Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book
I didnt realise this book was for teenagers when I bought it, I bought it because I love William Nicholson books. What I love about his books is that they just seem to put into words what we are all thinking and this book is no exception. For me he puts everything into perspective. The book is the story of teenagers and how they interact with each other and young love.
Published on 29 April 2010 by J. Twamley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sex, lies and teenage fiction
Studying children's lit. does take one into some strange and murky places. I thought Burgess's <Doing It> had said the last dreary word about soft porn packaged as teenage fiction, but here's more of the same, God help us - just as explicit, just as dreary. I really don't see the point of it: now that sex isn't taboo any more, and teenagers can get all the vicarious...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by R. A. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 29 April 2010
By 
J. Twamley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
I didnt realise this book was for teenagers when I bought it, I bought it because I love William Nicholson books. What I love about his books is that they just seem to put into words what we are all thinking and this book is no exception. For me he puts everything into perspective. The book is the story of teenagers and how they interact with each other and young love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irresponsible??!!, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
Covers the usual themes found in many teen novels (friendship, not belonging, betrayal etc), and does that well. I would have found this interesting as a young person, and I don't have a problem with the descriptions of sex, but am I alone in being very uncomfortable with the almost flippant attitude towards contraception/ the pill? This book is aimed at young people, and I think the author has been quite irresponsible sending out the message that contraception is a girl's responsibility (let alone ignoring the huge issue of STIs ) - you can tell he's a man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, eye-opening, and thought provoking!, 28 May 2010
By 
Jo (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
As I read on William Nicholson's website, this is a book written for girls and guys to show them what girls and guys think about love and sex. I have read several YA novels that deal with teen love and teen sex, but none of them really come at it from this angle, and it's absolute genius! I can't tell you how often I was surprised at how much I empathised with Rich! I empathised with Maddy a fair amount too, but it was Rich that surprised me.

I loved the characters! I thought it was brilliant that, although we mainly follow Rich and Maddy, everyone had some sort of view on love and sex that was shown. Maddy and Rich were very much teenagers; they were curious, they questioned, they worried, they made mistakes, but what I also loved was that they also had strong feelings about what they wanted from love - this is not about having sex as soon as possible, it's about meeting the right person and all it entails for them personally. It was refreshing to read about characters, especially teen characters, who knew their own mind so well.

I was blown away by Maddy. She is not completely without flaws, and there were moments when I wanted to just grab her arm and stop her from doing things, because you just know it's a mistake, but she was just so driven! She would make a decision about something, and then she would go ahead with it, seemingly very easily. She had this nervous confidence that I am just so envious of. Rich is just lovely! He has opinions and views that I have, and it was just so odd yet eye opening! He's cute and funny, and doesn't take himself too seriously, but also doesn't have the best self-esteem. He is just adorable, and I would quite like to adopt him.

Rich and Mad is graphic in places, but most of the time it's just so sweet! That might sound odd, but I don't think there really is any other word to describe it. There is one scene where Mad and her friend watch porn, which is a little bit shocking - for me anyway - but also pretty hilarious in how the girls react to it. None of it is gratuitous, and it's all dealt with maturely yet realistically.

Although Rich and Mad is mainly focussed on their relationships and the way they think, there are other issues covered in the story that teens may come across. I loved all these little sub-plots, it made the book seem more realistic - there were other things going on outside Rich and Maddy's individual bubbles, but effect them indirectly.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book! I stayed up quite late last night to finish it, and closed book "aww"-ing at what a lovely, sweet read it was. I swear every girl and every guy should read this book; not only is it an amazing story, it's opens your eyes and makes you think. I very much doubt there will be a sequel, but I so wish there would be! Another book joining my favourites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These kids are just too smart, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Kindle Edition)
I love Bill Nicholson's writing. His books always totally absorb me...but I just didn't believe these kids were real kids. They're too wise, and everything goes a bit too well for them. Still a lovely book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
Pretty boring story, not very insipring or really creative. The characters are very superficial, and they don't develop or change.
The story does capture the voice of a teenager well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sex, lies and teenage fiction, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
Studying children's lit. does take one into some strange and murky places. I thought Burgess's <Doing It> had said the last dreary word about soft porn packaged as teenage fiction, but here's more of the same, God help us - just as explicit, just as dreary. I really don't see the point of it: now that sex isn't taboo any more, and teenagers can get all the vicarious sex they want from the Net, why bother writing this sort of tripe?

I suppose the defence is that unlike Burgess's horrid brats, the protagonists in this novel have some pimply juvenile feelings for each other which they interpret as 'love', and which apparently justify any amount of Pill-protected bonking.

What came over most clearly to me is the sheer dreariness of these teenagers and their lives. I suppose in a way that explains, though it doesn't justify, their obsession with sex - or is it the obsession with sex that blinds them to everything else in the world that's worth thinking about, wondering about, worrying about, experiencing? Here they all are, doing A levels, with their brains firmly lodged in ther groins and about as much intellectual curiosity between them as a mentally subnormal amoeba. If this is an accurate portrayal of the average British teenager, all I can say is, God help us. Not that any of them has ever asked him/herself what is meant by 'God' of course. That might overstrain their solitary inguinal neuron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True, Fun Older Teen Read, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
As it says on William Nicholson's website, 'this is a book written for girls and guys to show them what girls and guys think about love and sex.' Having read my fair share of YA novels that touch on the subject none of them came close to Rich and Mad, Its honest, genuine and out right ruthless not caring whats written William just gets down and dirty!

I was taken on a journey that not only I related to but that was undeniable truth...nothing comes easy when you are facing this journey in life and reading the trials the characters are put through explores this journey from both sides. Rich and Maddy are both alike.. their innocence and insecurities are visible through out. Navigating from one step of teen life to the next and overcoming all the hurdles in the way....its pure well observed and researched honesty.

Rich and Mad is a book that's fun and interesting read...a total out of the 'norm' novel. I would recommend this to all YA lovers of smut and the odd bit of trash talk......It really does remind me of the younger generation today (expecially the ones I come across) William Nicholson gives you a gripping ride in humour, love, romance, emotions and teen troubles and you wont be disappointed! Beware it is what it says on the label ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich and Mad, 5 April 2010
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
Rich and Mad is a brilliant novel about love, sex and growing up. It's honest and emotive, and explores the inner workings of the teenage mind.

Rich and Maddy are both characters I easily related to, because of their innocence and insecurities. They're both trying to navigate their way through adolescence, and are somewhat overwhelmed by all the relationship problems that accompany those later teen years. First love, first sex... when you think about it, it's an emotional minefield. There's so much to worry about, and so much to learn -- where do you start?

Nicholson manages to write about a first sexual experience with such honesty and insight. Every awkward step is noted, every fear is addressed, and it's far from those perfect movie moments we're all so used to. His realism reminded me of early Melvin Burgess books, most notably Junk and Doing It, which are two other stories dealing with similar themes. I never thought male authors could capture a teenage girl's emotional state so well, but Nicholson's writing has proved me wrong.

Love also plays a huge part in Rich and Mad. What is it? How do you get it? Who do you give it to? These are all questions asked and answered over the course of the novel, with insightful extracts from The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm interspersed throughout. As a 17-year-old, love is a mysterious thing; it's new and confusing, and there's no rule book to guide you through it. Rich and Maddy do their best to figure it all out and, as a result, a really beautiful friendship forms. I loved their whole relationship from start to finish, and I'm holding out hope that Nicholson might continue their story in the future.

At times it was a bit too sweet and sugary for me, but that's not so much a criticism, more like a personal observation. I think teen readers will really respond to this one, as Nicholson has done a fantastic job of presenting a relatable plot with characters you'll love. Rich and Mad will give every reader something to think about, and a new perspective on love in all its many forms.

* Note: This book is highly explicit in parts, so I would advise caution if purchasing on behalf of a younger teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Kindle Edition)
Engrossing and surprising
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars maybe not for teens, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Rich and Mad (Paperback)
I thought the gist of this book was to show that teenagers are capable of meaningful romantic relationships but this book makes a rather shallow attempt at the subject. Meaningful seems to be sex on a second date whilst the lesser approach is portrayed as women being beaten during sex. I feel this book puts relationships in a misleading light for the impressionable reader. The sex scenes don't seem convincing at all. The author rambles on for several pages about irrelevant stuff at times. I suspect that the writer is hoping for media attention due to the graphic element. I'd be reluctant to give this book to the target teen audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rich and Mad
Rich and Mad by William Nicholson
3.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews