Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC STOP MOTION ADVENTURE!
FRANKENWEENIE is a black-and-white 3D stop-motion horror/comedy directed by Tim Burton (DARK SHADOWS, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, CORPSE BRIDE). What a fantastic, funny, imaginative film! I preferred this film to the recent PARANORMAN, and it was almost as good as the amazing CORALINE. Tim Burton's films have been getting worse and worse in terms of quality, in my opinion, but...
Published 22 months ago by G. Stephenson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Alllivvveeee
There are few directors who can be called auteurs in modern Hollywood - these are the men and women who have a distinctive style that permeates their work across genres. Love him, hate him, or plain indifferent him, Tim Burton is one such director. I find that his work is very hit and miss, especially in recent years, but his animations have always been fun, especially...
Published 12 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC STOP MOTION ADVENTURE!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
FRANKENWEENIE is a black-and-white 3D stop-motion horror/comedy directed by Tim Burton (DARK SHADOWS, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, CORPSE BRIDE). What a fantastic, funny, imaginative film! I preferred this film to the recent PARANORMAN, and it was almost as good as the amazing CORALINE. Tim Burton's films have been getting worse and worse in terms of quality, in my opinion, but this is a huge improvement!

Young Victor Frankenstein has no friends except for his adorable pet dog, Sparky. When tragedy strikes and Sparky is killed, Victor feels more alone than ever. Until one day, when he performs a dangerous and controversial experiment, which brings Sparky back to life. Soon, however, his class mates discover what he has done and attempt to bring back all the dead pets of the town. Can Victor and Sparky stop the onslaught of deformed, monstroys pets, or will the town be plunged into total chaos?

The storyline was incredibly original and inventive, and featured some very powerful moments. I felt that the black-and-white really enhanced the storyline and made the film all the more enjoyable. The ending was scary, action-packed and emotional, and I thought the dialogue was very realistic.

The characters were fleshed-out, creative, whacky and thoroughly interesting. When the dog dies, you really feel sorry for Victor and there are one or two scenes that really make you care about pretty much every character, even the cruel ones. Weird Girl was hilarious!

The animation was a lot smoother than many of the other stop-motion flicks I've seen. I loved PARANORMAN so much but some of the animation was a bit dodgy. FRANKENWEENIE was far more impressive animation-wise. I think the 3D really wasn't needed at all, but it didn't take away from the films brilliance.

The voice cast was great. The person who did Victor was fantastic and Catherine O'Hara was brilliant as Weird Girl and Victor's mother! Overall, FRANKENWEENIE was a near-perfect thrill-ride, with wit, action and scares that all added up to a classic stop-motion. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burton's Best In Years., 25 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
Frankenweenie is a real oddity - who is it aimed at? Who will appreciate it?
Well I am in my late twenties and heres why I thoroughly enjoyed it:
Its stop motion- it looks gorgeous and its not another CGI movie.
I love Universal Monster films and this is filled with references and nods.
I love 50's B-Movie monster movies and the finale of Frankenweenie IS one.
I love black and white film, it just looks so crisp and clean.
I love Burton's earlier highly imaginative and original films.
If you agree with any of the above you very well may love this film.
A few things felt wrong with it though - apart from Victor and his family, the characters are mostly pretty unlikable or forgettable. And (although not a problem for me) this film is surprisingly dark and I honestly don't think its suitable for all kids and it may not hold their attention. Finally, I think a bit more focus or scenes could have been spent on Sparky himself. It is his film afterall.
In a world of Madagascar Part 29 and Ice Age Part 143, Frankenweenie is such a breath of fresh-air and for a select few, something to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
Tim Burton at his best. It's very Edward Scissorhand-ish meet Frankenstein. If you love his films, you'll love this. The package is in excellent condition and the service from Amazon was satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kooky, cute; charming and surreal. Superb, 14 Jan 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
Frankenweenie is indeed delightful, although perhaps not entirely suitable for very young children. It's a cartoon, indeed, but it's an offbeat animation about a weird kid who reanimates his equally weird and much-loved but dead dog... And there is a strikingly graphic scene which brilliantly portrays the dog's demise. I flinched, and I imagine that it'd be a bit too much for some little ones.
For older kids and adults, however, Frankenweenie is a total treat. It refers back to many of the themes which Tim Burton first explored in Edward Scissorhands [1991] [DVD], about being the freaky, geeky and isolated kid; about making attempts to integrate; about the treachery of childhood friendships; about the nobility of sacrifice. And never mind all the serious stuff - Frankenweenie is jammed full of subtle chuckles, wry observations and some laugh-out-loud moments. The scenes where the dog stars in the home movies are priceless. The 'I can fix that' refrain when another experiment goes wildly awry are delightful, as are all the nods and tributes to cult horror films from days gone by. It's a geeky nerdfest wonderdream -- but none of that interferes with your enjoyment of the film if you don't understand the references.
And the final homage-to-Frankenstein kill-the-monster sequence is a stunner. Genuinely had me sniffling and cheering: one of those rare, heartfelt rollercoaster moments.

An easy film to recommend: full of entertaining humour, quirky and inventive, offbeat and unpredictable, yet with a solid moral core at its centre. It's also nice to see a film which bigs up the unconventional / weird people of the world...
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Alllivvveeee, 15 Aug 2013
By 
There are few directors who can be called auteurs in modern Hollywood - these are the men and women who have a distinctive style that permeates their work across genres. Love him, hate him, or plain indifferent him, Tim Burton is one such director. I find that his work is very hit and miss, especially in recent years, but his animations have always been fun, especially `The Nightmare Before Christmas'. `Frankenweenie' is an idea Burton first tackled when working for Disney in the form of a short film. Sparky is a dog that dies then brought back to life by schoolboy Victor Frankenstein. In this longer animation the story is stretched further and the some of the town begin to learn the skills of Young Victor.

As a piece of stop motion animation `Frankenweenie' looks magnificent. The art direction and use of black and white means that has some incredible visuals. Fans of classic horror tales will also have a lot to look forward to with plenty of Easter Eggs to find as Burton plays with the genre. I enjoyed some of the characters that were on offer; Victor's various school friends are all mini versions of classic horror actor/characters. It is a shame then that some of the voice acting is a little flat. Charlie Tahan as Victor is a prime example; his all American tone is too flat and lacks emotion.

I also feel that the story was bland. I was never a big fan of the original short version of `Frankenweenie' and this extension has done little to fix the flaws. It is all a little linear and any new elements are too basic. The film is trapped between being for adults or for kids. The story is slow, full of interesting things to look at - this will interest the adults, but they will get tired of some of the later action sequences. Kids will find the entire film too slow and not full of enough action to keep them entertained. `Frankenweenie' is a flawed attempt by Burton of producing a film that can be loved by all of the family. Instead, everyone in the family is likely to enjoy parts of the film, but not others.

Even in Black and White, `Frankenweenie' is a film best seen on BluRay as it brings out the richness in tone. There are some extras worth watching, the story of how the expanded version of the film came about is good. I do think a little more would have been good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Mar 2013
By 
L. Redmond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this movie but it also made me cry its heartfelt and an interesting idea but may upset younger viewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Entertainment, 28 Feb 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
If it wasn't for my little sister this film would have just probably passed me by, but I am so glad that I have seen and got this dvd. Set in the American Sixties small town of New Holland this is ideal for family viewing. There is enough excitement, comedy and thrills to keep everyone entertained in a film which is really a homage to the horror movie genre. As an adult whilst following the story along with your children you will also find yourself identifying all the in jokes to well known horror films, which to give you some idea include obviously Frankenstein, also The Fly, Godzilla and even The Gremlins, as well as many more.

Filmed in black and white the animation is perfect, and so much detail has gone into the sets and characters that this will leave you stunned. When the school science fair is coming up unluckily Sparky, Victor Frankenstein's dog dies. Inspired by what the new science teacher (who looks like Vincent Price) is teaching Victor decides to bring his dog back to life. Unfortunately Victor's secret doesn't stay hidden for long, inspiring the other kids to experiment.

This is a good old romp that everyone, young and old should find themselves enjoying. There are subtitles on this if you require that option, and a couple of featurettes, one is a music video, and the other is about the touring exhibition. All in all this is one film that is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful animation, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed Frankenweenie
Be prepared to have some tissues handy especially if like me you've lost your beloved dog
It really would be nice to be able to bring them back to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, funny, very touching and a thoroughly warm-hearted story., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I are big fans of some of Tim BURTON's films, but by no means all of them. So we watched Frankenweenie with an open mind.

It is wonderful! It is beautiful to watch, funny, very touching and a thoroughly warm-hearted story. And it is also clever, with lots of little references to classics of horror, both on film and in literature.

The imaginative look of the landscapes, characters and props is a delight. The use of black and white is masterly, as it of course makes reference to the old masters of early film horror films. But it also allows both the lighting of the scenes, and the forms of the main characters, to make a huge impact. The Poodle for example is all form and line, so is Sparkie himself. I am sure it would not have the same impact if colour was used. And colour would certainly muddy the important night-time scenes.

This is a film that kids will laugh with , and perhaps cry with, but so will adults. It is an absolute delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet and delightful. 5 full stars for the under 13s., 7 Mar 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankenweenie [DVD] (DVD)
Sometime in the 80s of the last century, the quirky visionary Tim Burton made a short, "Frankenweenie." This was not widely available, if not even banned by Disney. And finally, the full-legth 3D stop-motion "Frankenweenie" hit the big screens of the world in 2012, and I was excited to finally watch it at home, a few days ago.

The new "Frankenweenie" (delightful and wonderful stop-motion, if you loved Coraline (Blu-ray 3D) [2009] [Region Free] and ParaNorman (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [2012], you will love this!) is one of Burton's best works, and it has pretty simple and humane plot - a young boy's adored dog (a pit-bull!) dies. What has one to do, instead of mourning?

Victor, who is an introverted loner, but also quite an ingenious and brave kid, encouraged by his science teacher (An Eastern European, but of course!), decides to dig the pet up, hit him with a lot of electricity and, perhaps, succeed in bringing his Sparky back to life. Is he lucky in his enterprise, you wonder? Oh yeah, but the experiment carries quite a few... what to call it... side effects. Naturally, these things never quite work out the way we expect. And this time Burton really raises the ante with a monster rally of a plot that adds several additional fiends and layers of movie memories.

This feature is black and white, which makes even more amazing the fact that, even though it lacks in colour, it is full of awesome touches, such as the massive gap-toothed kid at school, who looks very much like a certain man-made monster, another pupil of the New Holland elementary school is a sinisterly cerebral Asian, then there's the bizarre girl who thinks her kitty's litter conveys evil omens (my personal favourite!).

Please beware that sensitive children may find the scenes depicting the gothic pet cemetery distressing and freak out at the violent culmination. But many kids will certainly enjoy the Burton-esque gore.

And last but not least, in the extras, you will find the amazing original Kubrick-esque short "live action" film! In my [adult] opinion, it is even better than the animation version, I swear! Five stars for the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankenweenie [DVD]
Frankenweenie [DVD] by Tim Burton (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews