Customer Reviews


930 Reviews
5 star:
 (698)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical
There are so many animated movies these days, you expect many of them to be rubbish. Some are, but it seems to me most of the things out of the Pixar stable keep on providing the goods.

I was thoroughly entertained by brave, the lovely cartoony animations all so fluidly done, mixed in with stunningly realized vistas, and my favourite part, the lighting. The...
Published 4 months ago by SWT

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and upstanding craftmanship, but unoriginal
Basicly this is another take on the whole Brother Bear thing. Brother Bear also contained a much more fluent and coherent story, with more honest felt emotions and was therefor a much better movie, notwithstanding the godawful tittle song (and no, it's not that I dislike Phil Collins per se.) My kids and especially my daugther loved Brave though and the (3d) animations...
Published on 28 Nov. 2012 by Jan-Paul


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Brave (Amazon Instant Video)
There are so many animated movies these days, you expect many of them to be rubbish. Some are, but it seems to me most of the things out of the Pixar stable keep on providing the goods.

I was thoroughly entertained by brave, the lovely cartoony animations all so fluidly done, mixed in with stunningly realized vistas, and my favourite part, the lighting. The amazing lighting just brings a life to the whole fantasy highland world here that makes it feel almost tangible, and sucks you right into it. That immersion really helps you empathize with the characters.

That's one of the things I really appreciated. Plenty of wooden performances from real actors in real movies that you don't care about, and here in an animated movie, you felt their pain as much as their happiness, you wanted things to be resolved, you cared what happened.

There are some laugh out loud moments too, and near the end, I even felt a little tear trickle out, so it did it's job. I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll just say baby, cleavage, and high dive. After you've watched it, which I thoroughly recommend that you do, if that reference doesn't bring a smile to your face then you probably shouldn't be watching any movies at all, let alone animated ones.

Totally safe and fun viewing for all ages, and you don't have to put this on just to appease some younger viewers, this is totally worth your time even if you don't have kids to watch it with, or if you want to watch it without them if you do.

I watched this through the Prime streaming, which was flawless and excellent quality. Great movie, will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong after 6 repeat viewings, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brave is about a teenage girl called Merida set in ancient Scotland. It is a very good film for children although it is PG rated for its scary scenes and depictions of violence. It's 93 minutes in length.

Disc 1 is a Blu-Ray 3D + Bonus Feature

Disc 2 is a Blu-Ray 2D + Bonus Feature

Disc 3 is a Blu-Ray Bonus Disc : 'Fergus & Mer'du Alternate Opening / Fallen Warriors / Dirty Hairy People / It's English...Sort Of / Angus / The Tapestry / Promotional Pieces / Art Gallery

Disney and Pixar team up yet again for another animated film that promises to entertain the young ones while offering up enough wit, humour and mature themes to keep the adults engaged. Brave isn't their best effort, but it deserves much more credit than it has been given, because it's a visually stimulating spectacle that offers up a traditional story mixed with a little new-age twist that reminds us why we trust Disney and Pixar to always deliver the goods, despite their Cars 2 fumble.

Brave is thoughtful and funny and it attacks its themes and morality without a hidden agenda or layered story. It's simple and to the point and not once does it try re-invent the formula that it's running with. It's your traditional princess coming-of-age story, wrapped with a modern twist that speaks to audiences now just as much as it spoke to audiences back when other Disney classics were released.

Kelly Macdonald provides her voice as the leading lady Merida and she creates a strong-willed and stubborn young girl on the cusp of childhood, leading into adulthood. She gives the character a much-needed strength that's still funny and easy going whenever she needs to be. I suspect this character will go down as one of the more memorable female leads in a Pixar film, because there haven't been many overall.

'Brave' shifts itself back and forth between being a harmless little children's tale while also rearing its serious head as the age-old tale of appreciating what or who you've got and learning to grow into your own free spirit with your family planted at your side. The film is given a few extra doses of that unneeded syrupy Disney charm that'll attempt to lay on the tears or get you choked up when things get better, but for the most part Brave plays itself out in the open, with enough room for any emotion without feeling too forced in.

I'm not defending Brave as the perfect Disney/Pixar masterpiece, but it's a good piece of animated fun that holds its own next to the likes of Wall:E or Finding Nemo, and in Blu-ray in particular makes for a stunningly good watch on the big screen at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 27 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Brave [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this and so did my young children. An absolutely delightful film that looked great, had a fantastic story, perfect voice characterisations and incredible animation (particularly Merida's hair!). A fun film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlucky 13 ? Not !!!, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
P. Morgan "Philmaddict" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave [DVD] (DVD)
Pixar's 13th feature is probably the best animated film I have ever seen. This is without doubt a stunning technical achievement on every level and one which I think they will have some difficulty in topping. The characters are every bit as colourful as the magnificently rendered Scottish backdrop(the facial expressions they manage to achieve are quite remarkable and convey the coflicting emotions of the varied characters sometimes far more realistically than actual human actors could) Add to this a wonderful central 'performance' from the heroine Merida (voiced by Kelly Mcdonald), a whole host of inspired set pieces and stirring music from Patrick Doyle and I think you have a near masterpiece. Definitely my Film of the Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 April 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brave [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Brave is the nearest Pixar have come to a traditional fairy-tale. It has a princess, it has a witch, it has a curse and a moral. All the ingredients for a good yarn.

Having flown under Disney's banner since their inception, Pixar have largely stuck to buddy comedies and off kilt dramas. A toe dip into the fairy-tale realm has proven to be highly successful as they have clearly relished the challenge. The problem with this story format is that it is so well worn by the old hands at Disney, that it is difficult to imagine where it could go to feel fresh and new. Pixar have managed just that with Brave.

By setting the story in a medieval Scotland but keeping the themes modern, they have successfully grounded the film within a sort of reality that many people can relate to. The story of a mother and daughter struggling to understand each other and clashing at every turn is likely to be an everyday occurrence in many households and it is this thread that binds the story.

Merida is a feisty teenage princess. She is independent and full of life and is distraught when her Mother organises a competition to find a suitor for her. With her trusty horse, Angus, she flies off into the woods only to meet a Witch who offers a helping hand. Suffice to say things do not go quite as she planned.

Merida is no ordinary princess. She loves adventure and is handy with a bow. She is a tom boy and is proud of it. She is fancy free and wants to live life her way which inevitably riles her Mother.

Pixar have masterfully created a relationship which doesn't feel forced. The Mother is equally as sympathetic as Merida and you can see both sides to the story. When they conclude that a compromise is needed it feels right and equal to both sides. The story itself is well rounded with some enjoyable characters and action beats.

However where Brave really excels is in it's simply stunning animation. Pixar are often the leaders in this field but not since Finding Nemo has one of their films really elicited such an awe inspiring response. The hills of Scotland are sublime, as are the lush forests surrounding their castle. The characters are well designed but it is Merida's fiery red locks that steal the artistic crown. Swaying with her every movement and proving to be as much as a character as the humans, it's an expressive tool which elevates this beyond any mere animated film. In the same way Sully's fur looked soft and Nemo's waters looked cold, Merida's hair is a triumph in animation. It sounds silly to talk about animated hair but it really does need to be seen to be believed.

Brave is a fantastic film and a return to form for a studio which appeared to be relying too much on sequels. This is an original, exciting and thoroughly enjoyable story which everyone can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant animation from Pixar., 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave [DVD] (DVD)
Merida is the daughter of King Fergus and Queen Elinor she is also a skilled archer and a bit of a tomboy so when her parents suggest that it is time she picks out a suitor, she goes ballistic. She suggests an archery contest and the winner will become her betrothed.

The story is superb and no wonder the title is 'Brave' because Merida has to face an awful lot of quests to win back her Mother and her 3 young, triplet brothers.

The animation is great and the character's faces and mannerisms match the respective actors and actresses perfectly.

A great film for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun for everyone, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really enjoyable animated Pixar movie - set in Scotland in days of yore it is full of magic - a princess, her suitors, spells, family, a few scares, and lots of fun . I was very impressed with Emma Thompson's Scottish accent - seemed as real to me as Kelly MacDonald's and Billy Connolly's, who were great in their voice overs. I loved the Scottish banter and dialogue - some phrases i haven't heard in years made me smile.

The animation - particularly of the bears is amazing.

Our whole family enjoyed it- and we have a quite a range of ages and nationalities to please in our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SPLENDID FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT', 9 Mar. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
disney/pixar movies continue to flourish with picture perfection advancing in
quality all the time, this film surely 'set' to become an all-time family favourite
during the years to come ( allready is with my younger family members )
'king fergus' and 'queen elinor' invite suitors to compete for the hand of daughter
'merida'
however young 'merida' isn't ready to commit in this way.
whilst out in the forest she stumbles upon a witches cottage after following 'wisps'
'merida' agrees to buy all the 'witche's' carved models if the 'witch' gives her a
spell to use on her mother, hoping to change the queens mind about the suitors.
the spell turns her mother into a bear, not what 'merida' had in mind.
'merida' has but a short time to change the spell before it becomes permanent.
this is truly a superb and special family movie following the great tradition of the
disney studios down the years....entertain.
extraordinary computer animation quality.......a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 27 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Brave [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great movie for the whole family. We enjoyed it very much. I was expecting someting like a Braveheart for children movie, but in fact it is a somewhat traditional Disney movie (That's not bad) set in Scotland. Very beautiful pictures from Scotland, we actually thought that we reckocnized this and that from our holidays there. All in all a nice wellmade movie, and the voices are awesome. The great actors obvously made an effort here.
Bottom line: If you like Disney moves go watch it. You wont be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic Scotland, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Grocock (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently moved into an historical area of Scotland it was interesting to see this "fairytale". The animation is second to none and and story of good overcoming evil. Watched it in 3D. Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Brave [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Brenda Chapman (Blu-ray - 2012)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews