'll love this sequel to Monsters Inc. It's funny, smart, has likeable characters, and has an unforced charm that's difficult to resist.

Mike and Sullivan are both struggling to make the grade at Monsters University as scarers - monsters who specialise in scaring human children in order to generate scream energy to power their world. Sullivan is scary but lazy and unimaginative, while Mike is smart but lacks scariness. Between them, and with the help of their nerdy fraternity , they struggle against the odds and the smug university elite to graduate.

This is a very funny film - and the fact that I enjoyed it (a 52-year old man) as much as my 10 year old tom-boy youngest daughter and my 12 years old girly daughter, shows the broad appeal of the film. I always find similar films by DreamWorks and other film makes pitch jokes either solely at the children, with the odd sly joke just for the grown-ups. Pixar often manage to hit both targets with one funny gag. The snail rushing for his class had us all laughing (in my case off and on for hours - it's SUCH a good visual). The fraternity initiation was also brilliant, as is the moment when Mike finds himself in the middle of a dormitory of curious children wanting to find out what this funny little monster is (human children are highly toxic to monsters).

Monsters Inc was a great film, and if this isn't quite at the same level, there is no shame in that because it's a close second. I strongly recommend this film. Add the cute opening short about loved up umbrellas and it's irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film!, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
I was nagged into buying this during the holidays - My daughter thoroughly enjoyed it and has watched it at least twice more when she has had friends over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters University [DVD]
Monsters University [DVD] by Dan Scanlon (DVD - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews