Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You guys aren't famous any more
Unashamedly silly, joyous and optimistic, on first watch `The Muppets' seems to be mostly aimed not at children, but at the adults who grew up watching Jim Henson's characters from the much loved Muppet Show' series during the 70s and 80s. There have been a number of Muppets movies since `The Muppet Show' long since went off air, the best of which are `The Muppets Take...
Published on 18 Feb. 2012 by Rob Payne

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not quite a mop, it's not quite a puppet
Before the release of this movie the last time the Muppets had a theatrical release was way back in 1998 with Muppets From Space. Since then they have mostly stagnated with straight-to-DVD and TV movies. Someone at Disney reckoned a reboot was in order so now we have the unimaginatively-titled "The Muppets". I was surprised to see Jason Segal's name as a writer in the...
Published 18 months ago by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most disappointing film of the year, 30 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
When I heard Frank Oz had walked out of the movie due to his script not being used thought it was sour grapes. Turns out he knew something. In short there's too little Muppets and too much humans with their boring song and dance numbers (how this won an Oscar I'll never know).

When I go and watch a Muppets movie I want to see the Muppets gosh darn it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hurdy Gurdy 5 star film, 30 May 2012
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant...just brilliant.

If you are the type of person who will laugh at the Swedish chef going " Hurdy Gurdy Chicken in da Basket"...this is the film for you.

For the 35+ this is a real nostalgia trip.

However its not just that, i took my 3 year old to see the film at the cinema.

He laughed at the slapstick...loves Manamana (doo doo doo doo doo Manamana) ...wanted to know who the people were and said when he came out i really loved that Daddy.

Cannot recommend this enough...the fact that its getting so many 5-star reviews is a clue.

Be a muppet and buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets, 23 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
It is brilliant and very funny film. My oldest son who is 7 years old and I went to the cinema, last month . My son loves it.

I want to know The Muppets Blu ray with Region 2 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab film, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
Missed it at the Cinema so bought it on release. Lovely film although the Muppets of my youth seemed a little funnier - must be getting old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muppet fun, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
Fab both my kids enjoy this DVD and it's well worth the purchase, I love it too so great for the whole family, love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the muppets, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
love the film reminds me of my childhood but i wish i new how to turn the subtittles of any 1 got any idea??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome... the gang are back, 18 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can I say. This movie made me laugh, made me cry and made me wanna burst into song. Both my self and my husband ( no kids might i add) loved this movie and laughed all the way home from the cinema.The song lifes a happy song is just fabtasic and man or muppet is just sooooo funny. New character Walter is great and also Jason Segal is brilliant too. If you wanna have some feel good laughter BUY this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A LET-DOWN!!, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
I found it desperately disappointing - there was little actual performance by the muppets & the whole thing was padded out by a flimsy,dull,disneyesque storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all the family, 12 Feb. 2012
By 
J. Duducu (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
The Muppets have suffered from the law of diminishing returns for 25 years. The series was excellent, revolutionary and a cherished child hood memory. The movies that followed however got progressively worse and eventually what had once been an international phenomenon was now largely forgotten.

What Jason Segel has done is written that rare(if it's not Pixar) script that keeps the adults entertained and the kids enthralled. There are enough genuinely funny gags (I laughed out loud more than a few times), insanity and nostalgia to keep the parents happy. However this is not a cynical "reimagining" and is fundamentally a life affirming sweet old fashioned tale of putting on one last great show to keep away the big business bad guy.

It has Oscar nominated (hopefully winning) songs written by Brett Mckenzie from flight of the Conchords which allows songs like "Am I a man or a muppet?" to be both hilarious and a little bit moving. The songs are catchy and the choreography is old fashioned chorus line stuff with a few modern twists. This film has resurrected the love for the Muppets and reminded the world of the good heart of a frog called Kermit and the force of nature that is miss piggy. In short watch it and feel both young again and happy with the world and that's got to be worth 106 minutes of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Derek J. Day "hammyd" (Solihull , West Midlands , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Muppets [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful DVD my grandson will not allow me to take it out of the machine !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Muppets [DVD]
The Muppets [DVD] by James Bobin (DVD - 2012)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews