Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a...
Published 24 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original.
Sadly not as good as the original (sequels seldom are), however the love of the familiar characters carry you through.
Published 8 months ago by N. Kilbey


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DARE TO SCARE, 9 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
Mike desires to be a "scarer." The monster world is powered by screams. The problem is that Mike (Billy Crystal) while smart, isn't scary. He attends Monster University where he studies hard to be a scarer. The plot reads like "Revenge of the Nerds" as Mike must win a scare contest along with his hopeless fraternity to prove himself and stay in school as a scarer.

Mike is a rival to Sullivan, a university legacy (John Goodman) but later they operate on the same team.

The film is cute. The initiation scene was my favorite with a laugh out loud chuckle. I watched the film with a five year old who can't stand scary movies. She loved this one.

One the kids enjoyed ages 5 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Sully meets Mike, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn't stand each other.

“Monsters University" is a prequel to the film "Monsters Inc.". In addition to the two main characters, a whole lot of new characters are introduced at the college that Mike and Sully attended. The CGI was simply and yet gorgeous, and a production that was a pleasure to watch. It’s a sumptuous film, which was all infectious fun, despite the lack of originality it, still managed to tickle the funny bones. There is good animation here and with a plot driven by well-done characterisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and sincere, Pixar’s film will appeal to children, older original watchers of Monsters Inc. and adults., 25 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
I have a strong feeling that my nostalgia for Monsters Inc. is going to bias this review, but I’ll say it anyway, I loved this film! There, I said it.

Monsters University is the prequel to Monsters Inc. and follows Mike and Sully before they became the scare duo of the original film, back to their “collage” years. Mike and Sully are initially enemies, due to Sully’s lazy attitude, and Mike’s lack of scariness. After nearly getting expelled, they are forced to compete in the “Scare Games” together, where they bond and discover what a great team they are.

Mike and Sully are as great as they were in the original. They contrasted each other and reflected a little bit of everyone. Pixar really tapped into everyone’s love of the underdog, and the supporting cast of Oozma Kappa was hilarious. Helen Mirren’s first voice acting role deserves a mention, as she was definitely the scariest monster of them all.

It’s very predictable up till the end, and for once I don’t care. Because Monsters University has all the charm, character, and wit of the original. It reminded me off my childhood love of Pixar, and the universality of its stories. Or maybe it has a little to do with me going to university this year… Was it the best Pixar film ever made? No. But Pixar’s bar is pretty high. The entertainment for adults as well as children was showcased through the film, with plithy remarks that were sure to skim over children’s heads but into adult mind. Most importantly, it tugged at your heart-strings. I genuinely cared about all the characters, and although I could guess at the ending, it didn’t make the journey any less enjoyable.

What I liked the most about the story was the message it sent out. In a society where a university degree seems like everything, and the attitude of “ you can do whatever you want to”, Monsters University took a daring stance on it. Despite studying his hardest, Mike was not cut out to be a scarer like he dreamed off, but he found out that there was something he was better at instead. The ending also showed that you don’t need a university degree to achieve what you want, but hard work and effort.

As for the animation? Pixar is upping its game with each production. Fur was a breakthrough back in 2001, but now the backgrounds are starting to look more like film clips from the real world. For me, the real testament of Pixar’s true ability was in the six-minute short film The Blue Umbrella before the main film, which not only showcased Pixar’s astonishing skills (for the first minute I honestly thought there was real world shots), but its ability to make you feel things you never thought you could.

Pixar may not be quite back to its former glory, but this film is a step closer to it, and gives me faith for Finding Dory, its next sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Monsters University - Now Enrolling for Fun, 26 May 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have two favorite Pixar movies - Up and Monsters Inc. So when they announced the Monsters University prequel, I greeted it with mixed emotions. Yes, I was interested in revisiting Mike and Sulley, but I was afraid it would pale next to the original. And it's not the original, but it is fun in its own way.

As a kid, Mike (voiced by Billy Crystal) set his sights on becoming a scarier. And the best university to learn to do that? Monsters University, of course. So he is thrilled as a freshman when he finally arrives on campus. Also a freshman is James Sullivan (John Goodman) of THE Sullivans. His family is scaring legend, and he is automatically big man on campus. That hardly bothers Mike since he is working hard to learn all he can about scaring, must to Sulley's annoyance. But when both of their positions at the college are threatened, will they be able to work together to stay at Monsters U?

Now, I will start by saying if you haven't seen the original, it should be no problem jumping in here. Outside a few cool cameos for fans of the original, most of this movie features new characters and situations. Think of the stuff you'd miss more as in jokes. It won't hurt your enjoyment to not get them, but there are a few moments you are missing.

The original did a good job of creating this wonderful world where Monsters are normal, and they had these great gags that were blink and you miss them type of things. While there are a few of those here, they aren't quite as plentiful. Then again, they'd already done so much in the first one, it's hard to picture how they could match or top those gags.

And, frankly, that's the main problem with this film. There are jokes. The jokes are funny. But they aren't as funny or as plentiful as the original. Then again, is going to the same well ever as good the second time?

My other complaint? The heart of the first movie for me is Boo, the little girl that Mike and Sulley spend that movie trying to get home. She's not here, and there really is no substitute. I was expecting that going in to the film and yet I still missed her.

So, now that I've talked about what the movie doesn't have, let's discuss what it does. The story is good. Predictable, yes, but still enjoyable. I got caught up in the events and enjoyed watching them unfold. Also predictable was the moral about working together, but they also organically work in some thoughts about working to your strengths and, in the last few moments, the rewards of hard work. All in all, not a bad bunch of messages without once preaching at us.

I still like Mike and Sulley, and enjoy watching them build their friendship. Part way through the movie, we meet some oddball characters who are very funny and just plain fun. They get some of the best laughs in the film.

And make no mistake about it. While this isn't as creative and funny as the original, it is still funny. It might be a tad scary for kids in some spots, but I don't think it's much worse than the original.

The voice talent is all top notch. In addition to the returning duo, we get the likes of Helen Mirren, Sean Hayes, Dave Foley, Alfred Molina, and Nathan Fillion. They all shine, and it's easy to forget about the actors behind the voices and get lost in the characters and world they are creating.

The animation continues to shine as well. While not quite the realistic world they created for last year's Brave, it's still quite good.

Speaking of Brave, while I did enjoy that movie, this one was certainly better.

Really, Monsters University had too high a bar to reach in my eyes. I knew that going in, and set out to enjoy it for what it is. While it's not the original, it's certainly entertaining and worth watching. Set your expectations accordingly, and you'll find you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FILM 5/5 3D 0/5, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
STEVENSEAGALFAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film, but awful 3D, you would think a film about monsters you would get things popping out of your screen, don't get me wrong the 3D depth plus picture quality is just beautiful, but you would think a film company as large as Disney, they would make their 3D films much better. But still a quality Disney film, full of fun and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good fun use of your free time, 27 Jun. 2015
By 
K. M. Jacobs (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
A good fun use of your free time!
All your favourite characters are back for some more fun scaring the sleeping night-lights out of little kids.
The main thing to be aware of with this film though, is that this is not a sequel but a prequel! I do confess that for the first five or ten minutes, I didn't realise this fact and found that it wasn't making much sense.
However, once you know that this is all about what goes on before "Monsters Inc", it all makes perfect sense!
A good feel, afternoon or evening with the kids movie that will leave you smiling for quite a while. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Prequel!, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
G W (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first Monsters Inc movie was a tough act to follow but Monsters University somehow manages to keep the idea fresh and add an engaging new storyline that doesn't spoil the original. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grest film, but dissapointing lack of extras., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say, Pixar have done it again. However I am increasingly frustrated by the lack of extra material and the abolishment of the double and triple plays by Disney ! Sort it out Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blasting, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Monsters University [DVD] (DVD)
there is no letdown here, maybe not as good as monsters inc but i think most of us expected that. That being said this is fun and a real family occasion as everyone will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for all ages!, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Suze (Seaton, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time, gave it to my adult daughter for her birthday (with one or two other things) and she loves it. I'll, no doubt, get to watch it over Christmas, or sometime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters University [DVD]
Monsters University [DVD] by Dan Scanlon (DVD - 2013)
£9.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews